Mikec
Member
Hi everyone, my name is Mike my cat Mickey (4yo) was diagnosed 2-2-2018 bg was upper 500s. My vet put him on vetsulin and recommended I give him 2 units once a day. Mickey had been eating 2 cans of fancy feast a day plus dry food, vet suggested I take away dry food and told me to try dm wet. After a week I returned to the vet he tested him again bg was again upper 500s. He suggested 3 units once a day. At this point I started looking around for more info but still continued with the vets recommdation of 3 units once daily. I read about home testing so ordered an alpha trak which arrived on 2-15. I contacted the vet after first home test on 2-15 he said to increase dose from 3units once a day to 2 units twice a day. I began home testing as often as possible and reporting the bg#s to my vet who in turn. Are suggestions about dosing. Having found this board and reading some of the vetsulin dosing threads I quickly began to lose faith in my vets advice. It seems like he had me increasing the dose too quickly. I started a spreadsheet this morning. It began 2-15 the first day I got my alpha trak. One thing to note the increase from 3 units twice daily to 3.5 units was my decision as my vet suggested to go from 3 units twice daily to 4 units twice daily. This morning mickeys bg was only 104 so I skipped his dose. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I have no faith in my vet at this point. Thanks, mike
Mickeys spreadsheet
Mickeys spreadsheet