? Lily- shooting advice please- AMPS 151 +2 232, +4 205, PMPS 151, PMPS +30mins 148, +1 59, +2 65, +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lily-Fish

Member Since 2016
hi all,

Lily's AMPS is 151, a number I'm not comfortable with shooting. Shall I wait to feed, retest in 30 mins and see if she brings herself up a bit?
 
if she's still around 150 or higher, I'd go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose of .25

Get a +1 and +2 to keep an eye on her in case you need to intervene with some food to keep her from dropping too much (usually, we expect a "food spike" in those first 2 hours, but if she's dropping instead, you should go ahead and feed a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food)
 
if she's still around 150 or higher, I'd go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose of .25

Get a +1 and +2 to keep an eye on her in case you need to intervene with some food to keep her from dropping too much (usually, we expect a "food spike" in those first 2 hours, but if she's dropping instead, you should go ahead and feed a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food)
That sounds good. I have to keep reminding myself that if this is the right dose for her, her +1,2,3 should be roughly the same if not only slightly lower than the amps. I get scared because of the huge drops previously encountered.
 
I can't stay to watch you tonight, but hopefully some of our UK, Spain and Australian folks will be around. If you get worried, put that 911 prefix up in your subject line to get some eyes on you as soon as possible

Good luck!! Shooting these lower preshots is the key to making progress.... but boy are they hard on us beans!
 
Hey!

Thanks for the advice. She went up to 238 on her own this morning (wonky strip in the first instance?) so I gave the 0.25.
 
Lily's PMPS is the same as her amps and a low (for her) 151. Stalling again, but if this keeps happening do you think it'd be safe to shoot the 151?
 
Good Job, that was a good move.

Sorry no one responded earlier. That +1 being a little lower, ie no food spike, might indicate she might drop, I would get a +2 you might find that she heads to the Lagoon(green numbers):D
which is good, it's where ultimately we want to see her, just need to make sure she surfs :)
Remember shooting a lower number usually results in a flatter cycle, a nice flat green cycle is the objective.
You just have to be ready to intervene should she decide to drop too quick.
 
Good Job, that was a good move.

Sorry no one responded earlier. That +1 being a little lower, ie no food spike, might indicate she might drop, I would get a +2 you might find that she heads to the Lagoon(green numbers):D
which is good, it's where ultimately we want to see her, just need to make sure she surfs :)
Remember shooting a lower number usually results in a flatter cycle, a nice flat green cycle is the objective.
You just have to be ready to intervene should she decide to drop too quick.

This is so odd. Suddenly she is at 59! Bit worrying
 
I am a little confused then
you have recorded the 59 as your +2 on your ss.
did you shoot the 150 or the 142?

I'm thinking that you got the 150 stalled and got the 142 then shot.
If thats the case the 150 becomes your +12 of the morning cycle and the 142 the amps.

Is that what happened?
 
I am a little confused then
you have recorded the 59 as your +2 on your ss.
did you shoot the 150 or the 142?

I'm thinking that you got the 150 stalled and got the 142 then shot.
If thats the case the 150 becomes your +12 of the morning cycle and the 142 the amps.

Is that what happened?
Yeah...I'm still getting the hang of the spreadsheet filling in....Sorry.
 
No problem, it's a little harder with the world ss.
You need to put the 142 in the pmps slot then, then put in the comments am cycle +12 150 stalled for XXminutes.
I would usually just stack the numbers in the amps slot

ie I would write +12 150/stalling
amps 142 @ +12.5 (if I shot 1/2 hour late)
then your +1 would be 1 hour from the amps(the actual time you shot)
Its harder with the world ss since it screws with the conversion, not sure how you get around that.

Ok so how long is it since you shot then?
 
No problem, it's a little harder with the world ss.
You need to put the 142 in the pmps slot then, then put in the comments am cycle +12 150 stalled for XXminutes.
I would usually just stack the numbers in the amps slot

ie I would write +12 150/stalling
amps 142 @ +12.5 (if I shot 1/2 hour late)
then your +1 would be 1 hour from the amps(the actual time you shot)
Its harder with the world ss since it screws with the conversion, not sure how you get around that.

Ok so how long is it since you shot then?
Exactly 2 hrs since I shot, we are at 65 now. I am still wary. She doesn't nadir until +5. I finally got her off of dry food yesterday and since then her numbers have just been going down! No idea what to do really. She is just dropping and dropping. Can't do any less than 0.25...My eyes are just not that good.
 
I would give her a little snack of LC to MC somewhere between say 8% and 15 % just a teaspoon and check in 30 min @+2.5
 
You will need to monitor for a while, have you got plenty of supplies?

Sorry to be a pain about the SS the 150 shouldn't go in the +11 where you have no put it, pop it in the comments section for now as a +12 and indicate you stalled for XX minutes, so that anyone coming on can see by looking at your ss what has transpired, otherwise it may lead to confusion.

I can't remember now Becca, have you found that Lily is quite carb sensitive?
 
You will need to monitor for a while, have you got plenty of supplies?

Sorry to be a pain about the SS the 150 shouldn't go in the +11 where you have no put it, pop it in the comments section for now as a +12 and indicate you stalled for XX minutes, so that anyone coming on can see by looking at your ss what has transpired, otherwise it may lead to confusion.

I can't remember now Becca, have you found that Lily is quite carb sensitive?
Lily's numbers literally came down into a normal range as soon as she came off of the royal canin diabetic kibble. She seems reasonably carb sensitive, yes. I think this low may be because I fed two tins med carb today instead of three
I have enough strips for now, yes...I am worried about another bounce. I know it is really good to have the cat in the green but I worry she dropped too fast....she dropped by 80 points
 
Last edited:
so far we have
150+12
stalled
142 amps fed MC
+1 59 fed what? more MC?
+2 65 fed what?more MC?

If she is dropping by +2.5 you may want to try some higher carb than your MC if that hasn't been making her numbers come up, as you have already noted it's early in her cycle, just a small amount might help her surf.

How long is it now since she has had the kibble?
Did she have less because she wasn't hungry? She free feeds doesn't she? or have you gone to a more regulated schedule?
 
She has not had kibble since the evening of friday 11th. She had 1x tin MC (14%) with her AM shot, then 1X tray tuna pate (2%) around lunchtime, Another few spoons of MC just before 1700 (+10) and the rest of it with her shot at +12.5. She then had half tray LC at +1.5 and at +2 1 tbsp MC. She does free feed, but I have no timed feeder atm so have just been doing it by hand. Dread to think what I will do tomorrow when I am at uni all day.
 
I know it is really good to have the cat in the green but I worry she dropped too fast....she dropped by 80 points
You did what you could to try to mitigate that you fed MC at amps, and spotted that there could be a problem so were able to jump in at +1 with more food.

It hasn't been that long since you stopped the kibble that may still be causing things to be topsy turvy.

She may well bounce from the fast drop, but don't worry too much about that, we all hate to see our kitties in those higher numbers, but it is part of the process, often when our kitties spend longer in better numbers they start to bounce less.

Dread to think what I will do tomorrow when I am at uni all day.
Cross that bridge when you come to it. She may be bouncing, but if she is not you can always give her some HC in the morning and leave more of it out for her.
 
OK thanks for clarifying, don't wait an hour for next test. You need to keep testing every 15 to 20 minutes until we see her back in normal numbers.
Keep feeding the HC/honey every time you test until she comes up into the 60 range, small amounts if the high carb you use has gravy you can use a couple of teaspoons of that rather than filling her up on too much solids.
How is she in herself?
 
She seems perfectly fine. She is asymptomatic, which is really odd!
(apart from inhaling that high carb!). She is still playing, chasing bugs up the wall etc. Very alert kitty and is responding well to me. she has been rolling on her back looking cute...
 
You can't get too confident with their Nadirs, they do move them around:eek:

I know you need to get some sleep so you can get to uni tomorrow, but I would probably set the alarm and test her two hours from when she last had high carb just to make sure that she is maintaining her levels herself, the HC can wear off and they can drop again, with her coming off the kibble so recently she could get up to shenanigans.
 
You can't get too confident with their Nadirs, they do move them around:eek:

I know you need to get some sleep so you can get to uni tomorrow, but I would probably set the alarm and test her two hours from when she last had high carb just to make sure that she is maintaining her levels herself, the HC can wear off and they can drop again, with her coming off the kibble so recently she could get up to shenanigans.
Thanks, I shall do that. She is a mischievous little one. She always does this when I have somewhere to be. Maybe she wants me to stay with her and she knows if she drops her sugars she will get her wish!
 
Thanks, I shall do that. She is a mischievous little one. She always does this when I have somewhere to be. Maybe she wants me to stay with her and she knows if she drops her sugars she will get her wish!
It's in the How to Ruin the Beans Plans chapter in the FD manual that they all get on diagnosis;)

I think I remember reading somewhere it could take a couple of weeks for the delayed effects of the kibble to wear off, but I might just be imagining things, so she may throw wonky numbers for a while.

I'm up for a little longer possibly till just gone your midnight (1 am here)
 
Well, at least for the most part, I have managed to keep her in the nice greens.
You have done a good job of keeping her in the nice greens. The one thing I would suggest is when you get a large drop like you did at +1 is maybe to think about moderate carb just there and then and also when early in the cycle and they are in the 50's I would test in 30min intervals, you might have been able to catch that drop earlier.
 
@Gill & George Thank you for steering me through this tonight! I would go mad if I didn't have this board! I know what to do all evening/and morning as it may be now...
You are welcome, I have had my hand held by others, so happy that I can help someone else.
Lily is looking good tonight, even if it is a bit nerve wracking from the ss it looks like she has had quite in long run below the renal threshold today:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top