New Member borderline diabetes dosing help

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Rose aka princess, Feb 15, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rose aka princess

Rose aka princess New Member

Rose developed diabetes last year at 12 years old. Her glucose reading was 256. The vet put her on Novolin N. I worked with a vet and paid them to test every few days. She did not take well to switching to the dry diabetic food from vets. Also, the dose was too high and after a hypo incident, I studied how to feed her and take over the care myself. She became well regulated on two wet pate feedings (several variaties of Merrick and Fancy Feast) 12 hours apart with 2 small dry food snacks. In 3 months she no longer needed insulin shots. Fast forward to today, one year later. Rose is now 13 years old. She still eats like clockwork, but started showing classic diabetic symptoms again: drinking excessively, ravenous, losing weight. Yesterday, I tried 4 times to get a blood sample, but there was always an error. My husband who hates blood, did it for me (what a great Valentine's demonstration of love to me!). Rose's glucose was 242. (Basically same starting point as last time.) I gave her .75 units insulin at 4:30 pm yesterday and within hours, she was her happy playful self again. This morning I gave her .4 units at 9 am, 20 min after eating her food. At first she was fine. Then I had my husband take a blood sample at 2 pm (5+) and it was 56!!!! Yikes!!! So .4 units is too much. Do you all recommend I skip dosing tonight and take a reading in the morning and see if she needs a dose, more like .1 unit!? Your guideline for newbies is not to dose Novolin when glucose at 250. But Rose seems to need insulin since she was at 242 and exhibiting classic diabetic signs. She is basically borderline, so I think she needs a very very low dose, like .1 unit. Should I just do morning dose only since she is borderline?