Need dosing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kerstin

Member
Can someone please take a look at Sam's spreadsheet and give me some advice?
He had some low readings earlier this month and I lowered his dose, now he is all over the place...thank you so much!
 
Hi Kerstin. Is there a way you can get some mid cycle tests? It’s hard to see what’s going on without them. If you work, try to get a test just before you leave or right when you get home and one before bed. You can also grab some extra tests on your day off.
 
Hi Kerstin,

Congrats on testing AM and Pm before shooting. :) I'll suggest that you leave the dose where it is for a couple of days and try hard to get either a daytime mid cycle (+4 to +7) test or two and if that won't work, at least a before bed test. We need more data showing how low this dose takes him before the dose can be properly evaluated. Vetsulin can drop BG quickly and by a fair amount. We need to know if he's going too low around nadir and then bouncing up high.

Is that possible for you?
 
Hi Kris and Sharon, I got a couple of mid-cycle readings in...this morning he was too low to shoot again and just now at 418 again...I test agin at +4....
 
Hi Kris and Sharon, I got a couple of mid-cycle readings in...this morning he was too low to shoot again and just now at 418 again...I test agin at +4....
It looks like the 3 u dose on a PS of 201 like last night's was too much. That's likely why you has a low PS this morning. I suggest you learn how to measure out fractional doses. I'd try lowering the dose to 2.75 u tomorrow AM if the PS is high enough. Testing tonight at +4 will give useful data. You're just starting to build a more complete picture with these extra tests.

Are you using a vet pen or similar? I ask because all of your dose changes are in whole unit increments.
 
He's on vetsulin and we use U-40 syringes, so it would be hard to get 2.75 u, are there other syringes available that would allow for that?
 
He's on vetsulin and we use U-40 syringes, so it would be hard to get 2.75 u, are there other syringes available that would allow for that?
I believe you can order U40 insulin syringes with half unit marks from adwdiabetes.com if you're in the US. Another way to greatly increase your dose fraction options is to use U1oo syringes with half unit marks and the conversion chart:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
These syringes are available from that same online vendor.
 
So today Sam drinks pretty much every 2 hours from what I am seeing....numbers appear ok, he is his usual self aside from the constant drinking. It's abnormally cold in FL so I actually have the heat on, not sure if that could trigger the drinking. The other cats don't seem to be bothered....
 
So today Sam drinks pretty much every 2 hours from what I am seeing....numbers appear ok, he is his usual self aside from the constant drinking. It's abnormally cold in FL so I actually have the heat on, not sure if that could trigger the drinking. The other cats don't seem to be bothered....
Many unregulated diabetic cats will drink more. Is he peeing more or larger lumps?
 
Hi Kris, yes, he definitely pees more. He's always been a good drinker but today he drinks a lot. BG was just at 93 at +93. Other than that he acts normal, his appetite is great, he seems constantly hungry and definitely gain his lost weight and muscle mass back.
 
Those are good signs. Has he had a blood panel that also evaluates kidney function? Just throwing that out there as something else that can affect drinking/peeing.
 
He had full bloodwork done at diagnosis and the kidneys were ok then, I think it's the higher BG numbers again....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top