New! Confused (sorry for the double post)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaryB

Member Since 2022
Hello,
My 13.5 female tabby has diabetes since last March and has been on 2units for several months. I can’t seem to get her numbers controlled. I am completely overwhelmed and I struggle to test her sugars. I shake and end up sticking her multiple times. She is so gracious and just sits there. I am a wreck. I constantly worry over her. Her last curve was in early December as below:
730am- 2units lantus insulin given
938am- reading 1= 183
1150am- reading 2= 109
155pm- reading 3= 108
403pm- 85

Then night before last I forgot to give insulin and yesterday I fed her breakfast, waited 2 hours checked sugar and it was 203.
The reason I panic so much is that last summer I used the wrong insulin syringe (40 vs 100) my mistake and almost ended her life and I just am so paranoid now.
can anyone help me be reassured I’m doing anything right or what I should do?
 
Last edited:
Deep breaths. We can help you. I am going to ask you to copy and paste what you just wrote on the main/health forum so we can get you set up with a signature and spreadsheet as we are very data oriented. They will provide links to help you. After you are set up you can begin posting here. I’m glad you found us.

One quick question. Are you using lancets for alternative sites? I actually used needles to prick as that’s how my vet taught me and never had to poke more than once.
 
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugarsugar

Here is a video that one of our members diddid
You can always put a thin layer of Vaseline to make it bead up a little
 
Deep breaths. We can help you. I am going to ask you to copy and paste what you just wrote on the main/health forum so we can get you set up with a signature and spreadsheet as we are very data oriented. They will provide links to help you. After you are set up you can begin posting here. I’m glad you found us.

One quick question. Are you using lancets for alternative sites? I actually used needles to prick as that’s how my vet taught me and never had to poke more than once.


I think I posted there? I’m not sure I’m sorry I’m a mess.
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

If you need help setting up anything just ask we have a member who will be glad to do it for you
 
I think I posted there? I’m not sure I’m sorry I’m a mess.
It’s in the right place. Thanks.
What are you feeding your kitty? What’s her name? What kind of meter are you using, pet meter or human? Has she e er been dka or tested for ketones? Any other health issues or medication she’s taking?

That curve was too long ago to help us help you with dosing today but once set up with a spreadsheet and you answer the questions we will be able. If you need help with the spreadsheet we have someone who can set you up in a few minutes.
 
It’s in the right place. Thanks.
What are you feeding your kitty? What’s her name? What kind of meter are you using, pet meter or human? Has she e er been dka or tested for ketones? Any other health issues or medication she’s taking?

That curve was too long ago to help us help you with dosing today but once set up with a spreadsheet and you answer the questions we will be able. If you need help with the spreadsheet we have someone who can set you up in a few minutes.

I am sorry I haven’t been testing her regularly it’s been so difficult. I don’t have more updated numbers. I will certainly begin as soon as I can.
Yes I will need help with it I’m sure. I’m terribly overwhelmed and have been crying/shaking nervous wreck for days. I only have my phone access at this time. My laptop will be better when I get home.

My baby’s name is Chloe. She eats fancy feast pate 3/4 to full can twice a day, she has tiki cat carnivore available dry food in the day (1/4 cup maybe). She has hyperthyroidism and take 2.5 felimazole twice a day she’s been controlled for a long time. I have a pet meter my vet gave me. To my knowledge she has never had either of the conditions you mentioned. Only the incident I stated in my original post due to my mistake of too much insulin.
 
@Bandit's Mom When she sees this will help you.
The best thing you can do for Chloe is to stop feeding the dry food. Feeding small meals the first half of the cycle often helps a lot. Just ditching the dry might make a huge difference so we need to get you comfortable testing before every shot. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes a cat so that means you need to do a curve every 7 days testing every 2 hours for a cycle. Since she currently eats some dry food the method you would use if you follow one of ours is SLGS. It doesn’t require as much testing so will give you an opportunity to get comfortable testing as you slowly cut out the dry food.

The test strips for the pet meter are very expensive. Most here use a human meter. If you are in the US many use the Walmart Relion.
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB! :-)
I can set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.
 
@Bandit's Mom When she sees this will help you.
The best thing you can do for Chloe is to stop feeding the dry food. Feeding small meals the first half of the cycle often helps a lot. Just ditching the dry might make a huge difference so we need to get you comfortable testing before every shot. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes a cat so that means you need to do a curve every 7 days testing every 2 hours for a cycle. Since she currently eats some dry food the method you would use if you follow one of ours is SLGS. It doesn’t require as much testing so will give you an opportunity to get comfortable testing as you slowly cut out the dry food.

The test strips for the pet meter are very expensive. Most here use a human meter. If you are in the US many use the Walmart Relion.

Thank you for this advise. She shares a room with her non diabetic sister (I have 5) and that’s why the dry is there. I will try to figure that part out. My last curve was Dec I can do another. I worry because she acts tired. Is it too much insulin? High sugar? Is insulin building up again and I’m going to kill her this time? Is it because she’s 13.5 years old? This is all in my head. After her Dec curve the vet said stay at 2units. I was scared the numbers were too low. I don’t have confidence in myself I think. She goes back in Feb for 6 month visit and I need another curve to show them. Or a few is good too. Again thank you for the help.
I will check Walmart for that meter. I didn’t know. My vet just gave me this one.
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB! :)
I can set up your spreadsheet and signature. Will send you a PM with the details I need. Look for it in the Inbox at the top right corner of this page.

Oh wow that’s wonderful thank you. I will get right to that. I am falling apart over here struggling in every way and I thank you so much
 
I feel so lost. She has energy one day and tired the next. Sometimes that changes in the day. I’m so afraid I’m hurting her somehow. Sometimes she runs up the stairs with a toy other times she lays flat for a while. I don’t understand
 
Once we see her BG we will be able to see the patterns as to when she’s feeling good or not. Don’t think of testing as hurting her. You aren’t. Give her a freeze dried 100% protein treat after each poke. She doesn’t fight you so you need to get over your fear. I totally understand. When I first joined the FDMB I said I would not test. I thought Max would hide from me all the time. I was going to my vet for a test mid cycle a couple times a week. I bought a meter and brought it in for my vet to compare with his meter and he handed me the needle to test. Soon I became a testaholic and Max waited for me at his testing spot if I forgot to bring something I needed. It’s good Chloe is playing at times. That means she’s feeling good. When we get her regulated she will be more like her old self.
 
T
Once we see her BG we will be able to see the patterns as to when she’s feeling good or not. Don’t think of testing as hurting her. You aren’t. Give her a freeze dried 100% protein treat after each poke. She doesn’t fight you so you need to get over your fear. I totally understand. When I first joined the FDMB I said I would not test. I thought Max would hide from me all the time. I was going to my vet for a test mid cycle a couple times a week. I bought a meter and brought it in for my vet to compare with his meter and he handed me the needle to test. Soon I became a testaholic and Max waited for me at his testing spot if I forgot to bring something I needed. It’s good Chloe is playing at times. That means she’s feeling good. When we get her regulated she will be more like her old self.

Thank you so much for the encouraging words! It means so much.
So you actually just use a needle to test? I feel terrible having to poke her so many times but I shake so bad I don’t get the stick. She is so brave and sweet just sits there.
I have given her a little sliver of cheese before after it, she loves it and I thought it was no carb. But where do I find the treat you mentioned? Would that be better than cheese? She knows the cheese when she sees it.
 
The cheese is fine. There are all kinds of freeze dried treats available like Pure Bites. Look at your local pet store or on chewy.com if you want variety.

Yes, my vet taught me using a 25 gauge needle. I then continued using needles although I bought the super sharp terumo ones on line.
 
Once we see her BG we will be able to see the patterns as to when she’s feeling good or not. Don’t think of testing as hurting her. You aren’t. Give her a freeze dried 100% protein treat after each poke. She doesn’t fight you so you need to get over your fear. I totally understand. When I first joined the FDMB I said I would not test. I thought Max would hide from me all the time. I was going to my vet for a test mid cycle a couple times a week. I bought a meter and brought it in for my vet to compare with his meter and he handed me the needle to test. Soon I became a testaholic and Max waited for me at his testing spot if I forgot to bring something I needed. It’s good Chloe is playing at times. That means she’s feeling good. When we get her regulated she will be more like her old self.

im sorry - I forgot to ask, is it ok that Chloe only eats one type of the fancy feast? She only cares for the fish and “mixed grill” type.
How do you suggest feeding smaller meals vs 2 for people not home in the day? I would typically leave her remaining wet food out and a small amount of dry.
 
People that aren’t home get a auto feeder and set it to go off at a few times while at work and at night so they can sleep. Look on chewy.com or Amazon . Pet mate 5 is one brand used but there are others.

Only fish is not great for cats as it has too much vitamin A. They love it and become addicted making it hard to get them to quit the habit. Try different flavors to see if you can find a low carb pate she will eat. If she likes the freeze dried treats you can sprinkle it over the wet food too. That’s even better than dry if it works. Max was eating high carb wet food before diagnosis and only wanted pieces but I was able to get him to eat fancy feast pates. Try smashing up some dry food over the other flavors to entice him.
 
I arrive home and she’s hungry and someone (her or sister) threw up dry food today. It’s near her bed though. I only gave her 1.5 unit today. And I don’t even know if it’s right or going in because she has some built up skin from shots on her back. I try to avoid that area but other area I try she cries. I cry too. I don’t know what to do. Feed her now? Check sugar?
 
Get a test please. Why did you reduce her dose to 1.5? I can’t access your spreadsheet.

I don’t have any readings other than the ones I posted
:(
I just did the test and used just a lancet only & the picture guide for the edge of ear, much easier. I was still shaking a lot but I only had to stick twice rather than 5-6 before with the spring loaded device

201 is what I got.
 
That’s okay. You will start today. That’s a huge improvement getting a result in two sticks. Is it shot time now? When do your shoot and what time zone we you on? We are from all over the world here. I am in California.
 
That’s okay. You will start today. That’s a huge improvement getting a result in two sticks. Is it shot time now? When do your shoot and what time zone we you on? We are from all over the world here. I am in California.

It was definitely better, but I still have a long way to go. I usually feed them (I have 5 kitties) all at the same time 6-6:30pm and I’m on the eastern time zone I’m in Florida. So I feed her now and then wait 15 min and shoot, that’s what I’ve always done.
 
With lantus there is no reason to wait at all before you shoot. Most test, feed , and shoot all in about 5 minutes. Lantus doesn’t usually onset, kick in, until about 2 hours after injecting.

Tell me why you chose 1.5 this morning please.
 
With lantus there is no reason to wait at all before you shoot. Most test, feed , and shoot all in about 5 minutes. Lantus doesn’t usually onset, kick in, until about 2 hours after injecting.

Tell me why you chose 1.5 this morning please.

I apologize I meant to mention but I’m scatterbrained right now.
I mentioned in my post about how once I used the wrong syringe for a bit and overdosed insulin and she was very sick. I remember she was so lethargic and just moped around and I am so scared anytime she gets tired or lays flat for long and when she seems to be less energetic that perhaps I’m doing something to harm her again, out of my fear I reduced. I was scared when her numbers were low hundred in Dec and 85. The dr was ok with it but I was terrified. I guess that is my answer. I’m sorry it’s not a good one.

thank you god the info on lantus, I wasn’t aware of the time frame. It lasts 12 hours though is that right?
 
No need to apologize. I’m just trying to understand what you have been doing. Sorry for so many questions. So have you been giving him 1.5 since December? If so continue that for now.

Until we know how much of a food bump he gets pick up his food two hours before each shot.

Yes, you will give lantus every 12 hours.
 
No need to apologize. I’m just trying to understand what you have been doing. Sorry for so many questions. So have you been giving him 1.5 since December? If so continue that for now.

Until we know how much of a food bump he gets pick up his food two hours before each shot.

Yes, you will give lantus every 12 hours.

She was getting 2units consistent until last night and morning I have given 1.5units

When you say take the food away 2 hours before each shot do you mean when I check the sugar? I wait 2 hours after eating to test right.
 
She can eat at any time except two hours or less before you give insulin. You don’t need her to be without food any other time. If you have been giving 2 units all the time I still don’t know why you gave this today. I’d give 2.0.
 
I
She can eat at any time except two hours or less before you give insulin. You don’t need her to be without food any other time. If you have been giving 2 units all the time I still don’t know why you gave this today. I’d give 2.0.

Im sorry I’m really confused now.
Are you saying to give insulin without food? I thought that was a no go always.
 
I


Im sorry I’m really confused now.
Are you saying to give insulin without food? I thought that was a no go always.
No. You pick up food two hours before insulin. At insulin time you test. If the bg is a safe number you feed and then shoot right away. For newbies we say shoot if over 200. If under stall, don’t feed and check the bg again in 20-30 minutes to see if it’s going up. If on the way up and over 150 feed and shoot. if bg is falling ask for advice.
 
Ok trying to learn.
I’ve never known how unknowledgable I am till I try to learn this.
I have given the 2units of insulin- so I should test again at 2 hr?
 
Ok trying to learn.
I’ve never known how unknowledgable I am till I try to learn this.
I have given the 2units of insulin- so I should test again at 2 hr?
Yes. If the bg is lower or the same as the pmps another test would be suggested. How late was the shot?
 
I gave at 730, she was eating so slowly. A bite here, there.
Next time just give her a little food and shoot. Then she can eat the rest as she wants. You should not shoot sooner than 7:00 in the morning now . Will that be a problem? We dint suggest giving insulin more than 30 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes early once every 24 hours.
 
I will start reading right away. I want to learn all I can asap, to help Chloe. I am so grateful for help I’ve received so far. I have been so stressed and lost sleep, etc I am trying my best
 
Next time just give her a little food and shoot. Then she can eat the rest as she wants. You should not shoot sooner than 7:00 in the morning now . Will that be a problem? We dint suggest giving insulin more than 30 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes early once every 24 hours.

I can do that no problem at all. I’m going to attempt to learn the spreadsheet I’m a bit overwhelmed at it
 
I can’t access it. The link isn’t in your signature. If you need help Bhooma will be on in a few hours.

i believe she has to help me set it up first. I think she only has done my signature so far. No worries I know she will get to it. I wrote it down also :)
 
I will start reading right away. I want to learn all I can asap, to help Chloe. I am so grateful for help I’ve received so far. I have been so stressed and lost sleep, etc I am trying my best
Rome wasn’t built in a day. We were all in your shoes once. I had friends and my sister who had diabetic cats me all they ever did was give insulin blindly and bring their cats in for a curve every few months. I’m amazed they survived. All of their cats peed around the house and one gave her cat to her vet to live out the rest of her life because her husband said it was him or the cat!
Don’t try to learn everything at once. We will help you. :bighug:
 
Rome wasn’t built in a day. We were all in your shoes once. I had friends and my sister who had diabetic cats me all they ever did was give insulin blindly and bring their cats in for a curve every few months. I’m amazed they survived. All of their cats peed around the house and one gave her cat to her vet to live out the rest of her life because her husband said it was him or the cat!
Don’t try to learn everything at once. We will help you. :bighug:

that’s exactly what I have done is give insulin and take her in every few months for a curve. I didn’t know:(
 
that’s exactly what I have done is give insulin and take her in every few months for a curve. I didn’t know:(
That’s what many do because vets either don’t know enough about feline diabetes or think their clients won’t do the work and so they keep them in higher bg than is good for them. Chloe is under a year diabetic and doing okay but let’s see if we can get her feeling great. We all say this is the best place you wish you never had to find but are so happy that you did.
 
You will save money as you will have real time numbers every day and never need to leave her fir a curve again. The only curve Max ever had was after his first shot at my vet’s office. Also tge results won’t be stress influenced from being at the office.
 
You will save money as you will have real time numbers every day and never need to leave her fir a curve again. The only curve Max ever had was after his first shot at my vet’s office. Also tge results won’t be stress influenced from being at the office.

yes she doesn’t like being there very much. She gets very feisty they say :) I agree about the money part but I was willing to pay but yes gets pricey
 
You will need more test strips and lancets or needles but the home will be more accurate and you both will be less stressed.
 
I will check out the reli on at wal mart. Bhooma mentioned it was $9 and 18 for 100 strips I think. My vet gave my AT2 to me so not sure how much it cost but it can’t be that cheap!

checked the sugar 936pm 177
 
That’s not a bad bg. Was the stick easier? You are fine for tonight but if you want to get a before bed test it will give more info.
 
Is 177 normal?
I couldn’t get enough out of the first poke, but I did second try. I’m using the little picture chart of the ear I saw on the site and rub with a cotton pad. She ate a whole can of ff for dinner. If we stay up much longer I will test again, but we got up at 5am for work so it’s a long day today.

at what time should I check tomorrow am?
Thank you again. I am so grateful, I can’t thank you enough.
 
Not normal but not real high. Normal BG on a pet meter is 68-120. You won’t get there immediately. It’s under renal threshold which is good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top