Marlena
Very Active Member
Hi there, I am a "mum" of a 11-years old diabetic cat Rocky who had been diagnosed about 18 months ago. I managed to get him into remission twice, last time I started insulin injections very quickly and after one month we were able to stop and he was in remission for 6 months. Unfortunately it all came back last October but this time I find it really hard to regulate him.
He has been overweight, always having wonderful appetite for all sorts of foods including vegetables! After last stressful event outside he stopped going out and I think his lack of exercise and eating too much contributed to the development of diabetes.
After diagnosis I changed Rocky's diet to raw human quality home made one. His carbohydrate is only a little green veg which he likes very much. He gets 2 main meals with his injection and 2 snack meals before expected sugar drops. All at regular times and portions are size controlled. My first goal was to slim him down and he lost about 1.5 pounds over time and then he stabilized. The vet kept saying that he needs to loose weight and suggested veterinary diet full of carbohydrates but low in calories! I was horrified. His insulin is Vetsulin (Caninsulin) in a pen, easy to use.
Rocky has had some blood testing like kidney, liver function, urine test. Normal results. He had high folate level. His IGF-1 level was 700 (400 normal, above 1000 is diagnostic for acromegaly in the UK).
I have noticed one thing which worry me: even with his low BG numbers during the day he often keeps going to his water bowl and drinks a lot of water, specially after food. I am sure that in the past when his BG was low I couldn't see him drinking. I noticed he lost weight recently (almost 2 pounds) but can not be sure of exact number as weighting him at home is not always accurate.
Another problem I have is his unpredictable BG numbers so not too sure how to adjust his insulin dose. He seems to be better regulated during the day, sometimes having much lower evening pre shot BG after 12 hours since am insulin injection and then high BG morning values. I have tried 3 options with low PM values: no insulin at all, token dose and slightly reduce dose. None of these made any difference to the AM BG values.
I would be grateful if you could give me some advice.
He has been overweight, always having wonderful appetite for all sorts of foods including vegetables! After last stressful event outside he stopped going out and I think his lack of exercise and eating too much contributed to the development of diabetes.
After diagnosis I changed Rocky's diet to raw human quality home made one. His carbohydrate is only a little green veg which he likes very much. He gets 2 main meals with his injection and 2 snack meals before expected sugar drops. All at regular times and portions are size controlled. My first goal was to slim him down and he lost about 1.5 pounds over time and then he stabilized. The vet kept saying that he needs to loose weight and suggested veterinary diet full of carbohydrates but low in calories! I was horrified. His insulin is Vetsulin (Caninsulin) in a pen, easy to use.
Rocky has had some blood testing like kidney, liver function, urine test. Normal results. He had high folate level. His IGF-1 level was 700 (400 normal, above 1000 is diagnostic for acromegaly in the UK).
I have noticed one thing which worry me: even with his low BG numbers during the day he often keeps going to his water bowl and drinks a lot of water, specially after food. I am sure that in the past when his BG was low I couldn't see him drinking. I noticed he lost weight recently (almost 2 pounds) but can not be sure of exact number as weighting him at home is not always accurate.
Another problem I have is his unpredictable BG numbers so not too sure how to adjust his insulin dose. He seems to be better regulated during the day, sometimes having much lower evening pre shot BG after 12 hours since am insulin injection and then high BG morning values. I have tried 3 options with low PM values: no insulin at all, token dose and slightly reduce dose. None of these made any difference to the AM BG values.
I would be grateful if you could give me some advice.