New here - ProZinc starts tomorrow

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Rachel P, Feb 1, 2022.

1. Rachel P

Rachel P Member

Hi y’all,

Just wanted to introduce myself. I’m not very good at message boards so probably posting in the wrong place. I’m Rachel and my kitty Gizmo was just diagnosed today. We went home with 100 syringes and ProZinc and a crying momma. The vet didn’t say anything about testing at home, and when I asked he said that it “wasn’t really a thing”. I’ve already learned here that it is a thing, although all my reading has been quite overwhelming. I ordered a monitor for home. Proceeding with caution tomorrow as I give the first dose - wish us luck.

glad there are things like this to post to even if nobody reads it. And glad all this info is out there!

Best,

Rachel and Gizmo

Lee Renfro likes this.
  2. Lisa and little

Lisa and little Well-Known Member

Hi Rachel (and Gizmo!)
    Welcome. I know this can be overwhelming but you’ve definitely come to the right place. The people here are awesome. Couldn’t have gotten this far without this board. I wish I found this board earlier In my journey.
    You’ve already made the right first step by ordering a meter. No tears.- I promise you can do this!!

Rachel P likes this.
  3. Rachel P

Rachel P Member

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I know the questions I’ll ask have been probably asked and answered 500 times, but maybe someone can direct me to posts that would be helpful?

1) Gizmo refuses to eat all her food in one sitting. She takes about an hour to eat her first 3oz of food a day - she walks away and comes back. The vet indicated that I’d need to feed her only twice a day - she’s used to eating about 6 times a day so I know this will be an issue. Is it okay to maintain more smaller meals a day and try to wait until she’s already consumed largely her whole breakfast before shot?