NEED ADVICE: First time seeing below 200 on PS (Currently 180)

Wow, didn’t think I’d need to make this post already! Not sure if this is even in the right place but I was reading in the docs that starting out that I should delay shooting under 200 and delay and ask for advice. Just got a reading of 180 after a normal looking AMPS.

I give his dinner as a reward for the PMPS so I put it down right after taking the sample without imagining the number would be so low. He was ravenous and gobbled a bit of food while I did a triple take at the meter but he is now in a carrier being sad. I’m guessing re-test in 20 mins? Will the food he ate give a false high reading (it was maybe a tbsp)?

Thanks for coming along with me on this emotional roller coaster
 
Wow, didn’t think I’d need to make this post already! Not sure if this is even in the right place but I was reading in the docs that starting out that I should delay shooting under 200 and delay and ask for advice. Just got a reading of 180 after a normal looking AMPS.

I give his dinner as a reward for the PMPS so I put it down right after taking the sample without imagining the number would be so low. He was ravenous and gobbled a bit of food while I did a triple take at the meter but he is now in a carrier being sad. I’m guessing re-test in 20 mins? Will the food he ate give a false high reading (it was maybe a tbsp)?

Retest. If it's even lower you'd want to know for sure.
 
That's how they roll. My Kobe liked to wait until Friday night. And then we had the weekend and could never get ahold of the vet!
In thirty minutes we'll decide to give the whole shot or part of it. You can be up for a while and be able to slow his decreasing BG down with snacks because Sammich will still be interested in eating.
 
My cat was on Vetsulin for a few weeks when he was first diagnosed in November 2024. He's doing great now, but a few weeks of using Vetsulin does not give me the breadth and depth of knowledge that the more experienced members have. I am still hoping that one joins to help.
 
Because your cat's BG went lower today than it has been, his BG will likely bounce. his body is more used to the higher BG and thinks that that is "normal." Even though 180 isn't too low, it will likely feel too low to your cat. His body will probably react in a way that is designed to help your cat protect himself from hypo, but will make his BG go pretty high. This happens a lot. We call it bouncing. There are better explanations on the forum if you search.
 
Yeah I’m looking at his spreadsheet and it’s all over the place. There’s a lot of info I don’t have but I see that the two highest PS numbers followed after the lowest mid day one
 
We’re at the 30 min mark. I wish I had more data on the curve. I’ve been trying to get more numbers in on the chart to understand what’s going on. I’m inclined to shoot like a quarter dose and continue with food. When his PS BG is over 400 he has had little appetite and it was such a scary downward spiral last time he lost appetite
 
That bounce will likely happen now.

I can't tell you what to shoot. I do not have the experience.

But I do have some experience, and I have looked at patterns on lots of spreadsheets for a lot of cats.

if I was deciding what to do for Kobe, I would shoot the full dose because he's going to have high BG from bouncing. But I would set alarms to check on his BG until after BG stopped decreasing and started increasing. But I could give a reduced dose or no dose instead an accept that his BG would be high for a while.

What are you thinking?
 
The thing I keep looking at is he went down all day even though I gave him a normal sized meal at +5. I’m worried he will go down too low on a full dose and I have been running on fumes this week
 
We’re at the 30 min mark. I wish I had more data on the curve. I’ve been trying to get more numbers in on the chart to understand what’s going on. I’m inclined to shoot like a quarter dose and continue with food. When his PS BG is over 400 he has had little appetite and it was such a scary downward spiral last time he lost appetite

I can imagine. I am sorry that I don't know more.
 
298. I’m going to do the quarter dose with the goals of: 1.) more food is better for him right now, and 2.) try to keep his numbers in the purple and yellow for now while his body adjusts to handling glucose again
 
Okay, good. Hopefully he's hungry! If you want input on changing Sammich's dose from an experienced member today, you might go to thread tools at the top of this thread and pick "Edit Title"
Then tag your thread with the blue ? question mark. Try changing your title by putting some ???? at the end. These things grab the eye when members are trying to see who needs help and will help you get the answers you need.

when you get an answer, you go back to the thread tools and get rid of the blue ? question mark. :):):)
upload_2025-4-3_10-59-14.png

upload_2025-4-3_11-0-10.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-3_10-59-14.png
    upload_2025-4-3_10-59-14.png
    17.4 KB · Views: 69
  • upload_2025-4-3_11-0-10.png
    upload_2025-4-3_11-0-10.png
    11.3 KB · Views: 68
You were totally right about the bounce: 492 Still a good appetite and active and normal otherwise.

I think I will make a new post with the question mark tag though so people don’t have to read through this to answer my question. Thank you!
 
I typed this up yesterday, but never hit post!!!:confused: I was looking for your new post and couldn't find it. Then I found this, unposted. Sorry I left you hanging. :( I hope Sammich is keeping his appetite up and coming down from that bounce. :joyful:

That is a good plan! A bounce isn't the end of the world. They happen. I am relieved that he's eating and acting like himself. Hopefully his shot tonight starts to bring him back from orbit!
 
I end up doing that all the time! Sammich's appetite is still good even with the high numbers. He played with a toy last night for the first time in a while! Work has been nuts so I missed posting this morning and all tests but the AMPS. Will do a post tomorrow morning when hopefully people have time to take a look!
 
Did he get his PM dose tonight? It looks like he's having a bounce from that blue he gave you yesterday! Glad to hear the appetite is good and that he is playing. Hopefully this weekend will be relaxing for you both!
 
Oh, good.
It will take a little time to convince his body that lower BG is normal. He has given you blues 3 of the last four days! :cool::cool::cool:
I would like to get him on Lantus and right after giving him his shot I was going to post to ask about vet recommendations lol
This is still an option, and a good one. Because of the longer duration of Lantus, the effects of the doses overlap, making the roller coaster flatter.
 
Back
Top