Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Started on Prozinc today, first shot morning 7h ago.
    19.4mmol before
    2.7 now.
    She's eating acting normal. Gave a bit of honey.
    No insulin tonight according to my vet. And only half dose tomorrow.
    She got 1,2 and is about 5,5-6 kilo.
    What to dooooo?
    I'm about to make in my pants.......
     
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Oh my!

    Good job on the honey. Test again in 20-30mins to see if it brought her up.

    You got this!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  3. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    And if it has and hasn't? Then what?
    How much honey? Now she's just sleeping. Why does she seem so okay, on such a low number?
     
  4. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Just a little-- a few drops. Too much honey can make them throw up, which we definitely don't want. If you have any high-carb food, a tsp (5-10g?) or so of that is another option.

    If she's still low, then we just repeat-- a little more honey or gravy, then test again in 30.

    Not all cats show symptoms at these numbers, and sometimes a cat will show different symptoms at different times at the same low numbers. And cats can go very quickly from no symptoms to severe symptoms-- this is why we test, so that we know where they are, and what we have to do!
     
  5. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    If she throws up I have drugs for that too. Very prepared. Her blood came rushing out, got literally everywhere

    Makes me even more worried that she's not showing symptoms of being too low
     
  6. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Don't worry, you are in control of the situation!

    Let's wait and see where she is on the next test.
     
  7. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
  8. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Are we in the clear? Can I leave for an hour? Not that I want to. The level is fine now, right? No 911?
     
  9. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    No 911, and no more snacks, but don't leave her for too long. We want to make sure she stays up, so you should get another test soon-- ideally in 30mins.

    Luckily, it is getting late in the cycle, so she should be coming up on her own soon. That helps!
     
  10. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    No more snacks? Mauer does definitely not like you now!:D
    I'll test her before I go. I'll just be in the basement to eat dinner.

    It feels like I got lucky. Thank you very very much for your help, and support!:bighug:
     
  11. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Holy cow! Thanks Nan! whew.
     
  12. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Almost made one. In my pants.
     
  13. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yeah I BET! Youre doing FANTASTIC. ;)
     
  14. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Thanks!:bighug:
    Oh dear. Well now we've tried that. Never again. Tomorrow we go 0,1 per kilo, instead of 0,2. And no shot tonight.
    Wrote to my vet on Facebook, and thank God she was online!
     
  15. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I've always said, we need a "Thumbs Up" emoji. ;)
     
    SashaV likes this.
  16. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Heck yeah! And a "love" one!
     
  17. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    6.6
    I must have hit something in her ear. Bleeds a lot. But on the bright side I don't have to poke her :banghead:
     
  18. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    AHHHH you must have hit the vein. Get a tissue and hold the site with some pressure. It will help the blood to clot.
     
    Deb & Wink and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  19. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    One time it took 2.5 hours to stop the blood - tiny little pin prick can open the flood gates. The walls looked like a scene from CSI. It didn't phase Freckles except the blood droplets tickled her ear as she was flicking the ear and shaking her head occasionally - and usually just as soon as it clotted then she would shake and we'd start all over again. :banghead:
     
  20. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    It is clotting but instead of poking again I take the clot of to take her BG
    I want a human sensor so I don't need to poke
    It's really the only thing about all this that bugs me
     
  21. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Seriously? Omg!!!
     
  22. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Testing IS daunting but believe me EVERYONE says that. I did and the next new person, will as well. Trouble absolutely hated testing but we did it anyway. Its the BEST way to see exactly how the insulin is working on their little bodies. I know you feel like you are hurting your best friend but in the long run, I think they sense this has to be done.

    Your best friend at test time is treats. Our very smart kitties learn that a poke means treats. Some members kitties jump right up to their testing spot when its time for a poke.
    Trouble never did that and I'm not saying Mauer will, but it could happen.

    I understand you wanting the sensor type monitor but, it sounds like everything associated with that system is expensive. I suppose if I had all kinds of money, I might go that route myself. But after a while expenses add up. Just sayin.

    jeanne
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  23. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    You are so right, Jeanne!
    It's not even possible just a little dream. As long my expenses don't exceed 3300$ in a year it's not a big deal. Insurance for the win!
    But you're right. It feels horrible and I know she understands and she hates it as much as I do. But how cool wouldn't it be if some smart-thingy did it for us and put the readings in a spreadsheet!? Everyone thinks the worst part is the shots...but it's the easiest part..
     
  24. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    It's called a CGM or a Continuous Glucose Monitor. Freestyle Libre is one type. Unfortunately, it only lasts for a maximum of 2 weeks.

    Don't know if it enters the data on our SS. Don't think so. You have to do that data entry step manually.

    p.s. That 2.7 BG reading was an automatic dose reduction, per our Prozinc protocols used here. Down by 0.25U immediately.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  25. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    No it doesn't transfer the data to our SS. All manual entries. I found the Libre to be not very accurate for high numbers - it was better for lower numbers. What I found useful though was it showed if Freckles was going up or down.
     
  26. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Does it really exist? I didn't know.
    I am going down. Only half dose today
     
  27. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Mauer may be VERY sensitive to insulin after his low of 49 the other day, 5/13/20 AM cycle.
    That 86 BG on 5/14/20 PM pre-shot is yet another dose reduction for Mauer.
    So a MAXIMUM of 0.25U dose of Prozinc for Mauer, if he's high enough at his next pre-shot test.

    Good thing you skipped the dose of insulin this evening.
     
  28. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'm new at these syringes there is no 0.25? Could you explain in detail?
     
  29. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    The 0.25 Unit dose is half way between the 0 units and the 1/2 unit mark on the syringe. There is no mark for it. You have to imagine where it would be.
     
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
  31. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
  32. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    @Deb & Wink can you look at the dose with Mauer please. Sasha is using U100 syringes for the Prozinc which is fine but the dose of course won’t be the same using the u 100 syringes. Thanks.
     
  33. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would test during the cycle to see how low the dose takes Mauer
     
  34. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    When? I already am testing
     
  35. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would get a test at say +3 and +5
     
  36. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I'll do that. Do you think I gave her too much?
     
  37. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    No. Using the U 100 syringe you actually gave her less than 0.2 units of prozinc because the U100 syringe holds more than the U40 syringe does that is normally used for Prozinc.
     
  38. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Phew! Just got scared there!
     
  39. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Deb & Wink and SashaV like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page