New Member 4/29

Status
Not open for further replies.
I can bring him back to 3U tonight and hold longer this time. I've been trying to stagger the BG tests around the +2 - +5 times to find it, but it really seems like his BG is all over the place.

Everything being online has been really disheartening. My doctor prescribed me an anti-anxiety medication a few months ago and since I started it it's hard for me to not sleep more than 10 hours :facepalm: the prescription probably needs swapped but I wanted to give it time. One day I took an extra pill on accident and I slept 16 hours that day :eek: I can definitely do it though, just need to put on my big girl pants and suck it up lol (and start drinking coffee again, I took a break when we went online :coffee:)

Haha I'm a graduate student and this last year I moved out on my own for the first time. I still don't feel like a "real" adult, especially since I came back home for quarantine :oops:
 
I can definitely do it though, just need to put on my big girl pants and suck it up lol
That sounds exactly like something Chris & China (GA) would say!

I gave up coffee a long, long time ago. Can't even drink decaf black tea, it leaves me too wired, even when I only drank it in the morning.

Haha I'm a graduate student and this last year I moved out on my own for the first time. I still don't feel like a "real" adult, especially since I came back home for quarantine
Hey, nothing wrong with that. Takes time to feel like an "adultier adult".;) I'm still working on that some days, and I could be your grandma.:p
 
Haha, I will definitely be able to get PM tests, my sleep schedule is going to be wrecked. February I was looking for breeding peepers and my labmate and I were waking up at 1-2am and going out for frogs. We're starting to do that for her project with green treefrogs. I'm supposed to be in Florida for a week to get my research specimens, but FL is making people from LA quarantine so who knows if I'll be able to do mine. If that happens though I'm basically going to have to alter my schedule to the nighttime until all my toads breed.

Long time no see! This has been an insane few weeks (my grandma decided to move into assisted living, so we moved her, and my cousin and her children stayed at our house for a few days, and then I moved back to school and I've been trying to plan my research trip). Also, my boyfriend's cat seems to possibly be diabetic or prediabetic. Her BG was 254 the other night when I tested her so he's getting her into the vet, but I'm making him switch her diet while they are waiting on her bloodwork and urine analysis.

Since we moved (Monday) I completed the switch to canned only food and Trick's on FF pates now. Christmas isn't taking to it as well so I'm working on her. I also bumped him up to 3.25.

I feel like his numbers are looking better and I was going to come back for advice on increasing his dose more....but this morning he was at 123. I waited 20 minutes and tested again, and it was at 119. I went ahead and fed him 20 minutes ago and I'm not sure what to do. (I know I'm up late.... :eek: lol we have been going out late road cruising looking for snakes for someone else's project)
 
That sounds exactly like something Chris & China (GA) would say!

I gave up coffee a long, long time ago. Can't even drink decaf black tea, it leaves me too wired, even when I only drank it in the morning.


Hey, nothing wrong with that. Takes time to feel like an "adultier adult".;) I'm still working on that some days, and I could be your grandma.:p

This makes me feel better haha. Sometimes I have to remind myself it's okay to not have it all together.

I go on breaks with coffee when I'm not on campus, I build up a tolerance to it and will drink extreme amounts and like to dial it back when I don't have to stay awake while sitting all day. I'm not good at staying awake if I have to sit for more than an hour at a time haha.
 
So, it looks like the 3.25U dose might have dropped Trick really low overnight. No tests to confirm that, but that is probably what happened to give you that 119 this morning 5/30/20.

Now Trick is bouncing from those low numbers. 1U was a safe dose to give, but if you get a higher BG number after waiting 1 hour, and have NOT fed, it would have been ok to give Trick the full dose. As long as his BG level was >150. You are not new to testing, so you don't have to keep to the >200 mg/dL part of the dosing protocol.

Has his appetite been normal?
 
His appetite has been stable. Both Trick and Christmas have been getting 3 cans of the 3.5 oz FF split between two meals. She hasn't been eating all hers so I've supplemented with dry food, but Trick has eaten all of his.

So I should be able to test in two hours (I just shot) and have an idea of how low he could be dropping?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top