Help very low number

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by 8catsplus2, Aug 23, 2020.

  1. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Just got back from the emergency vet. Heat related..She was 136 before we left to go to the vet .it was 151 at the vets when I got home and took it it's 37 waited 20 minutes it's 36 She hasn't had anything to eat since 7:00 which was 7 hours ago.. should I feed her a medium carb or a high carb
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  2. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    I assume you made a choice and fed her. Is all ok?
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  3. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I feed her and tested 2 hours later. She is now 62 .. never had her # s that low or thought she would ever get that low. I'm going to have to read up on what to do if her numbers are too low.
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Really sorry I missed this! Must have been really scary. Please tag me in future. Because I'm in India, I'm around in the middle of the night in the US.

    Please take a 0.25 unit reduction in the next dose.

    Here's the sticky for how to handle low numbers - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/


    If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
    • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
    • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
    • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
    • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
    • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.

    Link to previous thread - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/amps-advise-on-dosage.233986/
     
    Sue and Luci and 8catsplus2 like this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Below 40 or 50 is always high carb or honey if kitty won't eat. Feed and test in 20 minutes.
     
  6. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Just tested her she was 143..
     
  7. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom .yes It was .. justHjust tested hernher was 143 she's eating now. 2 hours after the 37 BG She was 62 BG Shoul I still reduce by .
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The tag worked :)

    Yes, please reduce to 0.75 from this morning. Any time she falls below 90, you reduce.

    Also, feeding her several meals over the cycle may prevent large drops. Does she eat only at shot time?
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Will you be able to monitor her this morning?
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  10. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom no she eats 4 times a day
    7am 1 pm 7 pm and midnight or 1am
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    YES..IF YOU GO ON FACEBOOK YOU WILL SEE MY POST ABOUT HER RESULTS ETC FROM LAST NIGHT
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  12. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Did you put her numbers from last night on the right date in your spreadsheet? It has them listed the night as the 21st but it happened last night correct?

    Like Bandit said, give her 0.75u today, she's earned a reduction.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  13. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Also please start giving her an earlier snack, around +2. Another snack before +6 would be good, like +4. Feed her earlier in the cycle to slow the drop of insulin.
     
  14. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Yes and today is the 23 so it's on the 22 day,
     
  15. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Okay, you'll want to edit your spreadsheet then.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  16. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks with little to no sleep .plus a health scare with my dad yesterday morning and then my mom complaining of side pains in the evening and then Lucy. I'm exhausted
     
  17. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks with little to no sleep .plus a health scare with my dad yesterday morning and then my mom complaining of side pains in the evening and then Lucy. I'm exhausted I fixed it
     
  18. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks with little to no sleep .plus a health scare with my dad yesterday morning and then my mom complaining of side pains in the evening and then Lucy. I'm exhausted I fixed it
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  19. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Quite a few cats drop immediately after a vet visit no matter what the dose is or how fast they are sliding down the dosing scale. After future vet visits, check the BG for a couple of hours.
    Now, I don't think this is the primary reason you saw low numbers last night. Lucy is on a mission. The race down to dosing scale is exhausting for the human but it does give good results in the end, even possibly remission.
     
    Bandit's Mom and 8catsplus2 like this.
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Interesting! I didn't know that. I thought they only shot up from the stress of a vet visit.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  21. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Some do go up. Some do go down. Rover was one of them.
     
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    @8catsplus2 Amber, when is the next test due?

    @Panic , @Red & Rover (GA) will you be around if she needs help later in the cycle? It 22:30 here in Mumbai and I will be around only for another hour or so.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  23. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    When's the next test?

    I've stayed online longer than I should have today. There is a grant application before me and I have to start my bread. I can randomly look in but cannot stay glued to the screen during a crisis.

    @8catsplus2 - if the numbers drop and you don't get a respond in this thread, start a new thread in the Health Forum. "Help! Low numbers." If that does not get some eyes on it, post in the Lantus forum. "Help needed. Low numbers in Prozinc" and post a link to this thread.
     
  24. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    G'night to you Bhooma. You must be exhausted. Get some sleep. It is daytime for the majority of people here. There will be people around.

    And do stay safe and snug. The numbers in India right now are scary.
     
    Critter Mom and Bandit's Mom like this.
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Let me tag a few people on this thread. In case Amber is not able to post on other forums in case of an emergency. So they can help if numbers go low again.

    @tiffmaxee
    @Sue and Luci
    @Briere Fur Mom
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m here. When is the next test so I can stop by then.
     
    8catsplus2 and Bandit's Mom like this.
  27. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Thank you :)

    We are 1.5 billion people here. Am sure the infection rates are at least 10X what has been reported. We aren't testing enough and I suspect a majority are unsymptomatic!
     
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Really high here too. This Covid is just not quitting. Stay safe Bhooma. Get some sleep.
     
    Critter Mom and Bandit's Mom like this.
  29. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I'll pop in too. Stay safe Bhooma!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks for the info.. I would have never guessed that.. at 10 am she was 148 at 7 am she was 143
     
  31. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I was going to post on the health form but I could not find the thing where it says post a new thread. Her test is in about 15 minutes at 12:00 noon.
     
  32. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom I did one At 10:00 a.m. and I'm going to do one at noon which is in about 15 minutes.
     
  33. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    It's like being on a roller coaster. And I don't like roller coasters.
     
  34. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Oh gosh... Yes, it did look a couple of days ago as though those numbers did still want to come down... This is 'good news' really, but my goodness she's keeping you on your toes... (((Hugs)))
     
    Critter Mom and 8catsplus2 like this.
  35. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Yes she is she scared the you-know-what out of me last night..
     
  36. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    (((Amber))), I'm so sorry you're going through this when you have other things also going on in your life at the same time. No wonder you're exhausted... I do hope you manage to get some good rest soon. (((More hugs)))
    .
    [​IMG]
     
    Critter Mom and 8catsplus2 like this.
  37. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks I needed that.. as soon as she eats at 1:00 I'm going to take a nap..
     
  38. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    In any of the forums, in the top left hand corner.

    Post New Thread.jpg
    Given the exchange rate between Canada and the US, that 100 looks green to me. What a lovely cycle.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  39. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I was under the question and answering form. Didn't realize there was two with very little sleep in the last two days. I missed it.
     
  40. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom so at the +5 she was 100
    at +6 she was 86 ( then she ate 1.1 oz) at +8 she was 92... So no matter what her BG are between +9 and +12 I giver her .75 U
    @Sue and Luci[/USER
    @Briere Fur Mom
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If she is still going down at +12 which is PMPS, stall, DON’T feed and retest in 20 minutes. If high you still will shoot .75. That’s the new dose.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  42. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Ok and if she is still going down at pmps then what??
    And if she is not then what??
     
  43. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If still low ask for dosing advice. I’ve only used Lantus so can’t help. It’s not good to shooting a falling number though usually.
     
  44. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Ok
     
  45. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  46. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Deb & Wink .. if you can help that would
    Where do I go so I can Link my old post to my new post
     
  47. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  48. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks wish me luck when I do it lol
     
  49. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
  50. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Same here. I hate them with a passion.

    I'm so sorry for not replying sooner, Amber. I didn't get the tag till now. Very glad all is OK.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  51. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You called it at the time.

    ;)


    Mogs
    .
     

Share This Page