Need immediate help for dosing

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by 8catsplus2, Aug 23, 2020.

  1. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
  2. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What’s the PMPS BG?
     
    Red & Rover (GA) and 8catsplus2 like this.
  4. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    If no ketones, or DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) than you could skip the shot.

    Have not caught up yet on what has been going on. Only the extremely low number for last night, that 37 in the PM cycle.

    My recommendation may change, once I catch up.
     
  5. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    That will be in 30 mins
     
  6. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I haven't been able to catch any urine yet.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  7. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    More important, how is Lucy's appetite?
    Has she been eating well today? Last night?

    You could take a BG test now, and then another one in 30 minutes.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  8. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    She's four times a day 7am 1pm 7pm 1am
    She usually eats anywhere from 0.8 to 1.2 oz at the 1 am and 1pm .. the other two times she usually eats 1.4 oz maybe a little more maybe just a little less
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Ok, Lucy eats 4 times a day.
    But has she been eating well today?
    Or skipping food and not eating as much?
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  10. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    She ate 1.4 oz at 7 and 1.1 oz at 1 that's ir
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  11. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Ok, so that sounds like Lucy ate normally.
    Please post a reply when you get the PMPS (PM or evening pre-shot) test.

    Some cats can be really sensitive to insulin, when they drop into the 30's or 40's.

    Maybe only a token dose would be right.
    Maybe a skipped shot would be right.

    Don't know yet.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  12. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Will definitely do usually I wait until after I test her blood to post a thread and by the time everybody responds I'm freaking out. That's why I got ahead of it tonight
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  13. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Thank you @Deb & Wink and @tiffmaxee for your help.
    My brain cells are tired. I do not plan on staying in front of a computer screen.

    Amber, you've got this. Look how much you are learning. One day, you will be able to support and help someone else. It does get easier, I promise.
     
  14. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I’ve been wanting to ask... what syringes are you using? Did you happen to get a new batch recently?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  15. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    I'm normally headed off to sleep around this time.
    Be right back. Need to do something for 2 minutes.

    p.s. If I don't respond, look at the bottom of the post, and you will see that I have at least "Liked" your post to let you know I've read it.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  16. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks for the confidence in me. I know it's just when she threw me for that big loop yesterday and the other day.i just been scrambling to figure it all out
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    There’s a big learning curve with FD.it gets easier. :bighug:
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  18. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Her PMPS is 205, there's two threads running but this one seems to be the active one.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  19. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Yeah I didn't know how to change it to immediate dosing so I just made a second thread I'll know better next time. So is it okay to feed her and then hopefully somebody answer me on what I should give her insulin
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  20. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Not quite yet.
    Hold 1 minute more please.
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  21. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    It's okay, just wanted everyone on the same page. :)
     
    8catsplus2 and Deb & Wink like this.
  22. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Ok.

    I think you should reduce the dose to 0.5U for the forseeable future.
    Unless of course, Lucy drops below 90 mg/dL again, then you would reduce the dose by another 0.25U.

    Option 2 is to give a token dose, maybe 0.1U, which would be barely above the very first line on your syringes.
    Option 3 is to skip the dose. You can pick up again in the morning. You might prefer this option, if you need to catch up on your sleep.

    So the question for you @8catsplus2 is, do you feel like staying up tonight to test a bit? Or can you set an alarm to wake you up?
    If not, then skip the dose please.
     
  23. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    A question for @Deb & Wink How often should I test her throughout the night in early morning if I skip a dose.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  24. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Deb & Wink I'm going to skip the shot tonight thanks for ALL your help..
     
    Bandit's Mom and Deb & Wink like this.
  25. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    If you skip, you can get the next test in the morning.
    Although if you are awake, you could get 1 more test before you head off to sleep. For the data value, to see how high she goes. So a +2 if possible.

    Prozinc is what is known as an in and out insulin. Duration is 12-14 hours or so. No overlap in dose from one shot to the next. Not like the depot insulins, lantus and levemir.
     

Share This Page