Huge swings in Bella’s daily blood glucose

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’d really like to help you but if you can’t keep the SS updated (add a new BG as soon as you take the test unless she’s really low & you need to feed), it’s difficult.

For instance, after the 59 yesterday, she did what? Is she bouncing today, what dose did you shoot, etc. As a note, usually when we see a test that doesn’t seem to fit, we retest. I’m not saying the 59 is not valid because my Gracie did the same thing to me early on Lantus when I didn’t realize how bounces broke and wasn’t managing the curve with food.

What is the % calories from carbs is she currently eating and when do you feed her? We have found most diabetic cats do best with foods that are 6-10% calories from carbs and they often require several mini- meals to work with the action of the insulin.

It looks to me like she was clearing a bounce and when that happens, the BG progressively gets lower so the nadir is late in a cycle. She was likely bounding from the 100s on am cycle 12/14. The 320 on pm cycle 12/15 could have been the high before the break.

Because insulin is a hormone and not a medication, you aren’t always going to get the same response and a lot of things influence it. You not only have to test at appropriate times but also feed at appropriate times. You’ve done a pretty good job of testing and so it’s important we figure out the feeding part of it.

But, again, I will tell you Bella’s patterns are not uncommon. We just need to teach you how to work with the insulin to get a better outcome. You can help us by keeping her SS very up-to-date and posting every day.
I’m so sorry you are going thru all this with Bella, for suggestion you can look at Corky’s SS and the remarks, you can see a feeding schedule,.amount of food and you will notice the BG’s fluctuate as the days goes by, of course Corky is on ProZinc diagnosed January 2023, at first for me being in the 100’s was like the world was ending, now I want him to be less then 90 his pancreas are healing now, but is a process a long one, and it took a lot of coaching from the members to not go crazy with low numbers and still shoot insulin, but I am always home and monitor constantly,,especially in less than 70 or less BG I regulate with testing every 1/2 hour feed 1-2 tsps of low carbs and repeat until the numbers regulate, it took me a year to get comfortable with this, but you can do it as well, one thing I was told was to take a step back breath in and breath out, cats are very sensible to stress, so we want Bella to feel relaxed you’re doing great but the SS is a must for the expert members to help you with dosing and to know how Bella reacts to the insulin as the days go by
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
When she is low like that I ALWAYS retest to ensure it is accurate. When she is in that state, I am rushing to take action because a few times she’d drop into the low 40’s. I can tell something is off because she looks “ stoned”.
Yesterday, I grabbed a few kibbles of dry food to jump her sugar. Corn syrup or honey usually takes 30 minutes but dry food has an almost instant impact on her.
I will get the SS updated when she’s out of danger.

As for feeding- she is only on Fancy Feast pate right now with aluminum hydroxide to help with phosphorus. I started trying to switch but vet said to work on diabetes regulation first as changing foods was changing a big variable. Besides, she’s wasting away and I need to ensure she eats.

She free feeds. Not ideal but when I tried scheduling meals, she would eat a lot and vomit. So I keep food out all day and refresh often. I do encourage eating in the morning, midday and evening by putting the bowl near her bed. She will get up and eat for about 5 minutes at those times.

So based on the data I have, why is she suddenly dropping like that? She’s been on .5units for a time and when I see 6 hours of 200+, I would not have expected a 59 BG.

what am I missing?
 
SS is updated with current info.

She has been "HI" for the last 3+ hours.
I will tag a Lantus expert so she can answer your concerns, try not to give her any kibbles if you have a syringe, without the needle you can give her 1ml of Karo syrup or honey, this will be a quick fix, test in 15 minutes, and follow the protocol as she raises her BG, too much of honey syrup or Karo, or HC food will not give Bella a chance to lower the numbers, but don't worry you'll get a much better response from a Lantus expert, keep up on the SS ok?
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
I will tag a Lantus expert so she can answer your concerns, try not to give her any kibbles if you have a syringe, without the needle you can give her 1ml of Karo syrup or honey, this will be a quick fix, test in 15 minutes, and follow the protocol as she raises her BG, too much of honey syrup or Karo, or HC food will not give Bella a chance to lower the numbers, but don't worry you'll get a much better response from a Lantus expert, keep up on the SS ok?
:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
We don’t have experts here and I have used three different insulins including Lantus. :)
 
We don’t have experts here and I have used three different insulins including Lantus. :)

:( sorry, I was referring to, as expert members, (as well knowledgeable) sorry, I am done, this time I mean it, I am not going to advise any longer, apparently my expression of language is not appropriate to do so:bighug::bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
 
When she is low like that I ALWAYS retest to ensure it is accurate. When she is in that state, I am rushing to take action because a few times she’d drop into the low 40’s. I can tell something is off because she looks “ stoned”.
Yesterday, I grabbed a few kibbles of dry food to jump her sugar. Corn syrup or honey usually takes 30 minutes but dry food has an almost instant impact on her.
I will get the SS updated when she’s out of danger.

As for feeding- she is only on Fancy Feast pate right now with aluminum hydroxide to help with phosphorus. I started trying to switch but vet said to work on diabetes regulation first as changing foods was changing a big variable. Besides, she’s wasting away and I need to ensure she eats.

She free feeds. Not ideal but when I tried scheduling meals, she would eat a lot and vomit. So I keep food out all day and refresh often. I do encourage eating in the morning, midday and evening by putting the bowl near her bed. She will get up and eat for about 5 minutes at those times.

So based on the data I have, why is she suddenly dropping like that? She’s been on .5units for a time and when I see 6 hours of 200+, I would not have expected a 59 BG.

what am I missing?
When you retest, you need to also put in the same cell RT so for example when you got the 59 and retested, you would put, in the same cell “59 RT 62” or whatever the BG was on the retest so we understand you did it. Knowledge is power and data is knowledge.

We don’t use dry food to bring up lower numbers and one reason is because it stays in the system a very long time and causes the BG to remain high so on top of the bounce she experienced, getting a high carb food that stays in the system after nadir completely put the brakes on any insulin she might have had left between +8 and +12.

We recommend corn syrup to bring up low numbers and it usually works within 15 minutes. As Maria said, giving 1 ml orally in a needless syringe is the best way to go but some people will mix it with HC gravy. HC food and syrup usually only affect the BG a few hours so the dry food could be one reason you are seeing her go so high if that is what you’ve been using to bring up her BG.

I don’t know what % calories from carbs the FF pates you use are but I hope you do. It’s very smart, if you want to figure this out, to record in the “Remarks” section of the SS, how much food you feed her when & what the carbs are. You can look at my Gracie’s SS as an example.

If you have a set amount of food you allow her to eat in a day….say one can….that would be 1/2 can per cycle. You want to divide that up into four “mini meals” (MM) to start and you’ll feed one after you have done her PS and while you are shooting, one MM at +1, one at +2, and one at +3. That’s where we start and then we see what effects it has on her curve. If you feed after +6 which is typically the nadir, then you are slamming the breaks on her insulin as it begins to wane.

I’ll give you an example of what it looks like when the insulin wears off because of short duration (usually feeding after +6). Look at her a.m. data on 11/25. She went from 146 to 314 in three hours. That is a sure sign of loss of duration especially since she came back down that night.

On 11/18 a.m. cycle, clear bounce breaking cycle. she had been low on 11/17, bounced, and then cleared it the next day in the a.m. cycle. Classic. And she signalled what we call “ the high before the break” because at PMPS on 11/17, she was in pink, came down to yellow, and then was pink again before she cleared the bounce on the 18th. Once you learn these patterns, you’ll know on a bounce-clearing day, you need to test early and guide her down with food instead of letting her come crashing down.

IMHO, Bella is no different than the hundreds of other cats we’ve seen in regard to her diabetes. You just aren’t working the insulin correctly by feeding when she needs to be fed to flatten the curve….and by learning to anticipate the pattern and when you need to test. I can’t urge you enough to be sure you always get a +2 when you are home and at night you should always get a +2 and a before bed test even if you think she’s high.

I’d like to suggest you start posting daily on the Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilar insulin support group (ISG). There are more eyes there with a lot of experienced depot insulin users (I am not on the board very often these days). The posting guidelines are here and it’s important to read them and post accordingly. We have many members there and our method allows us to quickly scan BGs and triage who needs help first. It’s also important to read all the Stickys there but most important would be the one for dosing methods. Since you are feeding some dry food, you will have to do Start Low Go Slow until all the dry food is out of her system and you aren’t giving her any. Then you can switch to the Tight Regulation Protocol which most cats do better on. I think part of the issue is you haven’t apparently had any specific dosing methods and your vet has just been reactionary likely to preshots and also some to nadirs. Doses have been held longer than they should have been.

I just want you to understand we can help you and Bella but it will take work on your part in a different manner than you have been doing. What do you think?
 
:( sorry, I was referring to, as expert members, (as well knowledgeable) sorry, I am done, this time I mean it, I am not going to advise any longer, apparently my expression of language is not appropriate to do so:bighug::bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
Maria your thoughts are appreciated but we’ve always said we can’t use the term “expert” for liability issues. That’s the webmaster’s policy.

I know you and Corky have made great progress and you want to pay it back. We appreciate that. You do have some good suggestions. There are big differences in how the insulins are used and some cases are more complicated. But I’m sure every new member appreciates your support and what you’ve experienced. Anyone can look at Corky’s SS and see how far he’s come under your great care.
 
Maria your thoughts are appreciated but we’ve always said we can’t use the term “expert” for liability issues. That’s the webmaster’s policy.

I know you and Corky have made great progress and you want to pay it back. We appreciate that. You do have some good suggestions. There are big differences in how the insulins are used and some cases are more complicated. But I’m sure every new member appreciates your support and what you’ve experienced. Anyone can look at Corky’s SS and see how far he’s come under your great care.
Thank you for you kind words, sometime I feel very inadequate, where I have been pretty much verbally trashed by one distinctive member via PM, sorry:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
@CORKY - Please don't drop from the discussion!! I welcome any input! I haven't taken any comments negatively and APPRECIATE all the input.

@Marje and Gracie - I didn't know that dry kibble had such an impact. On 11/28/24, she crashed 3 times and I used SO MUCH HONEY AND KARO syrup with little impact. Bella LOVES the dry Renal food and I can get her sugar up quickly. On 11/28, you'll see it took 3 attempts over many hours. Please know I DON'T feed dry food AT ALL and have only used twice - yesterday and 11/28. I won't do kibble again.
I probably should tell you that on April 2, she crashed and it was bad. Vet thought there was some impact to the brain and it took MONTHS to recover which is why I FREAK OUT when she crashes.

I really don't understand the comments on the food so I will read a few more times.
There are days when she barely eats a 3oz can the entire day - and then there are days she inhales 3 cans! She's lost soooo much muscle mass in the last 2 months I am giving her as much food as she wants.
Perhaps the CKD throws a wrench in this whole thing. I am careful about food. I HATE Fancy FEAST - but at this point I have to pick my battles. The CKD group said we need to get diabetes under control and then can focus on what we do for Bella. She is losing muscle mass and the vet is super concerned about the diabetes. She reached out to a vet forum and they suggested switching to PZI - but I am not convinced that's a solution until I work on everything recommended here.

As for the SS - I am TRYING! My laptop crashes every time I update the SS. It takes an hour to reboot. I don't have the time to rebuild the computer so I hobble along.

Let me reread the comments on food to try and understand what I am suppose to do.

I am sooo stressed because she has been a diabetic for many years and I haven't seen erratic numbers like this before.
I cry each night because I dont know what I am doing wrong and am really looking for someone to say do 1, 2, 3.....
I am trying....
 
@CORKY - Please don't drop from the discussion!! I welcome any input! I haven't taken any comments negatively and APPRECIATE all the input.

@Marje and Gracie - I didn't know that dry kibble had such an impact. On 11/28/24, she crashed 3 times and I used SO MUCH HONEY AND KARO syrup with little impact. Bella LOVES the dry Renal food and I can get her sugar up quickly. On 11/28, you'll see it took 3 attempts over many hours. Please know I DON'T feed dry food AT ALL and have only used twice - yesterday and 11/28. I won't do kibble again.
I probably should tell you that on April 2, she crashed and it was bad. Vet thought there was some impact to the brain and it took MONTHS to recover which is why I FREAK OUT when she crashes.

I really don't understand the comments on the food so I will read a few more times.
There are days when she barely eats a 3oz can the entire day - and then there are days she inhales 3 cans! She's lost soooo much muscle mass in the last 2 months I am giving her as much food as she wants.
Perhaps the CKD throws a wrench in this whole thing. I am careful about food. I HATE Fancy FEAST - but at this point I have to pick my battles. The CKD group said we need to get diabetes under control and then can focus on what we do for Bella. She is losing muscle mass and the vet is super concerned about the diabetes. She reached out to a vet forum and they suggested switching to PZI - but I am not convinced that's a solution until I work on everything recommended here.

As for the SS - I am TRYING! My laptop crashes every time I update the SS. It takes an hour to reboot. I don't have the time to rebuild the computer so I hobble along.

Let me reread the comments on food to try and understand what I am suppose to do.

I am sooo stressed because she has been a diabetic for many years and I haven't seen erratic numbers like this before.
I cry each night because I dont know what I am doing wrong and am really looking for someone to say do 1, 2, 3.....
I am trying....
Don’t worry I’ll be here for you, there’s something you may want to ask your Vet to prescribe, it’s called MIRATZ, it increases appetite quite miraculously within the first time is a small tube all you need is just a pin depo in the inner fold of the ear exchanging ears every day for 7 days, when Corky came out of the hospital after 7 days I had to force feed him with a syringe it was earful, and this stuff immediately opened up the appetite here in Miami is $38.00 but it goes a long long way:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Don’t worry I’ll be here for you, there’s something you may want to ask your Vet to prescribe, it’s called MIRATZ, it increases appetite quite miraculously within the first time is a small tube all you need is just a pin depo in the inner fold of the ear exchanging ears every day for 7 days, when Corky came out of the hospital after 7 days I had to force feed him with a syringe it was earful, and this stuff immediately opened up the appetite here in Miami is $38.00 but it goes a long long way:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Maybe you should start a new thread this one is way to long, you can call it in the title “Continuation BELLA’s huge swings BG”
 
Thanks for the new post suggestion.

Re: Mirtazapine- I gave that in the past with bad results. Bella had some very odd facial twitching a year ago and it seemed to go haywire with Mirtazapine I give Cyclo?? with good results but she does get wired so I save for desperate times. But
 
Maybe you should start a new thread this one is way to long, you can call it in the title “Continuation BELLA’s huge swings BG”
I want her to start posting in the Lantus forum :)

Thanks for the new post suggestion.

Re: Mirtazapine- I gave that in the past with bad results. Bella had some very odd facial twitching a year ago and it seemed to go haywire with Mirtazapine I give Cyclo?? with good results but she does get wired so I save for desperate times. But
Maria is correct and you might be not understanding mirtazapine is the pill but MiraTaz is transdermal. You don’t have to use the full dose of the transdermal. I just use 1” every four days and it keeps my boy eating well with no side effects at all. I won’t give my cats oral mirtazapine.

Loss of muscle mass is a hallmark sign of CKD and it’s hard to counteract that even if they eat a lot.

On 11/28, her BGs were low for a pet meter but not dangerously low. I can’t see what you gave her or when because it’s not annotated. The 45 on 11/27 worries me a lot more.

The FF is likely more of a concern for the CKD than FD as I understand the pates are LC but I don’t know the exact %. You should have some HC canned food there with gravy that you can mix with Karo. I don’t think honey works as well.

How low did her BG get in April and what were her symptoms?

There is no issue with changing to PZ. It is not a depot insulin which might be better for her but you could see the same kind of curves as it’s still insulin and it still needs food management. But….you would dose in the preshot and not the nadir and you wouldn’t have to deal with the depot.
 
@DianefromDallaa
Just a suggestion
You might want to try Weruva Pates
low carb/ low phosphorus
if you tap on this link and look at post #32 I listed some Weruva pates for another member that's low carb/ low phosphorus with kitties with CKD
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3124085

You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts. This is where I was told where to look by a member


You can even check out the soulistic pates
https://www.soulisticpet.com/pate
When you click in one of the flavors then click on
COMPLETE NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION (link to page)
and look at the same two places like on the weruva
 
Last edited:
lol- I have a cabinet FULL of Weruva!! I got all kinds and flavors and Bella doesn’t want any.
For a few months she ate Science diet 7+ and did very well. Gained 3# and regained good muscle. the muscle loss I am now seeing is in the last 45-60 days which happens to coincide with the diabetes issues. Maybe just a coincidence.

Marje- you asked about April- she got down to 42 on an Alphatrak. I was doing yard work and got sidetracked. She was without food and when I came in, I immediately took a reading as I knew she was off. For over 2 months her eyes stayed dialated (I took her to an ophthalmologist to see if she lost eyesight which she didn’t) and she wasn’t responding to any calls or typical stimulants. It was horrible. I thought about euthanizing because she was so unresponsive.
Then I read something about ways to over stimulate by aggressive brushing. Every day. I am surprised she didn’t go bald. She started having eye contact and then I took her on the patio and it was like a light switch turned on. Somewhat of a miracle really.
In all the years, she hasn’t really gone crazy low, until recently. Vet didn’t want to lower insulin because she was still hitting 500+ BG.
So for several months I’ve been dealing with daily ranges of 60 to 600 which is why I came here.
I’ve always checked before dosing and there would be weeks where she was 600+ every morning then suddenly she would be 120. It was crazy.
Vet attributed some to possible infections but we got all that under control yet it still happened.

I need to read more posts about how others have managed to see what I need to do.

I don’t see many who have 5+ years of diabetes. I don’t recall in the first year (she went into remission one time but was diabetic within a year) having many issues. When ckd started becoming more prevalent is when I noticed issues. It’s the chicken and egg- what’s the cause and what’s the symptom.

I will save, Bella’s ears are pretty swollen lately. I need to back off measures soon.
I need to resolve these crazy swings quickly.
 
@CORKY - Please don't drop from the discussion!! I welcome any input! I haven't taken any comments negatively and APPRECIATE all the input.

@Marje and Gracie - I didn't know that dry kibble had such an impact. On 11/28/24, she crashed 3 times and I used SO MUCH HONEY AND KARO syrup with little impact. Bella LOVES the dry Renal food and I can get her sugar up quickly. On 11/28, you'll see it took 3 attempts over many hours. Please know I DON'T feed dry food AT ALL and have only used twice - yesterday and 11/28. I won't do kibble again.
I probably should tell you that on April 2, she crashed and it was bad. Vet thought there was some impact to the brain and it took MONTHS to recover which is why I FREAK OUT when she crashes.

I really don't understand the comments on the food so I will read a few more times.
There are days when she barely eats a 3oz can the entire day - and then there are days she inhales 3 cans! She's lost soooo much muscle mass in the last 2 months I am giving her as much food as she wants.
Perhaps the CKD throws a wrench in this whole thing. I am careful about food. I HATE Fancy FEAST - but at this point I have to pick my battles. The CKD group said we need to get diabetes under control and then can focus on what we do for Bella. She is losing muscle mass and the vet is super concerned about the diabetes. She reached out to a vet forum and they suggested switching to PZI - but I am not convinced that's a solution until I work on everything recommended here.

As for the SS - I am TRYING! My laptop crashes every time I update the SS. It takes an hour to reboot. I don't have the time to rebuild the computer so I hobble along.

Let me reread the comments on food to try and understand what I am suppose to do.

I am sooo stressed because she has been a diabetic for many years and I haven't seen erratic numbers like this before.
I cry each night because I dont know what I am doing wrong and am really looking for someone to say do 1, 2, 3.....
I am trying....
 
If you are having problems with your laptop but have a smart phone, you can install Google sheets on the phone. That's how I update my SS. Good luck.
 
If you are having problems with your laptop but have a smart phone, you can install Google sheets on the phone. That's how I update my SS. Good luck.

You Got this girl! and Bella has you and knows you are doing everything to make her better, there's never "what did I do wrong?" I said that to myself many many times before, but our cats have a mind of their own they love the attention and like to keep us on our toes! ;):D:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
@Marje and Gracie
I don’t know what a “depot” insulin is versus Lantus.
Never heard that term. Where can I read about the differences?

oddly enough, Bella’s numbers look like they did 2 days ago when she dropped to 59.
What can I watch for and what is the lowest it can go before I need to intervene with KARO?
AND- is this typical (going from 280+ to 50+ in a cycle??
 
@Marje and Gracie
I don’t know what a “depot” insulin is versus Lantus.
Never heard that term. Where can I read about the differences?

oddly enough, Bella’s numbers look like they did 2 days ago when she dropped to 59.
What can I watch for and what is the lowest it can go before I need to intervene with KARO?
AND- is this typical (going from 280+ to 50+ in a cycle??

Since Bella uses Lantus and Corky uses ProZinc, I am not sure if is the same protocol, but I avoid Karo as last resort like 50 BG or under, I use the protocol of 1-2 tsp of Medium Carb every 1/2 hour, test and repeat until he gets to 69-70's, if too low I use High Carb instead, a tsp at a time, if he's 50 or under I take a syringe (without the needle of course) 1ml and introduce on the side of his mouth so he can swallow it, this will be a quick fix, so
I test 15 minutes later, and according to what the BG is 1 tsp every 1/2 hour and test. and it works, I hope this works. I will still tag another Lantus user or more knowledgeable in Lantus as well:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
So Bella looked like she was going to have some good numbers this afternoon but suddenly had her numbers jump at +7 and at +10 hours she was >600.

My question is - do I administer insulin early (2 hours early) since she is was so high - or - let her go beyond +600 for several hours?
 
Lantus is a depot type of insulin.

Diane - there is information about the use of Lantus and an explanation of the insulin depot in the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board.

There is no "protocol" for handling low numbers. Using Karo or some other syrup (honey, maple syrup, etc) or high carb food to raise numbers is fine. It all depends on what works for your cat. This is a post on handling low numbers.

With Lantus, shooting early or late can be tricky. An early shot acts like a dose increase whereas a late shot acts like a dose reduction. In addition, if you change the shot time, your next shot is due 12 hours later. Given your schedule, changing the shot time may not be feasible. If you do need to change the shot time, we suggest making changes gradually -- either by 15 min twice a day of 30 min once a day. If you skip/miss a shot, you can make the change at the next shot time.
 
Thanks for the advice about shooting early/late!

I am still struggling with the daily variations - going from BG of 500-600, then dropping to her low ~5 hours and shooting back to 500+ by 8 hours. Her low is still 140-160 which i need to get down.

If you look at her numbers, you'll see she tends to hit her low ~5 hours and then quickly increases to 500+. Does this happen to anyone else? I haven't seen huge variations like this in other profiles I reviewed. I know there is a curve but I feel I have a mountain!!
 
I am not sure if is the same protocol, but I avoid Karo as last resort like 50 BG or under, I use the protocol of 1-2 tsp of Medium Carb every 1/2 hour
Maria: just so you know, the word “protocol” is used in FDMB to refer to a dosing method like the Tight Regulation Protocol. So when you use it as you did here, it sounds like it is something that we’ve written as guidance. I’d suggest you steer away from that word and use, perhaps, “procedure” and make sure it is just what you do for Corky. Keep in mind, as you know, that every cat is different so what might work for Corky, won’t work for other cats and each CG must determine how best to control the low BGs. Because PZ does not have an official, science-based “protocol”, we refer to the “equivalent” of the depot insulins “Tight Regulation Protocol” as the “Modified Prozinc Method”.

Thanks for the advice about shooting early/late!

I am still struggling with the daily variations - going from BG of 500-600, then dropping to her low ~5 hours and shooting back to 500+ by 8 hours. Her low is still 140-160 which i need to get down.

If you look at her numbers, you'll see she tends to hit her low ~5 hours and then quickly increases to 500+. Does this happen to anyone else? I haven't seen huge variations like this in other profiles I reviewed. I know there is a curve but I feel I have a mountain!!
She is just doing one bounce after another because you aren’t controlling her food as I suggested. If you don’t feed the curve, she will continue to go from high to low and back again just like today. She took a huge drop and I can’t tell that you did any feeding at all to slow it down, like giving her some HC food. And I don’t know where she is now because the SS is not updated.

I can only repeat my requests so many times, like asking you to please start posting in the Lantus/Levemir/Biosimilars ISG (and I linked it for you). I’ve already told you many times that what she is doing is normal and how to approach getting it to settle down. You have to start somewhere and I can’t tell you’ve even started with anything I’ve suggested. I’m not sure how else to help you. You can’t keep asking the same questions and just disregard the advice if you want her to get better. The ball is in your court.
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie - the spreadsheet IS updated. I am doing updates regularly and ensure it is updated before posting.
I have read through your posts several times and am trying to do everything - but I will say again, she free feeds and ALWAYS has food out. I've tried 50 times over the 5 years to get her to eat scheduled meals and it has resulted in lots of vomiting, constipation etc. Not sure if the CKD plays a part but I go back to free feeding.

I am sorry you feel i am not doing what Ive been told - thats the farthest from being accurate. I am not sure I understand what you are saying about feeding properly.

I'm pretty upset now and am sorry I came here for help. I am BEYOND STRESSED and now being criticized is beyond hurtful.
My girl doesn't have much time due to her CKD and I thought getting her diabetes controlled better would help.

Thank you for your help.
 
@Marje and Gracie - the spreadsheet IS updated. I am doing updates regularly and ensure it is updated before posting.
I have read through your posts several times and am trying to do everything - but I will say again, she free feeds and ALWAYS has food out. I've tried 50 times over the 5 years to get her to eat scheduled meals and it has resulted in lots of vomiting, constipation etc. Not sure if the CKD plays a part but I go back to free feeding.

I am sorry you feel i am not doing what Ive been told - thats the farthest from being accurate. I am not sure I understand what you are saying about feeding properly.

I'm pretty upset now and am sorry I came here for help. I am BEYOND STRESSED and now being criticized is beyond hurtful.
My girl doesn't have much time due to her CKD and I thought getting her diabetes controlled better would help.

Thank you for your help.
Diane, I’m truly not criticizing you. I just can’t tell what you are doing. I asked if you could put her feeding details in the Remarks on the SS but when I looked this afternoon, there was nothing. The reason I thought you had not updated her SS is because the last BG was at +6 today and she had dropped so I’m sure you are well past that. I know you have computer issues but another member explained how to do it from your phone.

Her CKD isn’t that bad based on the labs you’ve posted. Things change with cats and now she is on insulin and trying to give her mini meals might result in a different outcome. I can’t understand why feeding her small meals would make her vomit or have constipation. I’ve had cats for 63 years with all kinds of illnesses and small meals seem to be better for most conditions but every cat is different.

I am trying to see it from what you explain but you are asking us to tell you what’s wrong without giving us the info we need. It isn’t just about the BG but also about the food. Insulin usually onsets at +2 so that’s when you will see a drop if it’s going to be a normal cycle. You want to have enough food on board at that point to control that steep drop as you saw today. That’s where the feeding comes in I mentioned. And that’s where feeding her a food closer to 6-10% might help and I asked about that but no response on the % calories from carbs you are feeding. I asked that you post in the ISG for your insulin but……

I hope you don’t punish her by leaving here just because you are upset with me. If you post where I suggested, you will get other experienced members responding who you might feel more comfortable with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top