I don’t feel we are making any progress

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by josette, Nov 26, 2022.

1. josette

josette Member

Haven’t posted daily in a while but can you look at spreadsheet and give me advice?

2. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

I know it's not easy as we expect numbers to go down when starting insulin. I was so frustrated when I started as I had to keep increasing up to 8.5 units during the first year .... Then we started seeing better numbers and he went slowly down to 2.75 units with an average number of 90 for this year but I went through a lot of patience pants !!!

I'm not a dosing expert but I would increase. Remember that cats on 5 units and above are considered high dose kitties so maybe @Wendy&Neko or @Bandit's Mom can give you a good direction. When you have a chance, test for ketones and update your SS.

At one point Oscar will reach HIS dose and then he'll start coming down!

3. Wendy&Neko

Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

Every cat has a dose than moves their numbers, you will find Oscar's dose if you follow the dosing methods. Since your signature says you are following TR, you should be increasing every 3 days/6 cycles if you aren't seeing anything under 200. But that assumes you can get a second test each and every cycle. Even if you work during the day, you should still be able to get those second tests at night. We don't want to increase without knowing how low the dose is taking Oscar. Having said that, you've held this dose a week, which is too long. Plus you have enough data to show that you aren't missing any lows.

When you get to 5 units total dose, we increase by 0.5 units at a time, unless just tweaking a dose that is already giving you a lot of green. So I would move to 5.5 units now.