Hi all!
First off, the information you all have shared has helped me treat my new diabetic cat and avoid any life-threatening emergencies. Endless thanks to you all.
I’m finally posting to ask about remission.
Critter name: Kitty
Diagnosed: Around 1 month ago
Fructosamine: 489, I believe
Meter: ReliOn
BG after diet change alone: ~250
Insulin type: Prozinc 2x daily, 0.5units
Time on insulin: Less than 1 month
We started on 2u once a day and saw dips that were too low, over swings that were higher than BG on diet alone, and we didn’t achieve long enough control. Over two weeks, we bumped down twice - once under vet guidance and two more times on the information here. Finally settled at 0.5u 2x daily about a week ago.
With that dose, we have had some decent control with nadirs between 90 and 130 and pre shot staying around 220-280. But we also had some weird outliers. One morning he was 167 pre-shot, rose to 199 so I shot. And the nadir for that was 175!!!!
At that point I called the vet to ask if she thought switching to lantus might be better. She said she thought waiting just a little longer would be beneficial and I agreed. Little did I know, that morning was his last insulin shot.
Since then, he has remained between 130 and 157 WITHOUT INSULIN. When I see 150, I expect it to rise so I can shoot. But then it goes down to 130! We have skipped 4 doses now.
My question: Is this the start of remission? Should I be giving ANY insulin to support remission? What ranges are considered remission on relion meter?
First off, the information you all have shared has helped me treat my new diabetic cat and avoid any life-threatening emergencies. Endless thanks to you all.
I’m finally posting to ask about remission.
Critter name: Kitty
Diagnosed: Around 1 month ago
Fructosamine: 489, I believe
Meter: ReliOn
BG after diet change alone: ~250
Insulin type: Prozinc 2x daily, 0.5units
Time on insulin: Less than 1 month
We started on 2u once a day and saw dips that were too low, over swings that were higher than BG on diet alone, and we didn’t achieve long enough control. Over two weeks, we bumped down twice - once under vet guidance and two more times on the information here. Finally settled at 0.5u 2x daily about a week ago.
With that dose, we have had some decent control with nadirs between 90 and 130 and pre shot staying around 220-280. But we also had some weird outliers. One morning he was 167 pre-shot, rose to 199 so I shot. And the nadir for that was 175!!!!
At that point I called the vet to ask if she thought switching to lantus might be better. She said she thought waiting just a little longer would be beneficial and I agreed. Little did I know, that morning was his last insulin shot.
Since then, he has remained between 130 and 157 WITHOUT INSULIN. When I see 150, I expect it to rise so I can shoot. But then it goes down to 130! We have skipped 4 doses now.
My question: Is this the start of remission? Should I be giving ANY insulin to support remission? What ranges are considered remission on relion meter?