Vanda Kay
Member
Hi everyone,
I'm a relative newbie here and am at my wit's end. Landa's numbers have been bouncing all over the place the last 2 weeks since she had the Libre fitted, but since yesterday's pm dose, the line has been flat on 400 on my app. Same after this morning's dose and now same again after her pm dose. What is going on? Why has the Lantus stopped working completely all of a sudden? She has been on 1 unit twice a day for just over 2 weeks. I had to take her to the ER this morning on my vet's advice (totally unnecessary it turns out). Her BG there was 388 and ketones 0.4. They told me to INCREASE the dose to 1.5 or 1.25 even though she had 67 2 days ago. My vet agreed. I didn't want to do that, so I gave her 1 unit as usual. I've ordered another pen that's due to arrive from Chewy tomorrow, but in the meantime, can anyone explain what might be happening? I'm pretty sure the shot went in (am now using a syringe, even though I was happier using the pen plus a pen needle until she ran away mid shot a few days ago. I can't rely on my vet's advice and reallly don't know what to do.
I'm a relative newbie here and am at my wit's end. Landa's numbers have been bouncing all over the place the last 2 weeks since she had the Libre fitted, but since yesterday's pm dose, the line has been flat on 400 on my app. Same after this morning's dose and now same again after her pm dose. What is going on? Why has the Lantus stopped working completely all of a sudden? She has been on 1 unit twice a day for just over 2 weeks. I had to take her to the ER this morning on my vet's advice (totally unnecessary it turns out). Her BG there was 388 and ketones 0.4. They told me to INCREASE the dose to 1.5 or 1.25 even though she had 67 2 days ago. My vet agreed. I didn't want to do that, so I gave her 1 unit as usual. I've ordered another pen that's due to arrive from Chewy tomorrow, but in the meantime, can anyone explain what might be happening? I'm pretty sure the shot went in (am now using a syringe, even though I was happier using the pen plus a pen needle until she ran away mid shot a few days ago. I can't rely on my vet's advice and reallly don't know what to do.