New member in Canada

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Violingirlinto, Dec 30, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Violingirlinto

Violingirlinto New Member

Hello all, I’m so delighted to have found this forum! I am based in Toronto and have a 12 year old girl with a brand new diabetes and hyperthyroid diagnosis. We are trying to wrap our heads around many new factors, not the least of which (unfortunately) is cost. Our vet did not speak to us about home testing, but I know it is very important. I’m wondering if any fellow Canadians can advise as to best place for affordable supplies for testing, and even the ongoing shots. What glucose meter should I be looking at (since we don’t have the same options here)? Finally, recommendations on food - can we look at any other reasonably priced options, rather than the very price Purina Diabetes formula? (Sorry for all the budget talk — but I’m a musician, and it’s still CoVid times, so.... yeah, income is pretty non existent right now)

thank you for any and all help! Luna is a real sweetie — we want to support her in a longer life, as well as we can!

Critter Mom likes this.
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi and welcome to you and your kitty.
    Can you tell us what insulin you have been prescribed and the dose please?
    Yes home testing is the way to keep your kitty safe.
    Here is a couple of links to useful information
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/

We have quite a few Canadians here. I will tag a couple for you who can give you Canadian information

@Wendy&Neko
    @Red & Rover (GA)

3. FarmKitty

FarmKitty Member

Hello and welcome to the forum! I was in your same position a few months ago and here is what I have gathered. I will summarize the costs at the bottom of this post.