Introduction, Need Advice

ThisIsAllForZot

Member Since 2025
Hello all,
I am new here, and as you'd imagine, I have a diabetic feline. He was diagnosed very recently and I was directed here by a kind stranger on reddit (hello, and thank you, if you see this!) who said that this was a great resource and community for finding assistance with dealing with diabetes and ways to make it more financially reasonable. I am looking to become as educated as possible with feline diabetes, as all of it is still very overwhelming and scary for me. I do have some minor experience with the happenings and daily life of diabetics from a previous caregiving job, but I am not sure how well that will translate to diabetic pet care.

Meet Zot

88224197_1740298190955247_r.

Zot is my 13yro, sweet Norwegian Forest/Maine Coone mix. He was given to me as a kitten by a friend back in 2011. He loves all people but is not so fond of other animals that do not respect his personal space (gets along best with introverted female personalities). His favorite hobbies are staring at the ceiling, licking plastic, sitting in your doorframe at 2 am so you trip, and screaming unnaturally long screams at you when you enter the room. You know, all the usual orange-cat hobbies. He is the biggest cuddle bug and loves smacking you in the face to wake you up for pets, and he is incredibly loved for all of these things and more.

His Diagnosis
Last October, Zot had gone in for grooming to get some mats out that he would not let me touch. He had to be sedated for this as the mats were in an area he would not let me groom, and they were very close to the skin. Before this, they did some bloodwork as a precaution, and his glucose reading was pretty high. I believe over 500mg/dL. I was told that he was likely diabetic, but there was a small chance that it could have been a freak stress-related incident. They told me they usually only see stress-spikes cause 200-300mg/dL at most, however. And that it probably wasn't stress. I was concerned about this, but I was also told that if he was diabetic, I would see the clinical symptoms at home with urination and water consumption. Which I did not (I DEFINITELY do now.)

About a week and a half ago, Zot developed an abscess on his right cheek. He had to be sedated so that they could find the source of the abscess. I also requested another glucose reading, which they did while he was there. Results came back, and he was over 300mg/dL, and the vet told me he was diabetic.

This has all been incredibly confusing and exhausting for me, and I assume has been and still is sometimes for many, many others. This couldn't have come at a worse time, as I lost two jobs due to chronic pain and had to move back home and am in financial ruin. I cannot afford his dental surgery, and while we try to put everything back together, he has been on painkillers and had an antibiotic injection. Today, he goes back in for hopefully a set week or two of antibiotics and some more painkillers so that he and I are allowed more time to pick up the pieces before the abscess returns. The vet says ideally, we'd start his diabetes treatment a week after his surgery as currently that issue is the biggest immediate danger to him.

Educate me, please
I have looked at a lot of the information here, but all this new information is very overwhelming to take in all at once. I guess I am posting this because I am terrified that due to my financial situation and my horrible struggle to find work, I could not afford to give him a good quality of life with diabetes, even if I am able to raise and find the money for his dental surgery. I am at a loss as to what to do. All the programs and resources I could think of, resources people have sent me, etc, are all too full or busy to help, and price estimates are so high for everything at every place I've called. Even our Humane Society can't help with the dental as they lost their lead and won't have one for a month or two. I'm scared that, even if I make the money for his surgery, I won't be able to commit financially to his diabetes.

Worst of all, I saw it coming. Because I am living at home currently, and of course, my pets are with me- my grandmother free feeds them dry food, and she gives them an ungodly amount of treats. I mean, seriously-- she goes through three bags of treats a month, and some days I have caught her giving about 30 between our 3 cats several times a day. I couldn't stop her. I begged her. I even brought her to vet appointments to help her understand. The vet told her that if she kept up what she was doing, our cats were going to have serious medical issues or end up diabetic. She didn't listen, she told me in private that the vet was "young and stupid" because she believes pets and people can only be born with diabetes. I was horrified at the thought of having a diabetic pet, not because I couldn't bring myself to commit to his care (I'd do anything for my pets), but because I fear that diabetes is a death sentence for a pet in an extremely low-income household. I don't have a door on the room I'm staying in and I could not keep her from feeding them as she does. Now she talks about how miserable diabetic people and animals are... which is ironic considering she is a huge factor in his diagnosis. Of course, she wants me to put him down while the vet thinks he has a fighting chance if I can find help with this.

I am typing all of this out because, is this doable? Is there anything I can do to prevent this situation from turning more sour? Is it cruel of me to try, despite being completely broke? It wouldn't be a problem if I didn't lose my job, but now it is all very scary, and I want to make the right decision for Zot. I have raised over 660 on gofundme alone for his dental surgery, and been sent 800 from friends and that went to previous appointments, but I so fear not being able to afford his insulin, future vet appointments and all of the necessities. I am trying so hard. I want his quality of life to stay good. He is still happy, his behaviors are entirely the same, he is eating and drinking normally (for being diabetic). I've even switched him onto a wet-food diet already. I need advice and opinions badly from others with diabetic pets.

All help and opinions are greatly appreciated.
 
Oh also, what questions should I ask my vet when I get the chance?
If I manage to get his dental problem taken care of, I am still going to be very frantic and stressed so it might help to have a good list of questions to ask my vet that would benefit Zot and set him on the track to success.
 
Hello all,
I am new here, and as you'd imagine, I have a diabetic feline. He was diagnosed very recently and I was directed here by a kind stranger on reddit (hello, and thank you, if you see this!) who said that this was a great resource and community for finding assistance with dealing with diabetes and ways to make it more financially reasonable. I am looking to become as educated as possible with feline diabetes, as all of it is still very overwhelming and scary for me. I do have some minor experience with the happenings and daily life of diabetics from a previous caregiving job, but I am not sure how well that will translate to diabetic pet care.

Meet Zot

88224197_1740298190955247_r.

Zot is my 13yro, sweet Norwegian Forest/Maine Coone mix. He was given to me as a kitten by a friend back in 2011. He loves all people but is not so fond of other animals that do not respect his personal space (gets along best with introverted female personalities). His favorite hobbies are staring at the ceiling, licking plastic, sitting in your doorframe at 2 am so you trip, and screaming unnaturally long screams at you when you enter the room. You know, all the usual orange-cat hobbies. He is the biggest cuddle bug and loves smacking you in the face to wake you up for pets, and he is incredibly loved for all of these things and more.

His Diagnosis
Last October, Zot had gone in for grooming to get some mats out that he would not let me touch. He had to be sedated for this as the mats were in an area he would not let me groom, and they were very close to the skin. Before this, they did some bloodwork as a precaution, and his glucose reading was pretty high. I believe over 500mg/dL. I was told that he was likely diabetic, but there was a small chance that it could have been a freak stress-related incident. They told me they usually only see stress-spikes cause 200-300mg/dL at most, however. And that it probably wasn't stress. I was concerned about this, but I was also told that if he was diabetic, I would see the clinical symptoms at home with urination and water consumption. Which I did not (I DEFINITELY do now.)

About a week and a half ago, Zot developed an abscess on his right cheek. He had to be sedated so that they could find the source of the abscess. I also requested another glucose reading, which they did while he was there. Results came back, and he was over 300mg/dL, and the vet told me he was diabetic.

This has all been incredibly confusing and exhausting for me, and I assume has been and still is sometimes for many, many others. This couldn't have come at a worse time, as I lost two jobs due to chronic pain and had to move back home and am in financial ruin. I cannot afford his dental surgery, and while we try to put everything back together, he has been on painkillers and had an antibiotic injection. Today, he goes back in for hopefully a set week or two of antibiotics and some more painkillers so that he and I are allowed more time to pick up the pieces before the abscess returns. The vet says ideally, we'd start his diabetes treatment a week after his surgery as currently that issue is the biggest immediate danger to him.

Educate me, please
I have looked at a lot of the information here, but all this new information is very overwhelming to take in all at once. I guess I am posting this because I am terrified that due to my financial situation and my horrible struggle to find work, I could not afford to give him a good quality of life with diabetes, even if I am able to raise and find the money for his dental surgery. I am at a loss as to what to do. All the programs and resources I could think of, resources people have sent me, etc, are all too full or busy to help, and price estimates are so high for everything at every place I've called. Even our Humane Society can't help with the dental as they lost their lead and won't have one for a month or two. I'm scared that, even if I make the money for his surgery, I won't be able to commit financially to his diabetes.

Worst of all, I saw it coming. Because I am living at home currently, and of course, my pets are with me- my grandmother free feeds them dry food, and she gives them an ungodly amount of treats. I mean, seriously-- she goes through three bags of treats a month, and some days I have caught her giving about 30 between our 3 cats several times a day. I couldn't stop her. I begged her. I even brought her to vet appointments to help her understand. The vet told her that if she kept up what she was doing, our cats were going to have serious medical issues or end up diabetic. She didn't listen, she told me in private that the vet was "young and stupid" because she believes pets and people can only be born with diabetes. I was horrified at the thought of having a diabetic pet, not because I couldn't bring myself to commit to his care (I'd do anything for my pets), but because I fear that diabetes is a death sentence for a pet in an extremely low-income household. I don't have a door on the room I'm staying in and I could not keep her from feeding them as she does. Now she talks about how miserable diabetic people and animals are... which is ironic considering she is a huge factor in his diagnosis. Of course, she wants me to put him down while the vet thinks he has a fighting chance if I can find help with this.

I am typing all of this out because, is this doable? Is there anything I can do to prevent this situation from turning more sour? Is it cruel of me to try, despite being completely broke? It wouldn't be a problem if I didn't lose my job, but now it is all very scary, and I want to make the right decision for Zot. I have raised over 660 on gofundme alone for his dental surgery, and been sent 800 from friends and that went to previous appointments, but I so fear not being able to afford his insulin, future vet appointments and all of the necessities. I am trying so hard. I want his quality of life to stay good. He is still happy, his behaviors are entirely the same, he is eating and drinking normally (for being diabetic). I've even switched him onto a wet-food diet already. I need advice and opinions badly from others with diabetic pets.

All help and opinions are greatly appreciated.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
Welcome to the board! Fellow orange cat owner here, I can relate to those favorite activities lol…

My opinion, if you can swing it, get the dental work done! The diabetes can be managed on a low budget, insulin is $35 a vial which lasts months, the glucose meter is $9, syringes are cheap on Amazon, and lancets are pennies.

Some more folks will be by with information I’m sure, but you got this!
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Yes this is all very doable, it is just very overwhelming in the beginning but it does get much easier as you learn about it all.
We are always here for you so ask any questions you need to.

***I would not wait to get the insulin started if I were you. With an infected tooth and FD there is a risk of ketones forming and we don’t want that. Please ask you vet if there were any ketones at diagnosis. If there were insulin must be started straight away.

The best insulin for cats is Lantus. Don’t let the vet prescribe vetsulin. It is a cheaper insulin but is not suitable for cats.
If you are willing to home test the blood glucose, that will save you a lot of money having to go back to the vet for monitoring all the time.
If you are interested in doing this we can give you information about it, and where to buy cheap supplies.
I’m glad you are feeding a wet diet. Is it a low carb food?
It needs to be 10% or under carbs. Here is a link to a CHART. Look for the low carb foods.
Keep asking questions :)
 
Questions to ask the vet: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/vet-interview-screening-topics-check-list.156663/

A lockable door to your room would be helpful to keep grandma from feeding unhealthy foods to the diabetic cat. But if there is no door and no way to put one in, I don't know how you would be able to monitor your diabetic cat's food intake. I'm not sure how you can talk to grandma and make her understand how diabetes happens, what is the best treatment, and what you expect her to do and not do with your cat. Could you move in with a friend or relative and have your own space? Or swap rooms with someone else in the house?

How to get Lantus for $35 (some may be US only): https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sourcing-insulin-more-economically.288053/ You want the box of pens, not the 10 ml bottle. The vet's prescription has to specify the pens.

Lantus requires U100 insulin syringes. The ideal ones to use are 3/10 cc with half unit markings. WalMart's Relion brand is what many people here use because it's not expensive. I'm not sure if you can buy them online. There are other brands of insulin syringes out there.

If you have / had FSA or HSA through your job (or something similar if you're outside the US), you can use those funds to pay for diabetic supplies. Check the specifics of the account. Keep all receipts.

General ongoing expenses are blood glucose test strips, insulin syringes, and food. If you get the Lantus pens, the box will last you at least 5 months and maybe even up to a year or more depending on the insulin dose. Vet visits for blood glucose curves are not necessary. Many people here test their cat's blood glucose levels at home with a Human diabetic meter.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.
Yes this is all very doable, it is just very overwhelming in the beginning but it does get much easier as you learn about it all.
We are always here for you so ask any questions you need to.

***I would not wait to get the insulin started if I were you. With an infected tooth and FD there is a risk of ketones forming and we don’t want that. Please ask you vet if there were any ketones at diagnosis. If there were insulin must be started straight away.

The best insulin for cats is Lantus. Don’t let the vet prescribe vetsulin. It is a cheaper insulin but is not suitable for cats.
If you are willing to home test the blood glucose, that will save you a lot of money having to go back to the vet for monitoring all the time.
If you are interested in doing this we can give you information about it, and where to buy cheap supplies.
I’m glad you are feeding a wet diet. Is it a low carb food?
It needs to be 10% or under carbs. Here is a link to a CHART. Look for the low carb foods.
Keep asking questions :)

This was my concern. The tooth-root abscess seemed so aggressive and so very present-- but I was also freaking out because the diabetes is so harmful, so quick. I am unsure if I am correct, but I do believe it was caught pretty early on (correct me if im wrong), as the clinical symptoms only really started showing 3 weeks ago with pretty large urination mounds in his litter. The biggest was 2 to 3 days ago, and it was legitimately 2x the size of my entire hand. He also had been maintaining his weight perfectly fine, but since his appointment in October, he had lost 2-3 lbs, despite eating normally.

I didn't get a chance to read any of these before his appointment because I made this post pretty close to his appointment time today, but I tried to ask good questions nonetheless. This was a different Vet than we saw last time and she seemed very reasonable (to the best of my knowledge at least). The vet removed the little bit of nectrotic skin left over where the abscess was, and he has no infection brewing there currently which was amazing news as it gives us more time to find the money for his dental procedure. I don't know how I will finish gathering it all together, but there is hope and we have plenty of time and the option of antibiotics when/if necessary before if we cannot schedule the dental surgery soon. She immediately said the main priority was diabetes regardless, which I was honestly glad to hear; this was truly my main concern in all of this. She said if I am willing, she would like to tackle that before we dive into the chunk of money the surgery requires since it is not immediate.

Zot was put on 1 unit of Glargine every 12 hours. He is to be fed every 12 hours before administering each injection, and then on the 14th day, I need to do a glucose curve and test every 1 hour starting at mealtime for 8 hours. They also wrote down the purchase for this, which they think would be helpful, which is the Alpha-Track Blood Glucose Monitor. This is everything they wrote down for me, along with printouts off of Veterinary Partner for diabetic care. Though I watched a bunch of content on YouTube from vets and read a lot on here about injecting insulin, I had them do it instead the first time so I could get a better understanding of what it looked like. Zot did really well and was pretty much entirely unbothered by everything happening. The person teaching me was someone they brought in from the staff team because he also has a diabetic cat. It had been a couple of hours since he ate, but they told me that because his last two readings were so high, this time it should be okay because they didn't believe he was going to drop low. The insulin and syringes were also free because someone donated them! The price on it usually is $90.00 from them. The syringes are U100.

Does all of this sound okay, or should I be worried about anything in regard to the treatment they have Zot on? I am very anxious and want to make sure that I do everything as well as I can. I am still waiting for the money from gofundme to transfer over into my account, but I have about $150-160 currently available right now, and I want to make sure I use it to get the most important things first. The Alpha Track they recommended to me is about $80.

I will respond to more, and probably ask more questions after I get some much-needed sleep. I've been up a very long time and am delirious at this point. I appreciate all the information and help so far! Thank you :)
 
Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them. Most of us use human meters
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you canrun into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart


Testing, the only way to keep Zot safe
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capillaries it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 10 or 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets any brand
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand not the lancing device
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up


Here is a video one of our members made, just ignore when she has to code it, that's because she is using a pet meter ,with a human meter like the Relion no coding is needed
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar


Walmart, you can get U100 insulin syringes with half unit marks for $12.58/100.
You need to go into the store to get them

Either of these 2 boxes are the ones you want (with a purple stripe). You have to go into the store , can't buy them on line
upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946





This was posted by a member and copied it for you
If you're going to Walmart, ask for Relion 3/10ml, 31 or 30 gauge insulin syringes. (Don't mention half unit marks because this tends to confuse them and they think you don't know what you want and will try to convince you that you need 1/2ml syringes---you DON'T)

ALL of the 3/10ml Relion syringes at Walmart have half unit marks. Trust me on this. You will want one of these boxes of syringes (the difference is the needle length...blue box are shorter needles than white box but both work fine). As long as the box has the purple stripe, they are the correct syringes.



Feeding only twice a day is old school. Feed the bigger meal at AMPS which means AM Pre Shot. The first test you take first thing in the AM , Same goes for the PMPS test PM Pre Shot.

You need to withhold feeding 2 hours before you test first thing in the AM and PM so the BG is not influenced by food.

Most feed smaller meals @+2 ( 2 hours after giving insulin and @+4 ( 4 hours after giving insulin )
Around 2 teaspoons of the low carb wet food.
Same goes for the PM cycle

When it comes to testing you can test @+2 , Glargine doesn't kick in until about 2 hours after giving it.
Then you can test at +4 and +6 . Vary the times each day . maybe @+3 then @+5 and +7

Most feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies , Friskies is cheaper

Read all the yellow stickys here about Glargine
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
You can definitely get 5 pens of Lantus or the generic Glargine

You can Check
CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens either Lantus or the generic Glargine , plenty of members use the generic
Just call around and see who has the cheapest price , it's really not that expensive
With the pens just keep them in the fridge middle shelf , they all have the expiration date on them .

Also
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus

If you use the Good Rx
GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822


GoodRx coupon.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menu says generic glargine 1 carton of 5 3ml pens.


Also
A membersaid she followed this prescription info exactly and it worked perfectly. Hope this helps!
Then go to the Lantus site to generate the coupon as in second image.
upload_2023-12-1_6-57-52-png.68163

upload_2023-12-1_6-59-16-png.68164


Just take the cap off the pen and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen!
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
@ThisIsAllForZot

Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Link to set up your spreadsheet
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/


How to use the spreadsheet
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/

If you need help with setting up the spreadsheet Just ask and I can ask a member to set it up for you
 
Last edited:
I have to go out and collect kids from school so will answer later but just wanted to say great insulin the vet has given you.
Don’t buy the alphatrak meter. It is too expensive to run. Diane has given you great info on testing and a good meter to buy at Walmart.
More later :)
 
Zot was put on 1 unit of Glargine every 12 hours. He is to be fed every 12 hours before administering each injection, and then on the 14th day, I need to do a glucose curve and test every 1 hour starting at mealtime for 8 hours. They also wrote down the purchase for this, which they think would be helpful, which is the Alpha-Track Blood Glucose Monitor
The insulin and dose is good.
The alphatrak meter is expensive to run because the test strips are very expensive. I would get a Walmart ReliOn premier meter which is much cheaper to run and is absolutely fine for cats. Don’t let the vets tell you otherwise.
Please get the glucose meter now and start testing. Don’t wait for two weeks. A lot can happen to the blood glucose in two weeks.

Make sure you get a hypo kit set up with some honey or Karo, some high carb food and the number of the ER in case you need it.

Please feed before every dose of insulin. So the routine is test, feed give the insulin in that order.
Please give snacks of food as well during the first half of all the cycles. A snack is a teaspoon or two of low carb foods.

Make sure the insulin syringes are U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings.
 
Okay, so after some much-needed sleep, I returned to ask and answer questions! I have not gotten around to reading everything, but I will do so after I respond to any questions I can.
So, as Zot was previously free-fed by my grandmother, I was advised to feed him twice a day, though the vet said I may give him a snack if he's struggling a lot to adjust to his new feeding schedule, which I did. I assume this change would be normal/difficult with a free-fed cat transitioning back to a scheduled diet, and if anyone has transitioned their cats the same way, I would love to know if this was difficult for your kitty too. He woke me up after a few hours, screaming at me to feed him, smacking me in my face with his cone before tossing his cone off, and the "feed-me-zoomies" set in. He was licking little bits of dried wet food off the fabric on his cone (I've tried so hard to clean it off, might just get a new cone tomorrow) and knocking every object over in the room. This behavior is typical of him, he usually gets uncontrollable zoomies when he has a need that he wants met, whether it's food or attention. So I am not surprised by this. Anyone with difficulty transitioning your pet to a scheduled diet, was there anything that helped them get over this, or is it just an adjustment period that will pass easily?

Also, just a huge anxiety question- on the car ride home, the insulin bottle was rattling an alright amount in the car and shifted quite a few times in it's box (this insulin is in a vial). I was told at the vet that it should not be shaken up. Is it still safe to administer this insulin to Zot? Is this type of accidental movement going to be okay or affect anything at all?

The healing processes are different in diabetic pets, correct? If so, is there anything I can do to streamline a healthy recovery? His wounds are currently healing very well near and at the site of where the abscess was, but I figured this would be helpful information to have.

To answer @Bron and Sheba (GA) , I swapped him to wet food and grabbed the pate that was available at the time (it was given to me), but I am going to look at the chart and pick out a more suitable or affordable one if need be. He has been eating Solid Gold Tropical Blendz Wet Cat Food - Turkey Pate in Coconut Oil, and before this, he was eating temptations branded wet food as well. As for the ketones, I am entirely unsure, the vet had only ordered the glucose test specifically due to financial strain. However, I do believe back in October he had a full bloodwork set done, and while the abscess was not present then, I could call the vet and see about getting those specific records/charts if this will be helpful information still. The vet had mentioned today that while we could technically just continue doing the glucose test, other bloodwork testing and tests in general are greatly beneficial. Additionally, I am interested in home testing and monitoring his glucose <3 I will pick up the glucose meter as soon as they open. He is supposed to get his insulin at 4AM, a couple of hours before Walmart opens. Should I wait to administer the insulin for this upcoming dose until I get a glucose meter, or should I administer the dose and then test him before his PM dose instead? Would that be okay or safe?? The vet sent me a list of close Vet ERs, and also told me to pick up some Karo and in the case of an emergency give him half a tablespoon of karo and contact one of the numbers listed immediately.

To answer @squeem3 , I have spoken to some friends, and they'd be willing to help pitch in for a door with a lock and 3 copies of keys. 1 for me, 1 as a spare for myself, and then the last one would go to a friend that could run over if Zot needed attention and there was some sort of unexpectancy that prevented me from getting home in time. Thank you for all the advice and resources :)

To answer @Diane Tyler's Mom GA , This is super helpful information, and I will be heading out first thing tomorrow (the GoFundMe money is finally transferring over!) to buy all supplies that I have been recommended here. One of the vet techs with a diabetic pet told me that the pawpads could also work for testing him, but I do have concerns about his paws potentially getting sore. Should I just stick to doing the ears for this? Also, if I do happen to hit a marginal vein by accident, is the aftermath something like bruising and swelling? Or are there even more risks with that I should be concerned about with making a mistake like this? Also, thank you for all the information. I will do my best to put all this into action. I will also work on setting up the spreadsheet :)
 
Last edited:
Anyone with difficulty transitioning your pet to a scheduled diet, was there anything that helped them get over this, or is it just an adjustment period that will pass easily?
Depends what you call a scheduled diet. If you mean twice a day we don’t recommend that here. We recommend 2 main meals before the dose and then at least 2 or 3 snacks each cycle. Your cat will be much happier and it is better for the pancreas. Only 2 meals a day is old thinking which went with old insulins.
He is supposed to get his insulin at 4AM, a couple of hours before Walmart opens. Should I wait to administer the insulin for this upcoming dose until I get a glucose meter, or should I administer the dose and then test him before his PM dose instead? Would that be okay or safe
I think it would be ok to wait, get the testing equipment and then give the dose of insulin. You will also be on a better schedule.
Also, just a huge anxiety question- on the car ride home, the insulin bottle was rattling an alright amount in the car and shifted quite a few times in it's box (this insulin is in a vial). I was told at the vet that it should not be shaken up. Is it still safe to administer this insulin to Zot? Is this type of accidental movement going to be okay or affect anything at all?
The insulin should be ok but don’t shake it any more. And keep it in the main part of the fridge in another container. Not the door.
The vet sent me a list of close Vet ERs, and also told me to pick up some Karo and in the case of an emergency give him half a tablespoon of karo and contact one of the numbers listed immediately.
If you are hometesting you should hopefully catch any drop before you need to use the karo. And 1/2 a tablespoon full is far too much. I would start with a couple of drops. If you give 1/2 tablespoon the cat will most likely vomit.
As for the ketones, I am entirely unsure, the vet had only ordered the glucose test specifically due to financial strain. However, I do believe back in October he had a full bloodwork set done, and while the abscess was not present then, I could call the vet and see about getting those specific records/charts if this will be helpful information still.
Any test for ketones back in October would be no good for now. I would buy a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy and collect a urine sample and follow the direction the bottle.
healing processes are different in diabetic pets, correct? If so, is there anything I can do to streamline a healthy recovery? His wounds are currently healing very well near and at the site of where the abscess was, but I figured this would be helpful information to have.
The best way to help healing is to get the BG under control.
 
One of the vet techs with a diabetic pet told me that the paw pads could also work for testing him, but I do have concerns about his paws potentially getting sore. Should I just stick to doing the ears for this? Also, if I do happen to hit a marginal vein by accident, is the aftermath something like bruising and swelling

I have never used the paw pads, If you should hit the vein it would most likely bleed more just keep the cotton rounds ( make-up pad removers ) on it and keep pressing gently until it stops bleeding. Other members have done that before by accident.

Next time you need more insulin try and get the 5 pens you will save money in the long run
The expiration dates on them will most likely be 2026 or 2027.
You will keep them in the fridge middle shelf. The pharmacist might tell you they are only good for 28 days that only pertains to humans, so don't worry about that.


Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs for your hypo kit

also have some honey or karo at home



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.


You can test for ketones at home

CATCHING AND TESTING URINE

I agree with Bron ,feed small snacks , feeding only twice a day is old school. We all feed small snacks , sorry but some vets aren't that experienced in feline diabetes. By the way Zot is gorgeous

Just found this posted by one of our wonderful members
  1. You may apply to Diabetic Cats In Need. We help low income caregivers with the start up costs of treatment including insulin, a test kit (if you don't already have one). If you do buy the Relion Premier from Walmart ($9...strips are $17/100), lancets (approx $2), and syringes we can reimburse you if you hold onto your receipt.

    We only support using Vetsulin if you can prove it's working well for your cat, so you'd need to get a script for Glargine (Lantus) or ProZinc.

    If you can get your vet to write you a script for Lantus, there's a Lantus Savings Card that allows you to get a box of 5 pens for $35. That's 1500 units which is enough to last most cats at least a year. The savings card doesn't work at all pharmacies so you may have to shop around.

    Getting the Lantus Savings Card:

    Lantus changed the wording on their offer to say it’s only good for a 30 day supply so it’s important to have your vet write the script in a specific way.
    It should be written: Lantus Solostar Pen, Quantity 5
    Ask your vet to write it “Lantus Solostar Pens (5 pack) - Give twice a day as directed for 30 days”
    If not already printed on the script, ask your vet to give his DEA number. This is because there is a number that only human doctors can get but the DEA number is usually accepted at the pharmacy.
    If the script says something like “give 1 unit twice a day”, that only adds up to 60 units a month...and you can’t get just 60 units of lantus

    The Lantus Savings Card is a loyalty card offered by the manufacturer of Lantus (Sanofi ) You can use it at some pharmacies to get Lantus pens or vials at a discount. You can get 5 Lantus Solostar Pens for as low as $35 a month (10 refills a year) and it’s renewable for another year of 10 refills. The pens are the better buy. A vial contains 1000 units and most cats are going to be on less than 2U twice a day and the insulin will lose efficacy before you can use it all. Nobody likes to throw away insulin! The pens each contain 300 units and a box of 5 will last most people at least a year....sometimes longer! Keep all insulin in your refrigerator on a stable shelf, not in the door (the door temperatures vary more)

    To apply go to: https://www.lantus.com/sign-up-for-savings
    Chose “I Want a Savings Card” then “Continue”
    It’s important to answer the questions correctly. Here’s how to answer them:
    • I am a patient over the age of 18 and a resident of the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam, or the US Virgin Islands NO
    • I am a caregiver/legal representative of the patient who is a resident of the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam, or the US Virgin Islands, and I am over the age of 18. YES
    • The patient currently has a prescription for Lantus. YES
    • Please select the statement that applies regarding patient's insurance coverage: Choose “No insurance plan is paying for the prescription”
    • What would the patient like to do? Choose “Enroll for a Lantus
      Savings Card”
    • Finally, please provide us with the patient’s information (you can use your cats name or your name...it shouldn’t matter but if your cat has a somewhat “human” name, I’d use it)
    • Agree to the answers and hit “Submit”.
    Since the new rules went into effect, CVS, WalGreens and Costco seem to be the most successful in using the card. More and more members are reporting successfully using these cards at various pharmacies so it’s worth a shot.

    Some pharmacies (even those listed above) will still refuse the cards so try another pharmacy

    Some retailers are asking for the Vets NPI, (a number that vets can’t get) however if your vet writes prescriptions for controlled substances, they must have a DEA number and this should be sufficient but many places will still not accept them (as well as some vets don’t want to give out their DEA number)

    GoodRx sometimes can also get the $35 price. @ThisIsAllForZot
On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up whether you need to feed low carb, med carb or high carb food
If there is a big drop on BG numbers you would need to feed and keep testing
If you are feeding any kind of dry food you will have to follow the SLGS method , you can read about the 2 dosing methods I gave you in the link for Glargine/ Lantus
 
Last edited:
I have never used the paw pads, If you should hit the vein it would most likely bleed more just keep the cotton rounds ( make-up pad removers ) on it and keep pressing gently until it stops bleeding. Other members have done that before by accident.

Next time you need more insulin try and get the 5 pens you will save money in the long run
The expiration dates on them will most likely be 2026 or 2027.
You will keep them in the fridge middle shelf. The pharmacist might tell you they are only good for 28 days that only pertains to humans, so don't worry about that.


Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs for your hypo kit

also have some honey or karo at home



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.


You can test for ketones at home

CATCHING AND TESTING URINE

I agree with Bron ,feed small snacks , feeding only twice a day is old school. We all feed small snacks , sorry but some vets aren't that experienced in feline diabetes. By the way Zot is gorgeous

Just found this posted by one of our wonderful members
  1. You may apply to Diabetic Cats In Need. We help low income caregivers with the start up costs of treatment including insulin, a test kit (if you don't already have one). If you do buy the Relion Premier from Walmart ($9...strips are $17/100), lancets (approx $2), and syringes we can reimburse you if you hold onto your receipt.

    We only support using Vetsulin if you can prove it's working well for your cat, so you'd need to get a script for Glargine (Lantus) or ProZinc.

    If you can get your vet to write you a script for Lantus, there's a Lantus Savings Card that allows you to get a box of 5 pens for $35. That's 1500 units which is enough to last most cats at least a year. The savings card doesn't work at all pharmacies so you may have to shop around.

    Getting the Lantus Savings Card:

    Lantus changed the wording on their offer to say it’s only good for a 30 day supply so it’s important to have your vet write the script in a specific way.
    It should be written: Lantus Solostar Pen, Quantity 5
    Ask your vet to write it “Lantus Solostar Pens (5 pack) - Give twice a day as directed for 30 days”
    If not already printed on the script, ask your vet to give his DEA number. This is because there is a number that only human doctors can get but the DEA number is usually accepted at the pharmacy.
    If the script says something like “give 1 unit twice a day”, that only adds up to 60 units a month...and you can’t get just 60 units of lantus

    The Lantus Savings Card is a loyalty card offered by the manufacturer of Lantus (Sanofi ) You can use it at some pharmacies to get Lantus pens or vials at a discount. You can get 5 Lantus Solostar Pens for as low as $35 a month (10 refills a year) and it’s renewable for another year of 10 refills. The pens are the better buy. A vial contains 1000 units and most cats are going to be on less than 2U twice a day and the insulin will lose efficacy before you can use it all. Nobody likes to throw away insulin! The pens each contain 300 units and a box of 5 will last most people at least a year....sometimes longer! Keep all insulin in your refrigerator on a stable shelf, not in the door (the door temperatures vary more)

    To apply go to: https://www.lantus.com/sign-up-for-savings
    Chose “I Want a Savings Card” then “Continue”
    It’s important to answer the questions correctly. Here’s how to answer them:
    • I am a patient over the age of 18 and a resident of the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam, or the US Virgin Islands NO
    • I am a caregiver/legal representative of the patient who is a resident of the United States, Puerto Rico, Guam, or the US Virgin Islands, and I am over the age of 18. YES
    • The patient currently has a prescription for Lantus. YES
    • Please select the statement that applies regarding patient's insurance coverage: Choose “No insurance plan is paying for the prescription”
    • What would the patient like to do? Choose “Enroll for a Lantus
      Savings Card”
    • Finally, please provide us with the patient’s information (you can use your cats name or your name...it shouldn’t matter but if your cat has a somewhat “human” name, I’d use it)
    • Agree to the answers and hit “Submit”.
    Since the new rules went into effect, CVS, WalGreens and Costco seem to be the most successful in using the card. More and more members are reporting successfully using these cards at various pharmacies so it’s worth a shot.

    Some pharmacies (even those listed above) will still refuse the cards so try another pharmacy

    Some retailers are asking for the Vets NPI, (a number that vets can’t get) however if your vet writes prescriptions for controlled substances, they must have a DEA number and this should be sufficient but many places will still not accept them (as well as some vets don’t want to give out their DEA number)

    GoodRx sometimes can also get the $35 price. @ThisIsAllForZot
On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up whether you need to feed low carb, med carb or high carb food
If there is a big drop on BG numbers you would need to feed and keep testing
If you are feeding any kind of dry food you will have to follow the SLGS method , you can read about the 2 dosing methods I gave you in the link for Glargine/ Lantus
This is all very helpful information. Thank you! And also, thank you for noticing Zot's beauty, haha :)

So, just to go over everything that I purchased today in case I missed anything. He has his Glargine and already has the correct syringes that were given to me by the vet that matched many above members recommendations, though they are not the relion brand, I tried to pick up some extra syringes today anyways but they were not available for ordering online because the location near me is out of stock unfortunately.
But today I got the relion glucose meter, cotton rounds (400 to be exact, may have gone overboard but wanted to stock up), 13oz vaseline, alcohol prep pads (mostly to make sure my fingers are extra clean for dealing with his blood and all that), box of 100 relion test strips, and freestyle branded 28 gauge lancets.

The urinary strips and some friskies wet food I could not get delivered today. They weren't available for immediate delivery and I'll have access to a car tomorrow and will just head to pick them up myself. Is this everything that I need for now? Also Karo is out for delivery and will be here tomorrow.

I tried to call the vet today, because I've realized that it wasn't discussed what glucose levels I need to be looking out for before giving insulin. I'm sure there's answers here for it, but figured I'd also ask to make sure. At what reading should I not administer insulin? I was told today that normal blood sugar is between 80-120, but the front desk refused to transfer me to a veterinarian to discuss this due to how busy it was, and I could not get a definitive answer on what I should be looking for in his readings and watching out for. I have diabetic friends who have been helping me with this, but there are some difference between pets and people in terms of diabetes so I want to make sure I'm getting this right as well. I do not want to harm Zot. I hope I remembered to get everything that I needed today. My mind is spinning this is all so new, and overwhelming. I'm so glad I have this forum.
 
Alright so the plan was to start him at 8AM, 8PM, but he was very difficult to get a glucose reading for, he doesn't like his ears or his paws touched at all, and the first time he swung his paws over his head and wiped the blood away causing me to not have enough blood on the strip so I had to do it on the other ear which took 2 tries. He was jerking a lot, ultimately I did manage to get a reading of 303 which I believe is kind of high.

I've seen a mixture of people administering insulin to their pets while feeding them but also 30 minutes after they've been fed. Which is better? Does it depend?

I've also seen a mixture of people drawing in before injecting the insulin to make sure there's no blood, and others who inject right away. Is there a reason for this? Should I be doing it any particular way in regard to this?
 
Little update. I called our 24/7 ER vet since nothing was open to double-check and make sure. They told me to just give him food and wait 15-20 minutes and then do it that way since it's harder to get it back up once it drops down. So I did that. I managed to mess up 3 syringes as I really struggled to get a solid grasp on the syringe, insulin vial, and plunger. I bent the first needle a little bit, the 2nd and 3rd had large air bubbles, which I felt like I did it right, so I don't know why. Gently tapping got out some, but I didn't want to risk it being problematic or more painful. By the 4th, I was shaking and nervous, but I gave him the eensiest teensiest bit of food and kept him distracted long enough that he didn't even notice what happened and was purring the whole time.

Diabetic care is not for the weak. I am so nervous about messing up, and I'm an overthinker, so I'm always like,e "What if", "What about", etc. I hope I did everything right, and I'm tempted to test his blood sugar a bit earlier than after 2 hours to make sure I did it correctly and didn't give him slightly more or less than he should have. I did get the half units, and I was probably accurate with it, but once again, it's just the overthinking thing, running on low sleep the last couple of weeks, so I'm even more anxious, etc. This has all been so exhausting and trying. I have been sleeping alright for 2 days now, and I still wake up exhausted. I'm sure he and I will fall into a routine, and it will get easier, but right now, I'm just very anxious.
 
@ThisIsAllForZot
Can you please fill out your signature so members don't have to keep asking you the same question questions .I posted the information we need about Zot , and set up your spreadsheet please.:cat:
Take a look at this thread (post) I explained how to use the spreadsheet to another member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cant-get-a-blood-sample.296050/#post-3223731

Do you need help setting up your spreadsheet?
If you do we have a member who will be happy to set it up for you , just ask
 
Last edited:
Alright so the plan was to start him at 8AM, 8PM, but he was very difficult to get a glucose reading for, he doesn't like his ears or his paws touched at all, and the first time he swung his paws over his head and wiped the blood away causing me to not have enough blood on the strip so I had to do it on the other ear which took 2 tries. He was jerking a lot, ultimately I did manage to get a reading of 303 which I believe is kind of high.

I've seen a mixture of people administering insulin to their pets while feeding them but also 30 minutes after they've been fed. Which is better? Does it depend?

I've also seen a mixture of people drawing in before injecting the insulin to make sure there's no blood, and others who inject right away. Is there a reason for this? Should I be doing it any particular way in regard to this?
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Little update. I called our 24/7 ER vet since nothing was open to double-check and make sure. They told me to just give him food and wait 15-20 minutes and then do it that way since it's harder to get it back up once it drops down. So I did that. I managed to mess up 3 syringes as I really struggled to get a solid grasp on the syringe, insulin vial, and plunger. I bent the first needle a little bit, the 2nd and 3rd had large air bubbles, which I felt like I did it right, so I don't know why. Gently tapping got out some, but I didn't want to risk it being problematic or more painful. By the 4th, I was shaking and nervous, but I gave him the eensiest teensiest bit of food and kept him distracted long enough that he didn't even notice what happened and was purring the whole time.

Diabetic care is not for the weak. I am so nervous about messing up, and I'm an overthinker, so I'm always like,e "What if", "What about", etc. I hope I did everything right, and I'm tempted to test his blood sugar a bit earlier than after 2 hours to make sure I did it correctly and didn't give him slightly more or less than he should have. I did get the half units, and I was probably accurate with it, but once again, it's just the overthinking thing, running on low sleep the last couple of weeks, so I'm even more anxious, etc. This has all been so exhausting and trying. I have been sleeping alright for 2 days now, and I still wake up exhausted. I'm sure he and I will fall into a routine, and it will get easier, but right now, I'm just very anxious.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron can you read her other posts below about Zot needing extractions and has periodontal disease
and a recent heart murmur
Thanks Bron
 
Last edited:
With Lantus it's not that important for your cat to eat first. Lantus doesn't kick in for about 2 hours so as long as your cat eats by then and you know he has a good appetite, he'll be fine. Some insulins might work better if the cat eats some food first and insulin given 30 minutes later but this doesn't apply to Lantus.

Most people find it easiest to give insulin while their cat is distracted with food.

Do you have the 10 ml bottle? It's fine for now but when you need more (probably in a month since the bottle simply doesn't last too long for cats and their tiny doses), ask the vet to prescribe the Lantus SoloStar pens. Information about the pens have already been provided in earlier posts.

Here's info on Lantus and using syringes: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

Here's what I do to draw up insulin: My cat's current dose is 1.75 units. I draw up 2 units or so of insulin because there will be an air bubble to get rid of. I hold the syringe with the needle pointing up and gently tap the syringe barrel to float the bubble towards the needle. Then I pull the plunger down a bit to make sure the air bubble is at the top of the insulin level. Then I slowly press the plunger up to force the air bubble out through the needle along with any extra insulin I don't need since my cat's dose is 1.75 units. Other members may have slight variations on how they remove those air bubbles.

You can ask the vet to give you a demo on how to draw insulin into an insulin syringe.

Some brands of insulin syringes may simply not work well so you may want to try a different brand. In my experience, the only brand I've found to work well for Lantus are BD which are pricey. Monoject had too many stubborn Lantus air bubbles but those same syringes worked well for Levemir. Others may have different experiences with various brands of insulin syringes. Use whatever brands works best for you and your cat and you can afford.

Are you warming the ear first? Offer treats whenever you test so your cat associates you messing with the ear with something yummy.
 
I've also seen a mixture of people drawing in before injecting the insulin to make sure there's no blood, and others who inject right away. Is there a reason for this? Should I be doing it any particular way in regard to this?
I have never pulled done that to see if there was any blood , I just injected right away

I assume you got the Relion syringes with half units markings ? If you don't like them I used these
You can order the U-100 syringes with half unit markings from Amazon without a doctors script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-...inges/dp/B009LTE0DO?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20


@ThisIsAllForZot
 
Last edited:
@ThisIsAllForZot
Can you please fill out your signature so members don't have to keep asking you the same question questions .I posted the information we need about Zot , and set up your spreadsheet please.:cat:
Take a look at this thread (post) I explained how to use the spreadsheet to another member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cant-get-a-blood-sample.296050/#post-3223731

Do you need help setting up your spreadsheet?
If you do we have a member who will be happy to set it up for you , just ask
Oh shoot, I completely spaced to finish it up. I added it to my signature. I followed the instructions to the best of my ability. Does this spreadsheet look correctly setup? Still adding additional information for the meter and all that right now, but wanted to make sure I'm filling it out correctly as well. Should be done entirely, soon.
 
Oh shoot, I completely spaced to finish it up. I added it to my signature. I followed the instructions to the best of my ability. Does this spreadsheet look correctly setup? Still adding additional information for the meter and all that right now, but wanted to make sure I'm filling it out correctly as well. Should be done entirely, soon.
@ThisIsAllForZot
Your spreadsheet looks good but you need to fill in the information on top of the spreadsheet where it says Diagnosed, Insulin, The method you want to follow and the meter you are using

Also
Your signature needs to be done

Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

You can read about the 2 dosing methods here , If you are feeding any dry food at all you will have to follow the SLGS Method.
Each method will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
@ThisIsAllForZot
 
Last edited:
I added on so don't know if you saw this
You can read about the 2 dosing methods here , If you are feeding any dry food at all you will have to follow the SLGS Method.
Each method will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed.
When you decide please add it to your signature and spreadsheet up top
@ThisIsAllForZot
 
@ThisIsAllForZot
Your spreadsheet looks good but you need to fill in the information on top of the spreadsheet where it says Diagnosed, Insulin, The method you want to follow and the meter you are using

Also
Your signature needs to be done

Here is the information we need for your signature
Just click on your name up top and then tap signature and add this information. It's at the end of everyone's post in gray letters
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Bexacat or Senvelgo (if applicable) and dates
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

You can read about the 2 dosing methods here , If you are feeding any dry food at all you will have to follow the SLGS Method.
Each method will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
@ThisIsAllForZot

Okay, I think I got it all. Would it be worth adding his dental issue in the signature because it could cause ketone issues, or is that somewhat irrelevant or his recent heart murmur, I don't know if that effects anything at all? Yes, I read through the SLGS/TR information. I am a little confused, I feel as though ideally I'd like to do TR, however the vet has me doing things more similar to SLGS, am I able to change it in the future when Zot and I are more comfortably in a routine and after speaking to my Vet about my intentions for Zot's care and needs?
 
Okay, I think I got it all. Would it be worth adding his dental issue in the signature because it could cause ketone issues, or is that somewhat irrelevant or his recent heart murmur, I don't know if that effects anything at all? Yes, I read through the SLGS/TR information. I am a little confused, I feel as though ideally I'd like to do TR, however the vet has me doing things more similar to SLGS, am I able to change it in the future when Zot and I are more comfortably in a routine and after speaking to my Vet about my intentions for Zot's care and needs?
I would add the dental issues and recent heart murmur . Did Zot have dental surgery already any extractions and a cleaning or does he need one . Yes you can switch to TR any time you want to
@ThisIsAllForZot
 
With Lantus it's not that important for your cat to eat first. Lantus doesn't kick in for about 2 hours so as long as your cat eats by then and you know he has a good appetite, he'll be fine. Some insulins might work better if the cat eats some food first and insulin given 30 minutes later but this doesn't apply to Lantus.

Most people find it easiest to give insulin while their cat is distracted with food.

Do you have the 10 ml bottle? It's fine for now but when you need more (probably in a month since the bottle simply doesn't last too long for cats and their tiny doses), ask the vet to prescribe the Lantus SoloStar pens. Information about the pens have already been provided in earlier posts.

Here's info on Lantus and using syringes: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

Here's what I do to draw up insulin: My cat's current dose is 1.75 units. I draw up 2 units or so of insulin because there will be an air bubble to get rid of. I hold the syringe with the needle pointing up and gently tap the syringe barrel to float the bubble towards the needle. Then I pull the plunger down a bit to make sure the air bubble is at the top of the insulin level. Then I slowly press the plunger up to force the air bubble out through the needle along with any extra insulin I don't need since my cat's dose is 1.75 units. Other members may have slight variations on how they remove those air bubbles.

You can ask the vet to give you a demo on how to draw insulin into an insulin syringe.

Some brands of insulin syringes may simply not work well so you may want to try a different brand. In my experience, the only brand I've found to work well for Lantus are BD which are pricey. Monoject had too many stubborn Lantus air bubbles but those same syringes worked well for Levemir. Others may have different experiences with various brands of insulin syringes. Use whatever brands works best for you and your cat and you can afford.

Are you warming the ear first? Offer treats whenever you test so your cat associates you messing with the ear with something yummy.

We do have the 10ml bottle. I will focus on getting the pens next :)

Thank you for the link and your process with insulin drawing. It may be, because I did not pull the plunger down to make sure it was completely at the top. I will try this at his next dose and finish reading through the link you sent me. I will also speak to the vet next time I am in (which I believe will be far sooner than expected, as Zot has not pooped in 2 days, and last time he did it was pretty dark... scheduling today) Right now I am using the syringes that were donated to the vet and in turn, to me. I am using UltiMed/UltiCare syringes.

Yes, I am also warming the ear and trying to make it a as fun of a routine for him as possible.
 
Last edited:
I would add the dental issues and recent heart murmur . Did Zot have dental surgery already any extractions and a cleaning or does he need one . Yes you can switch to TR any time you want to
@ThisIsAllForZot

Zot requires tooth extraction, and we've been attempting to raise it. It's very expensive, and its starting price is $1200, but there is no current infection (as of 2 days ago). He doesn't perform well under sedation, so I don't know how he will do during it. We are unsure how many teeth will need to be removed but there as we haven't had x-rays yet, but there is definitely one suspicious tooth. If there is anything left over, he will be getting a dental cleaning. His teeth are not great in general, and he has periodontal disease, so he will be needing them pretty regularly. I will add to the signature.

I am contacting my vet to schedule today as well for an additional issue. I don't know if it could be related to being on new medication like insulin, or if it's something else entirely, but he's not pooping very normally, it's been about 2 days since he did, and when he did it was pretty dark which makes me concerned for some sort of blood in it. He's been having it rough lately, every issue is popping up at the same time :(
 
Zot requires tooth extraction, and we've been attempting to raise it. It's very expensive, and its starting price is $1200, but there is no current infection (as of 2 days ago). He doesn't perform well under sedation, so I don't know how he will do during it. We are unsure how many teeth will need to be removed but there as we haven't had x-rays yet, but there is definitely one suspicious tooth. If there is anything left over, he will be getting a dental cleaning. His teeth are not great in general, and he has periodontal disease, so he will be needing them pretty regularly. I will add to the signature.

I am contacting my vet to schedule today as well for an additional issue. I don't know if it could be related to being on new medication like insulin, or if it's something else entirely, but he's not pooping very normally, it's been about 2 days since he did, and when he did it was pretty dark which makes me concerned for some sort of blood in it. He's been having it rough lately, every issue is popping up at the same time :(
I'm sorry you and Zot are having so many problems poor baby
Yes add both to your signature that extractions needed and has periodontal disease and recent heart murmur
 
I'm sorry you and Zot are having so many problems
Yes add both to your signature that extractions needed and has periodontal disease and recent heart murmur

Added both of those to my signature.
I just hope we can get everything done for him in a timely manner. Consistent supply costs from his diabetes are so much lower than I thought they'd be, thanks to this message board! Definitely trying to contact funding resources for his dental and other needs before the abscess returns. In regard to the kitty pooping problem, sincerely hoping at the absolute most it's super easy to fix, constipation. His mood and behaviors are still the same, so if there is something else serious going on, he's either really good at hiding it, or he's an absolute tank.
 
a lot of us use Miralax , get the generic it's cheaper and it's the same thing
Such as clearlax or any other brand
(polyethylene glycol 3350)
You can start off with an 1/8 of a teaspoon everyday mixed in with the wet food and add water
to it, it's tasteless. See how that dose works for a couple of days, you might have to increase it to twice a day.
@ThisIsAllForZot
 
a lot of us use Miralax , get the generic it's cheaper and it's the same thing
Such as clearlax or any other brand
(polyethylene glycol 3350)
You can start off with an 1/8 of a teaspoon everyday mixed in with the wet food and add water
to it, it's tasteless. See how that dose works for a couple of days, you might have to increase it to twice a day.
@ThisIsAllForZot

Thank you so much. Will also pick some up at the pharmacy or store when I head out today to get ketostix and more wet food. I did call the vet up real quick, and they said that he has been in so frequently in the last 2 weeks that it could be stress, but since he his not actively trying to go, and then failing to give it another 24-48 hours before scheduling an appointment. They also said it could also, of course, be due to him being on a new diet and going from free-fed to a little bit less overall feed time. He's still been drinking normally and urinating normally, too, so this is good.

Zot doesn't react amazingly well to stress. Obviously, the combination of stress and his diabetes caused him to reach over a 500 reading at the vet in October. This is what I was told there, at least. Diabetic and stressed, and he is very good at hiding emotional stress in specific. So I wouldn't be surprised if stress was the cause of this. Still hoping for the best.
 
The UltiCare syringes are fine but you don't necessarily need the veterinary specific ones. There's only 60 syringes in a box vs 100 for a Human insulin syringe brand. My vet (well the office) sold me a box of UltiCare vet syringes for $58 and those exact same syringes are like $15 online :eek::eek: I made full use of $58 box minus the plastic bags the syringes were in - the syringes were for Leroy and my rats got the box to play in. Shop around to see what other brands cost. Relion from WalMart is popular. If WalMart isn't an option for you (not sure if they can be bought on the Walmart web site), check Amazon and diabetic supply sites. I buy from AmericanDiabetesWarehouse.com

This is old but you can see if any of these organizations can help you out: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/financial-help-links.131190/
 
Just remember we don't feed only twice a day .
Better to feed small meals like 2 teaspoons of the wet food maybe around +3 and +4 ,same goes for the night cycle
@ThisIsAllForZot
Yes, I've been feeding the 2 teaspoons since I was told this yesterday! Especially since he's already struggling to adjust to not just being able to eat when he's bored or just because it's there. He is still very upset with me that his food isn't out all the time and sits by it waiting no matter the time of day or last time he was fed.

Ah right, also the BG readings, he still hates them. I've tried warming up the ear, massaging it, and I've even tried offering small treats as a distraction but if I'm messing with his ear, he only cares about that. I also am having trouble consistently getting blood which I see is fairly normal in some cases for new diabetics. I shined a flashlight through his ear, and I saw nothing but the marginal vein. I don't know if this is normal and it's just going to take time before I start seeing any, but the only capillaries I see are in the middle of his ear, which seems very difficult to even attempt to do and potentially more painful (?)

I feel bad, and I want to make this as positive an experience as I can for him, but the last couple of times I've had to resort to wrapping him in a blanket to keep him from jerking all over the place. He already has jerked twice without a wrap around him and I couldn't react fast enough, so the lancet cut more than poked. :(
 
Some feed 3 times a day besides the first feeding in the morning, we try not to feed after +6 only because the duration of the insulin might start to wear off .
If he starts to drop really lower of course you will feed some food.
Just keep offering him the low carb treats before testing, maybe a couple like 3 so you might have time to check his BG.

You won't see the capillaries , just keep trying to poke the edge of the ears .

Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up
 
Some feed 3 times a day besides the first feeding in the morning, we try not to feed after +6 only because the duration of the insulin might start to wear off .
If he starts to drop really lower of course you will feed some food.
Just keep offering him the low carb treats before testing, maybe a couple like 3 so you might have time to check his BG.

You won't see the capillaries , just keep trying to poke the edge of the ears .

Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with

Try putting a thin layer of Vaseline on the ear so the blood will bead up

Will do. I'm trying to associate pokey time with treats and extra attention.
I put the vasline on the ear, which has helped a lot when he does give some blood.
Just took some of his blood before I gave him insulin, and he jerked again so only a little bit of blood came out, but not enough for a reading.
I moved to the other ear instead, and I guess his skin is much thinner on that side in that same area because I used the same pressure as on the other ear, and I'm pretty sure I poked through the ear on accident :( Lots of blood for a reading but he really didn't like that one and I don't blame him.

The insulin injections are so simple and easy to give that he doesn't care about them at all. A huge part of that is probably that the needle is so teeny tiny in combination with the fact that he'll actually take treats as a distraction because he doesn't much care what I'm doing as long as I'm not messing with his ears, hind legs or paws. I hope it can become the same for monitoring his blood sugar.
 
Stephanie you are doing amazingly well! Great you have the SS and signature set up and have got yourself really well organised.
It is stressful in the beginning. Overwhelming is the most used word for newcomers, so you are not on your own.
But it will soon become routine…I promise!

Are you giving a little snack of food when you test the BG. If it is low carb and not too big, that is fine, and will hopefully distract Zot.

I see you gave the am shot with a preshot of 201.
Can you make sure you get another test sometime during this cycle to see how low the dose is taking Zot please. He has responded well to the first dose and as the depot fills the effect will be felt more.
Try and get a test on every cycle around the +4 to the +7 mark when the effect will be strongest.

For the time being while you are collecting data, I would not give the dose if the Preshot BG is below 200. What you can do is stall, don’t feed the meal, and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
And post and ask for help.
 
Maybe try a different position or set up to test? I kneel on the floor with my cat tucked between my knees. For those who can't kneel, try putting the cat on the sofa / chair / counter / bed and hold the cat close to your body facing away from you.

Cats do learn to hold still for a quick mess of the ears as long as they get a yummy treat afterwards. Make sure to give only low carb treats. Freeze dried meat treats are best since they're 100% meat. PureBites is one brand but there are many others. Plain cooked chicken is good, too. Get rid of any treats your Grandma might have stashed and replace them with low carb treats. Tell Grandma to only feed the low carb treats because they're healthier. Maybe compare low carb treats to fresh fruit and veggies (she must know those are healthy right?) and the other treats to highly processed junk (think of something like fast food)

You're not aiming for a blood vessel or capillary, just the little space between the edge of the ear and the vein that runs along it. There's a picture posted earlier in this thread. If you hit the vein, no big deal. Get the blood onto the test strip and hold a tissue over the ear to stop the gusher.
 
@Dyana @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Today was hectic, and he was extra upset with the pokes; he just was not giving blood on top of it. Went to the store and picked up wet-food, ketostix and the lax for his pooping problem.
I spent most of today struggling to get blood from him, so unfortunately, I wasn't able to get any solid readings and the device kept erroring er4, which I believe means that there was not enough blood for a reading.
I did give him breaks of course, but I think I may have found a groove with him an hour or so ago, I've been holding him in my lap all day and offering small low carb treats when I did attempt, and finally he let me draw blood with barely any issue, but way later than I would have liked. I was also a little concerned seeing how quickly his blood His sugar was dropping on the insulin with only 1 unit and a couple of days into his treatment. So, ideally, I wanted to keep an eye on it today to make sure he wasn't going too low since it seems to be very effective for him, but he was just so, so difficult until about an hour ago. I did keep an eye out for any startling symptoms and behaviors, but I didn't notice anything unusual about him.

With his chart, this would have technically be a pre-shot, but since I have no administered insulin, should I still put it in the AMPS section? For now, I have it in +11, but I want to make sure I put this where it belongs.

His blood sugar read 157, and I will test again, and hopefully, it will go as well as it did this last time. I am taking the advice and skipping/stalling his dose if he is below 200 for now. Because this post is getting long, and I think I read on someone else's post that we try to keep it under 50 replies for ease of access for helpers.

Also, I will look into freeze-dried treats, and trust me @squeem3 , I have thrown out all the junk food treats and have been taking them out of grocery bags as she has been getting them. I will replace them with the other treats and attempt to have another conversation. Thankfully, so far she has been more cooperative than she led me to believe she would be. Of course, she still disagrees with my choice in treating his diabetes, but she has not touched his food or gone into his room more than just to say hi to him. This being said, I still do not trust her, and he will be moved into my room where he can have safe and even better well-monitored care. Just need to set some things up and head out to Home Depot for a new door. I think her being in with me for his most recent vet visit helped a lot as the vet described some major symptoms or issues with his sugars dropping too low or going too high, and I believe the one that scared her was the seizures. I do not see her messing with him in the future, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.
 
@ThisIsAllForZot
Good morning, well I'm glad you found your groove and Zot finally let you test him without an issue. Well done. You can leave the BG in the +11 cell. Was the 157 BG this morning? If so you can put that in the AMPS cell and then after not feeding and stalling and you test again in 20 minutes from that you can put that under the 157 in the same cell , whatever the BG is you can put that number 20 min and if you have to color code it manually if needed.

Yes I think you should start a new thread (post)
What you can do is start a new one and for the title put
Introduction Need Advice Continued Stephanie & Zot

You will then want to link your previous post to the new one , which is this one

To link the previous post

To link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post new thread





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it, only way I can explain it :cat:









austin-logo-240.jpg
 
Back
Top