? Mimi 9/5 AMPS 293. 3rd cycle on even higher dose… what is going on :(

She seems really high energy too. Acting very cute and silly. I almost thought her blood sugar was low but it’s not apparently.
Even using a new bottle of insulin to see what’s going on. I’ve never seen her not break yellows even little bit.
 
Hopefully it’s new dose wonkiness. If the insulin was getting old it might be a little insulin resistance. Are her teeth good? Sounds like she’s feeling well which is great. She hasn’t seen green in over a month though. You took an unearned reduction around 8/5. I suspect a little resistance.
 
Hopefully it’s new dose wonkiness. If the insulin was getting old it might be a little insulin resistance. Are her teeth good? Sounds like she’s feeling well which is great. She hasn’t seen green in over a month though. You took an unearned reduction around 8/5. I suspect a little resistance.


Well it was easier to check in with my the feline diabetes Facebook (not this group) and their protocol was a lot more relaxed. Thought because Mimi isn’t getting better maybe I can try a different method? They advise a lot of people not to shoot if it’s under 100 PS. I’m not sure but it’s not as strict and I guess I’m seeing a he repercussions
Hopefully it’s new dose wonkiness. If the insulin was getting old it might be a little insulin resistance. Are her teeth good? Sounds like she’s feeling well which is great. She hasn’t seen green in over a month though. You took an unearned reduction around 8/5. I suspect a little resistance.

I found this on the Facebook group wall - Could this be what mimis going through? She’s hungrier because her BG is high?


When newly diagnosed, your cat will be starving - the cat's body is wanting food to use to make insulin to regulate the numbers. Because the numbers are staying high the body thinks it needs to make insulin so the cat eats more. When you come along and give insulin and you lower the numbers, so the insulin you give, combined with the insulin the cat's body is able to produce, will lower the cat's numbers and the body will no longer demand as much food.
Because of this, you do not want to restrict the amount of food your unregulated diabetic eats. Feed them as much as they want. Once you get down into closer to normal bg numbers and the cat is not eating as much, you can portion the food based on calories required to maintain body weight.”

I know she’s not newly diagnosed I’m just wondering why she seems hungrier than usual.
 
When running high they are more hungry. With previous DKA skipping is not a good idea. A lot of Facebook groups do that and then people come here with insulin resistance or DKA. I’m glad you aren’t skipping! I see lots of unearned reductions. If following TR you reduce after 3 drops in the 40’s or one drop under 40 as a long term diabetic over a year since diagnosis. If our TR is not what you are comfortable with you could follow SLGS.

Has her thyroid been check? Is she losing or maintaining weight?
 
Hopefully it’s new dose wonkiness. If the insulin was getting old it might be a little insulin resistance. Are her teeth good? Sounds like she’s feeling well which is great. She hasn’t seen green in over a month though. You took an unearned reduction around 8/5. I suspect a little resistance.


Well it was easier to check in with my the feline diabetes Facebook (not this group) and their protocol was a lot more relaxed. Thought because Mimi isn’t getting better maybe I can try a different method? They advise a lot of people not to shoot if it’s under 100 PS. I’m not sure but it’s not as strict and I guess I’m seeing a the repercussions
 
Please don't get hung up on the dose. Mimi needs the amount of insulin she needs to get her numbers into a better range. And don't start blaming yourself. You thought you were doing the right thing. Unfortunately, not all message boards or FB groups come with a Surgeon General's warning label.
 
Back
Top