New Member - Kate and Baker

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kate MacCorkle

Member Since 2020
Hi! I'm Kate. My darling kitty boy, Baker, was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. If you're interested, I wrote a novella about it!

Baker's History
Baker is a 12 year old Maine Coone mix. He was about 14 lb when we first got him from the shelter, but he was only about a year old. In early days, we fed him frozen meat chunks from the fanciest pet store in Seattle, but he stopped eating it. It was too expensive to keep wasting, so we bought some dry food and he loved it. He quickly gained 5 lb and was 19 lb for a long time. Then over the past couple years his weight increased to 21 lb. We put him on a diet for four months once, but he didn't lose any weight and he was always begging, so we returned to free feeding, telling ourselves he is a naturally big breed.

About six years ago, he suffered from a blocked urethra and had "sludge" but no crystals in his bladder. Had to do an emergency catheter, and then the vet recommended CKD dry food for him (I think it was Hills c/d). Four quiet years passed, and then Baker started vomiting a lot. I took him to a new vet in my new town, and this vet said the vomiting was due to pancreatitis. The vet said pancreatitis has no treatment and was possibly due to him ingesting pesticide on grass. The vet had me change brands of food to Royal Canin, but kept him on a dry formula for CKD. Now that Baker has diabetes, I am looking back at that experience and thinking maybe there was something I could have done sooner had I only put two and two together (pancreas = distressed). It's been between 2 and 3 years since the pancreatitis episode (if that is what it was), and we have yet another new vet.

How We Discovered the Diabetes
Luckily, Baker always preferred to drink lots of water from the tap, so we're acutely aware of his water intake since he has to ask us to turn on the faucet for him. Over the past few months, we noticed he was drinking a ton of water. Then he stopped using his litter box, to our annoyance and concern. But even before that, I noticed he just looked off, and he would often give me a beseeching look. So, I knew something was up. He also started sleeping more, got thin around his hind haunches, and stopped letting me snuggle him in bed. We took him to the vet last Friday after my husband suspected diabetes.

What the Vet Said
Baker's blood sugar was 500. He didn't have ketones in his urine. I was to start Baker on twice daily injections of 1 unit of Lantus and switch him to a high fiber dry food - Hill's W/D. I asked which was better, wet or dry, and was told it didn't matter (I can hear all of you gritting your teeth as you read this part about the food). He didn't mention monitoring Baker's blood sugar, but said in 14 days he would do a curve at the vet's office.

Lantus and Syringes Pricing Adventures
My first task was obtaining Lantus u-100. I called ten pharmacies and asked for the cash price for Lantus u-100 10mL vial. Prices ranged from $357 (Fred Meyer Grocery) at the high end to $314 (Rite Aid Pharmacy). Finally, a tech at Walmart surreptitiously told me to google "prescription savings cards". Using a SingleCare.com coupon, I got a price at CVS of $237. But when I showed up at CVS, there was a manufacturer's coupon which dropped the price to $99, so I guess I got super lucky this month. The pharmacist was very clear that I obey the expiration date, but the vet said don't worry about that and I can store the medication for months past the expiration date. I had to wait ages for them to fill the prescription though because they couldn't find the right size syringes for the low dose of 1 unit, and they couldn't find prices, and at first they couldn't even find Lantus because it was in their computer as "Alantus". I felt confused and a bit dismayed. Later at home, I had a heck of a time figuring out that I needed .3 cc syringes with 1/2" needle. Why isn't this stuff spelled out for newbies?

What I Have Learned From This Site (Thank you, thank you, thank you!)
1. I can and should monitor Baker's blood glucose. I did a lot of web research and finally opted to buy the Relion Premier Classic from Walmart because it was the most affordable option and has decent reviews. I think I first saw the name Relion on this site. Before that I was researching Accu-check, AlphaTrak2, and others. I was very close to buying the AlphaTrak2 out of desperation, despite the expense of strips. I just wanted to cut through the options and confusion and have a simple plan: Buy this monitor, these syringes, these strips, this food.

2. Baker needs a low carb wet food diet. I looked at the food topic on this forum and opted to buy some cans of fancy feast since I know it is readily available at the grocery store. It's been only about 30 hours since his diagnosis and I am reaching for the fastest/best I can do on short notice. I'm open to any food suggestions, though luckily he has really enjoyed the fancy feast meals he has had today.

3. I need to closely watch to make sure he doesn't lose weight too fast (already looking into obtaining a baby scale)

4. I can expect my vet not to trust my BG monitoring efforts, and evidenced by my vet's food recommendations, I'll need to be careful about taking his advice at face value. By the way, we had our first BG test tonight and Baker's blood sugar was 325 on the Relion Premier Classic. I don't know if the human meters are a 1:1 exchange, but I guess his blood sugar needs to be below 170, so his dose of 1 unit isn't likely to cause a hypoglycemic event.

What I Would Love
If I have misunderstood anything, or misinterpreted it, please don't be afraid to tell me. It's life and death here, and I am as new as you can get to this whole world of cat diabetes.

If you have food suggestions, or any other suggestions, feel free to let me know.

Happy to answer questions.

Thank you all, I have already learned so much from reading through the forum and resources you have all contributed to.
 
I can answer in more detail tomorrow but most of us order our Lantus from Mark’s Pharmacy in Canada. You get a 5 pen pack for about $189 with shipping so it’s a bargain!

human meters are fine and no conversion needed we use human numbers here on this forum. The ReliOn is a great choice and it’s what I use myself. You can also get ReliOn syringes at Walmart. They have 1/2 unit marked ones which are a great for the .5 and .25 doses.
A9C97DB4-9AF8-4CD7-8F9D-46978E0E068D.jpeg


fancy feast is also a great food choice so you’re sound great already! We have lots of tips for testing. Do you have specific questions about that? Here’s the area you’ll be aiming for once you start. To me, warming up the ear is key! And always give a treat immediately after to build positive association. I also sing a lullaby go calm both us down. Minnie has gotten so used to hearing it that she sits and gets in testing position patiently waiting for it to be over for her treat :cat:
03BB732F-766E-4878-89B9-A4803B209FFB.jpeg

great low carb treats are PureBites and VitalEssentials. Also regular human baked chicken and even cheese. I also use a little baby food once in a while. Any kind that it’s meat only like Gerber chicken, turkey, ham or beef. No onions or spices.

welcome to you and Baker and keep asking questions!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • A9C97DB4-9AF8-4CD7-8F9D-46978E0E068D.jpeg
    A9C97DB4-9AF8-4CD7-8F9D-46978E0E068D.jpeg
    86.4 KB · Views: 277
  • 03BB732F-766E-4878-89B9-A4803B209FFB.jpeg
    03BB732F-766E-4878-89B9-A4803B209FFB.jpeg
    30.3 KB · Views: 257
My suggestion to you is read all the yellow sticky notes in the Lantus forum. It explains a lot about dosage and the bg levels you are aiming for. We adjust doses here by the nadir, which is the lowest point in any 12-hour cycle. Generally speaking you want the numbers to be under 300 most of the time and the nadir around 80-120. I see you’re going with SLGS, thank you for setting up your signature btw! Start here:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Hello Kate and Baker! Welcome! :cat:

Wow, you are doing an EXCELLENT job for a new diabetic mom!
I am going to let you in on a little secret; we use Marks' Marine Pharmacy for Lantus. It is out of Canada, you can buy a 5-pack of pens for roughly $167 plus shipping that will last you 1-2 years, depending on dose. The pharmacist at CVS was probably following human-protocol, since people use up insulin a lot faster than cats, and it is technically off-label use in cats. A vial should be good for 3-5 months if I remember right? The sucky think about the vials is they go to waste before you can finish them. The CVS deal you mentioned seems to be hit-or-miss too. Some people here have gotten that $99 coupon but other times/once they find out it's for a cat, they won't let you use it.

Is Baker underweight right now? Unregulated diabetics usually need TWICE as much food as normal cats (20 calories per lb on average). If he is underweight, don't restrict food. Let him eat bigger meals at breakfast/dinner and smaller meals throughout the day.

Note that since Baker has a history of pancreatitis you want to keep ketostix on-hand and get him checked asap if he ever shows signs such as nausea/vomiting. Some kitties only get pancreatitis once but for others it can come back regularly.

If you have any more specific questions please ask, you really seem to have most stuff down pat already! Good job and good luck! :D
 
WELCOME TO FDMB Kate and beautiful Baker :cat:
We are so glad you found us!
As you already know this site is FULL of good advice and invaluable information. What you may not know it is also inhabited by many devout and loving humans, all dedicated to helping others navigate this disease. Keep asking questions none are too small or dumb.
We are here for you.
You and Baker have found a soft place to land. WELCOME TO OUR FAMILY:bighug:
We laugh, we cry, we share, together. We look forward to doing the same with you!
Again welcome to the best site on this planet to learn everything you need to know about feline diabetes ...and then some!
jeanne
 
Thank you so much for the responses! I still have so much to learn about tracking blood glucose properly. I was reading through some other posts to newbies and saw some helpful info about B12 for helping to rebuild back leg strength. Does anyone know how to best administer B12? I was thinking of taking apart the capsules and sprinkling it in the food. I'm sure I can find it on this site, so I'll dig around.

Also saw someone caution another newbie about not switching to a low carb diet until cat is stabilized. Since I'm transitioning the diet slowly, I will continue giving cat access to his dry food during the day in case he feels the need to eat. I want him to start getting used to wet food and realize it's now part of his world.

Also, I should say my cat is a super mellow cat, for which I am very grateful. It would be many times more difficult if he were fighting me on ear pricks and insulin shots, so I feel for anyone who has a more sensitive cat.
 
Hello Kate and Baker! Welcome! :cat:

Is Baker underweight right now? Unregulated diabetics usually need TWICE as much food as normal cats (20 calories per lb on average). If he is underweight, don't restrict food. Let him eat bigger meals at breakfast/dinner and smaller meals throughout the day.

Note that since Baker has a history of pancreatitis you want to keep ketostix on-hand and get him checked asap if he ever shows signs such as nausea/vomiting. Some kitties only get pancreatitis once but for others it can come back regularly.

:D

Baker had only lost one pound, so he is still overweight at 20lb. But I will continue letting him have access to his dry food until he is regulated, plus I started giving him wet food. Thank you for the tip about pancreatitis and ketostix! Also for the tip about Mark's. I will order from them next time.
 
Also saw someone caution another newbie about not switching to a low carb diet until cat is stabilized.
Hm I'm not sure where that thread is but often a cat's BG will only get better after of a low-carb diet change. You can make the diet switch at any time as LONG as you're doing it gradually and closely monitoring in order to reduce the dose accordingly. :)
 
Thank you so much for the responses! I still have so much to learn about tracking blood glucose properly. I was reading through some other posts to newbies and saw some helpful info about B12 for helping to rebuild back leg strength. Does anyone know how to best administer B12? I was thinking of taking apart the capsules and sprinkling it in the food. I'm sure I can find it on this site, so I'll dig around.

Also saw someone caution another newbie about not switching to a low carb diet until cat is stabilized. Since I'm transitioning the diet slowly, I will continue giving cat access to his dry food during the day in case he feels the need to eat. I want him to start getting used to wet food and realize it's now part of his world.

Also, I should say my cat is a super mellow cat, for which I am very grateful. It would be many times more difficult if he were fighting me on ear pricks and insulin shots, so I feel for anyone who has a more sensitive cat.

Hi Here is the link https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Alot of members use this , I use it myself you can buy it on line from Vitacost
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules
It's 17.99 just be sure this is the one you buy
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I buy the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and add it to the B-12
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up
The Zobaline is 33.99 for 60 pills, too expensive
I saw a big improvement I'd say 3 months, could be sooner. One capsule a day.
Once you get your kitty better regulated the B-12 methyl will help


Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

  • SKU #: 835003001804
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23 lb
  • Servings: 100
 
Thank you so much for the responses! I still have so much to learn about tracking blood glucose properly. I was reading through some other posts to newbies and saw some helpful info about B12 for helping to rebuild back leg strength. Does anyone know how to best administer B12? I was thinking of taking apart the capsules and sprinkling it in the food. I'm sure I can find it on this site, so I'll dig around.

Also saw someone caution another newbie about not switching to a low carb diet until cat is stabilized. Since I'm transitioning the diet slowly, I will continue giving cat access to his dry food during the day in case he feels the need to eat. I want him to start getting used to wet food and realize it's now part of his world.

Also, I should say my cat is a super mellow cat, for which I am very grateful. It would be many times more difficult if he were fighting me on ear pricks and insulin shots, so I feel for anyone who has a more sensitive cat.
It sounds like you’re already testing them? If you are, setting up a spreadsheet will be super helpful!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
Hi Here is the link https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6

Alot of members use this , I use it myself you can buy it on line from Vitacost
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules
It's 17.99 just be sure this is the one you buy
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I buy the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and add it to the B-12
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up
The Zobaline is 33.99 for 60 pills, too expensive
I saw a big improvement I'd say 3 months, could be sooner. One capsule a day.
Once you get your kitty better regulated the B-12 methyl will help


Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

  • SKU #: 835003001804
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23 lb
  • Servings: 100
This is the one I use too
 
Welcome to Kate & Baker.
I am new to this too (Mac is on day 17 of insulin) and I just wanted to say all the best to you both. You have found the best support group for everything you could ever need to know to look after Barker and get him back to his
top kitty strength again. And one of the best things is to know what ever problem you face that you are not alone - others on here have faced it (and worse) & won.
An extra plus is that the experts on here cross the continents so there always seems to be someone around if you need urgent help !!

Gill :)
 
Last edited:
Hi Kate, and another welcome to you and Baker. (Great opening post, BTW.)

Four quiet years passed, and then Baker started vomiting a lot. I took him to a new vet in my new town, and this vet said the vomiting was due to pancreatitis. The vet said pancreatitis has no treatment
I see other members have already given you some useful signposts so I don't have anything to add there. However ...

Hopefully you'll never need these, but there most certainly are treatments for pancreatitis.

IDEXX Pancreatitis Treatment Guidelines

Just thought I'd post you the link so you can bookmark it.

It's great how quickly you've got up to speed with things. Fingers 'n' paws crossed that Baker will be feeling much better very soon. :)


Mogs
.
 
It sounds like you’re already testing them? If you are, setting up a spreadsheet will be super helpful!

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/


Thanks! I set up Baker's spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...pRA4kNwm7adxUzEqryHhSpLFk0/edit#gid=361360320

Tonight he wanted dinner an hour early. His BG is 133, so I am stalling his dose. Feeding him anyway since I think it's not good to hold back food from diabetic cat based on something I read somewhere on here. Gosh, it is confusing what to do. I know that when I test in an hour it will be food influenced. Last night, I called the vet because I didn't want to administer 1 unit (the full amount) with his BG at 185. They said I could administer a half dose, but I just waited an hour and then gave the whole dose because his BG was above 200 by then.

With what little data I have, I think Baker is responding well to the diet change and the insulin, I just don't want to screw it up. It is so good to see him feeling better. He comes and hangs out with me during the day again, hops on the bed to get petted, and has wide open, alert eyes when he looks at me. He's drinking far less water and has been using his box (he was peeing in inappropriate places before).

EDIT: I FOUND THE ANSWER to this: THX In the spreadsheet, can someone tell me what AMPS and PMPS stand for? I mean, I think I know that AM and PM are time, but is PS for "prandial shoot" or something related to giving insulin at a meal time? I searched for the term on the forum but didn't find it.

Has anyone discovered their own diabetes as a result of dealing with their pets? My blood sugar seems a little high; made a doc appt to get it checked. Could be the monitor showing high numbers I guess....
 
Last edited:
Thanks! I set up Baker's spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...pRA4kNwm7adxUzEqryHhSpLFk0/edit#gid=361360320

Tonight he wanted dinner an hour early. His BG is 133, so I am stalling his dose. Feeding him anyway since I think it's not good to hold back food from diabetic cat based on something I read somewhere on here. Gosh, it is confusing what to do. I know that when I test in an hour it will be food influenced. Last night, I called the vet because I didn't want to administer 1 unit (the full amount) with his BG at 185. They said I could administer a half dose, but I just waited an hour and then gave the whole dose because his BG was above 200 by then.

With what little data I have, I think Baker is responding well to the diet change and the insulin, I just don't want to screw it up. It is so good to see him feeling better. He comes and hangs out with me during the day again, hops on the bed to get petted, and has wide open, alert eyes when he looks at me. He's drinking far less water and has been using his box (he was peeing in inappropriate places before).

EDIT: I FOUND THE ANSWER to this: THX In the spreadsheet, can someone tell me what AMPS and PMPS stand for? I mean, I think I know that AM and PM are time, but is PS for "prandial shoot" or something related to giving insulin at a meal time? I searched for the term on the forum but didn't find it.

Has anyone discovered their own diabetes as a result of dealing with their pets? My blood sugar seems a little high; made a doc appt to get it checked. Could be the monitor showing high numbers I guess....
Hi Kate
AMPS stands for AM Pre- Shot. First test in the AM
PMPS stands for PM Pre- Shot First test in the PM
 
Hi Kate and Welcome! I'm new here too!
These fine folks have helped me greatly the last couple of days, and I've seen an amazing turn around in my Mouse just in the last few days with their advice. I hope you and Baker get the same relief I have gotten!

Has anyone discovered their own diabetes as a result of dealing with their pets? My blood sugar seems a little high; made a doc appt to get it checked. Could be the monitor showing high numbers I guess....

I finally got my human meter today and checked my BG. I had some weird lab work that had me wondering myself, and have standing orders to get the blood tests done to get the fasting tests done. My fasting BG was perfect today, while I was stressed (Parents were over, you know how that goes).
 
Hey Kate this was from when you replied back to me on Shelley's thread, just want you to have your own.


Thanks, this is helpful. We have corn syrup. I have several types of FF but will get the gravy types you listed. I want to test Baker more but I am starting to feel guilty about all the pokes to his ear -- like most newbies, he takes a few pokes to get enough blood. I know sore ears are nothing compared to a hypo event though.

You can put neosporin Ointment with pain relief , a thin layer, just make sure you buy the Ointment and NOT the Cream.
Are you using 26 or 28 gauge lancets?
They will make a bigger hole when testing.
As you test more , more capillaries will grow and take less pokes
Don't feel guilty, we all felt bad in the beginning, just remember you are doing this to keep Baker safe. By the way he is such a cutie.
If you have any questions you can post a new thread, we are more than happy to help you and Baker out. Have a good day Kate :cat:
 
Hi and welcome. I just looked at Baker’s spreadsheet and need to caution on something. Last night he dropped at +3 and you stopped testing. Since for most cats the average nadir, lowest point in the cycle, is around +5-7. It can be early or later. You need to test if you see a green test until you are sure he’s not dropping for 2 hours without food.

Baker has many similarities to my journey with Max. He blocked when barely 5 but a vet pierced his bladder and he had emergency surgery. He ate Hills CD For too many years. Then he got chronic pancreatitis. Sounds like Baker had one acute attack instead of it being chronic. Lucky for you. I think for Max pancreatitis caused him to become diabetic and why he never achieved remission. Baker has a good shot at it. Kudos to you for all your research and testing at home early on. It took me a month.

I bought my digital scale on eBay but often now Amazon is cheaper. A very good investment. Check out the Health-o-Meter. Should be no more than$40-50 tops. Amazon has it for $46 and change. TgevSalter which is what I have and they are identical is $43.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top