That sounds good. I have to keep reminding myself that if this is the right dose for her, her +1,2,3 should be roughly the same if not only slightly lower than the amps. I get scared because of the huge drops previously encountered.if she's still around 150 or higher, I'd go ahead and shoot the scheduled dose of .25
Get a +1 and +2 to keep an eye on her in case you need to intervene with some food to keep her from dropping too much (usually, we expect a "food spike" in those first 2 hours, but if she's dropping instead, you should go ahead and feed a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food)
I did. I based my decision on this morning and will monitor closelyHi there did you shoot?
Good Job, that was a good move.
Sorry no one responded earlier. That +1 being a little lower, ie no food spike, might indicate she might drop, I would get a +2 you might find that she heads to the Lagoon(green numbers)
which is good, it's where ultimately we want to see her, just need to make sure she surfs
Remember shooting a lower number usually results in a flatter cycle, a nice flat green cycle is the objective.
You just have to be ready to intervene should she decide to drop too quick.
Have you given her some food? I would test @+2.5This is so odd. Suddenly she is at 59! Bit worrying
I have given food, I will test again in ten minutes. That will be about +2 ish. I stalled because of the low BG. I gave food about 30 mins ago...despite feeding her MC with her shot as usual.Have you given her some food? I would test @+2.5
Yeah...I'm still getting the hang of the spreadsheet filling in....Sorry.I am a little confused then
you have recorded the 59 as your +2 on your ss.
did you shoot the 150 or the 142?
I'm thinking that you got the 150 stalled and got the 142 then shot.
If thats the case the 150 becomes your +12 of the morning cycle and the 142 the amps.
Is that what happened?
Exactly 2 hrs since I shot, we are at 65 now. I am still wary. She doesn't nadir until +5. I finally got her off of dry food yesterday and since then her numbers have just been going down! No idea what to do really. She is just dropping and dropping. Can't do any less than 0.25...My eyes are just not that good.No problem, it's a little harder with the world ss.
You need to put the 142 in the pmps slot then, then put in the comments am cycle +12 150 stalled for XXminutes.
I would usually just stack the numbers in the amps slot
ie I would write +12 150/stalling
amps 142 @ +12.5 (if I shot 1/2 hour late)
then your +1 would be 1 hour from the amps(the actual time you shot)
Its harder with the world ss since it screws with the conversion, not sure how you get around that.
Ok so how long is it since you shot then?
Lily's numbers literally came down into a normal range as soon as she came off of the royal canin diabetic kibble. She seems reasonably carb sensitive, yes. I think this low may be because I fed two tins med carb today instead of threeYou will need to monitor for a while, have you got plenty of supplies?
Sorry to be a pain about the SS the 150 shouldn't go in the +11 where you have no put it, pop it in the comments section for now as a +12 and indicate you stalled for XX minutes, so that anyone coming on can see by looking at your ss what has transpired, otherwise it may lead to confusion.
I can't remember now Becca, have you found that Lily is quite carb sensitive?
You did what you could to try to mitigate that you fed MC at amps, and spotted that there could be a problem so were able to jump in at +1 with more food.I know it is really good to have the cat in the green but I worry she dropped too fast....she dropped by 80 points
Cross that bridge when you come to it. She may be bouncing, but if she is not you can always give her some HC in the morning and leave more of it out for her.Dread to think what I will do tomorrow when I am at uni all day.
a bit more food and test in 15 20 min see if we can get her to get over 60, but good to see her up from the 40's.Back to 59...Really strange
Thanks, I shall do that. She is a mischievous little one. She always does this when I have somewhere to be. Maybe she wants me to stay with her and she knows if she drops her sugars she will get her wish!You can't get too confident with their Nadirs, they do move them around
I know you need to get some sleep so you can get to uni tomorrow, but I would probably set the alarm and test her two hours from when she last had high carb just to make sure that she is maintaining her levels herself, the HC can wear off and they can drop again, with her coming off the kibble so recently she could get up to shenanigans.
It's in the How to Ruin the Beans Plans chapter in the FD manual that they all get on diagnosisThanks, I shall do that. She is a mischievous little one. She always does this when I have somewhere to be. Maybe she wants me to stay with her and she knows if she drops her sugars she will get her wish!
You have done a good job of keeping her in the nice greens. The one thing I would suggest is when you get a large drop like you did at +1 is maybe to think about moderate carb just there and then and also when early in the cycle and they are in the 50's I would test in 30min intervals, you might have been able to catch that drop earlier.Well, at least for the most part, I have managed to keep her in the nice greens.
You are welcome, I have had my hand held by others, so happy that I can help someone else.@Gill & George Thank you for steering me through this tonight! I would go mad if I didn't have this board! I know what to do all evening/and morning as it may be now...