hypo cat insulin advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

AshleysBobby

New Member
bobby, 12 years old :cat:
april9th diagnosed diabetic, put on prozinc. numbers always 350-400
aug9th switched from prozinc to lantus. numbers still 350-400.
sep29th half regular PurinaDM amount, add a wet food pate
nov14th suddenly his number is 40-70.

how low is too low to give him insulin? he's currently on 3 units 2xday. called my vet but they didn't call back.
I give him dry food and karo when his freestyle libre beeps. he's conscious, walks in a straight line, fast reflexes, frisky even. I'm baffled.

update 5:15 pm vet called back and reduced his dose to 2 units each for the time being
 
Last edited:
Hi Ashley,
Hi and welcome to you both.
How is Bobby now?
First of all would you please remove the GA from your post as that means ‘gone ahead’ or ‘guardian angel’…in other words the kitty has died.:)

It sounds as if you are using a freestyle libre monitor. Is that correct?
The libre can be quite unreliable once the blood glucose (BG) drops under 100. What I would suggest you do is get a ReliOn premier glucose meter from Walmart if you live in the US, so you can check the BG when they drop lower on the libre.
Using a human meter (which the libre and ReliOn are) the normal BG numbers are 50-120.

If you would like to set up our spreadsheet and signature which you will find how to do in the link HOW YOU CAN HELP US HELP YOU

Can you tell us what food you are feeding him now? Did you change the food recently?
Are you feeding just wet food or some dry food?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top