? New member, question re: shooting lower than usual PMPS

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Benny’s mom, Sep 17, 2020.

1. Benny’s mom

Benny’s mom New Member

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-first-post-its-a-long-one.235250/

Hello! I’m Terri, and this is my first time posting in the Lantus & Levemir forum. My intro post is linked above, detailing some of my sweet boy Benny’s underlying health issues. I want to thank everyone who has welcomed and encouraged us so far! Benny was diagnosed on 5/23, started on 1U Lantus 2x per day and is currently up to 5.5U. His numbers still aren’t great, but have slowly been getting a bit better. He has recently gotten over a pancreatitis flareup.

Last night his PMPS was 116, which is considerably lower than usual. I stalled 30 minutes, it dropped to 110, stalled another 30 and it dropped to 102. So I fed him and, too nervous to shoot the full 5.5U, gave him a token 1U. But I am seeing that many members are shooting their kitty’s full dose into even lower pre-shot numbers, and am wondering if I am being too cautious? I know we have to start getting him into better numbers, and don’t want my tendency to worry about those lower pre-shot numbers to be the thing that holds him back! I have supplies and am prepared to monitor, but do I have enough data? Just want to be prepared to make the best choice for Benny the next time we find ourselves in this situation. Naturally he is back up in the reds this morning, but has SO MUCH ENERGY! Running around the house, chasing his sister...for the first time in months! Will I ever understand this?! Tested for ketones (negative).

Thanks in advance :)

2. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Terri I see on your last thread @Wendy&Neko was helping you. I just tagged her for you ,sorry I can't help you
    Thanks in advance Wendy

Benny’s mom likes this.
  3. Benny’s mom

Benny’s mom New Member

Thank you so much!