Shawna & Davidson (GA)
Very Active Member
Hi members.....
My Vet referred a client to me who was here this morning and needs HELP WITH DOSE, ETC. but I've given her a review on dosing, food, and testing..........she is using a "One Touch" human meter and soon switching to a Reli-On Prime meter
What I know: Male, 11 yrs old, 14.7 Lbs, Vet Prescribed Caninsulin 2.75u twice daily
DX Feb/18, full blood work done and no known issues other then FD (she's getting records), no Ketones
Shot time is 07:00am _ 17:00pm
Drinking over 1 liter/quart water per day min. and peeing tons
Difficulty feeding (Vet told her to use HC with gravy - now using LC FF from today) and uses a syringe when kittie doesn't eat
Has gone into HYPO (shivering, lethargic, almost coma) and she's not sure why (now knows symptoms)
She is going to change from Caninsulin to Lantus once her insulin is used up.
*** I've got her testing as often as possible, but she works full time so she's going to adjust her shooting times so she can get some more test in.
LOW BG'S OF 36-38 OVER PAST FEW DAYS - OUCH!!!
Therefore, I suggested she reduce the dose to 2.5 which she did tonight.
QUESTION: do you reduce the dose the same way we do with Lantus? Meaning, if the kittie goes below 50 then it's an automatic reduction by .25??? I'm well versed with Lantus and trying to help her out since she has no experience at all
I've given her all the printed matter from this forum and suggested she read up as much as possible, get lots of tests, make a profile and detail her cats records asap.............
ANY FEEDBACK I CAN GIVE HER IS A HUGE STEP CONSIDERING HER VET DID NOTHING FOR HER.
My Vet referred a client to me who was here this morning and needs HELP WITH DOSE, ETC. but I've given her a review on dosing, food, and testing..........she is using a "One Touch" human meter and soon switching to a Reli-On Prime meter
What I know: Male, 11 yrs old, 14.7 Lbs, Vet Prescribed Caninsulin 2.75u twice daily
DX Feb/18, full blood work done and no known issues other then FD (she's getting records), no Ketones
Shot time is 07:00am _ 17:00pm
Drinking over 1 liter/quart water per day min. and peeing tons
Difficulty feeding (Vet told her to use HC with gravy - now using LC FF from today) and uses a syringe when kittie doesn't eat
Has gone into HYPO (shivering, lethargic, almost coma) and she's not sure why (now knows symptoms)
She is going to change from Caninsulin to Lantus once her insulin is used up.
*** I've got her testing as often as possible, but she works full time so she's going to adjust her shooting times so she can get some more test in.
LOW BG'S OF 36-38 OVER PAST FEW DAYS - OUCH!!!
Therefore, I suggested she reduce the dose to 2.5 which she did tonight.
QUESTION: do you reduce the dose the same way we do with Lantus? Meaning, if the kittie goes below 50 then it's an automatic reduction by .25??? I'm well versed with Lantus and trying to help her out since she has no experience at all
I've given her all the printed matter from this forum and suggested she read up as much as possible, get lots of tests, make a profile and detail her cats records asap.............
ANY FEEDBACK I CAN GIVE HER IS A HUGE STEP CONSIDERING HER VET DID NOTHING FOR HER.