New-member-Tresiba (degludec)-should I reduce the dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

5 million

New Member
Hi, I'm a new member, On 2025/1/21 I changed the method from sliding scales to consistent dosing.
I've read Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus®or Levemir®for Diabetic Cats & Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) several times, I decided to reduce the dose "When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). "

well on the first 4 days(1/22-1/25) it looks so good! PS became lower and lower! But while I was waiting for the 7th-day nadir in the normal range of a healthy cat and PS stays under 100 mg/dl, PS became higher than 100(1/26& 1.27), noticed that those 2 days nadirs are lower than nadirs on 1/22-1/25, maybe I should reduce the dose on 1/25? I have a feeling, a sense that when the curve becomes flat, the PS will look good. I don't know if that's right.
I know that I should not be concerned about the rebound, but it's so weird that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher. should I keep shooting 0.75 till the PS (which is almost the highest BG) under 100? will that happen? I am afraid that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher and higher. or should I reduce the dose now?

I feed my cat 10g@+0, 20g@+2, 30g@+3, 20g@+5 & 20g@+6.5, so I usually monitor BGs@+3 & +5,sometimes +8/9.
 
Last edited:
Hi, I'm a new member, On 2025/1/21 I changed the method from sliding scales to consistent dosing.
I've read Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus®or Levemir®for Diabetic Cats & Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) several times, I decided to reduce the dose "When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). "

well on the first 4 days(1/22-1/25) it looks so good! PS became lower and lower! But while I was waiting for the 7th-day nadir in the normal range of a healthy cat and PS stays under 100 mg/dl, PS became higher than 100(1/26& 1.27), noticed that those 2 days nadirs are lower than nadirs on 1/22-1/25, maybe I should reduce the dose on 1/25? I have a feeling, a sense that when the curve becomes flat, the PS will look good. I don't know if that's right.
I know that I should not be concerned about the rebound, but it's so weird that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher. should I keep shooting 0.75 till the PS (which is almost the highest BG) under 100? will that happen? I am afraid that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher and higher. or should I reduce the dose now?

I feed my cat 10g@+0, 20g@+2, 30g@+3, 20g@+5 & 20g@+6.5, so I usually monitor BGs@+3 & +5,sometimes +8/9.
Welcome to FDF, we are here to help you, in order for un to help you, we need a bit more information about your cat, I see you are using Lantus, I will tag a member that can help you with dosing, insulin is not administered according to the BG( Nadir) it takes several cycles for the insulin to show a pattern and reaction, I cannot advice you on dosing, but in the meantime, you can create your signature and spreadsheet, below there are a couple of links to do so, you can insert all these BGs you posted, also we need to know what are you feeding, diabetic cats need to have a diet preferably of wet can food between 0-10% carbs, if you are feeding kibble, they are of a very high carb content anywhere between 20-30% also let us know what Country you are from, we can send you a Drs Food list, any concern is never a small one, so ask questions post post post, we will be here for you, also oif you need assistance with the spreadsheet we can help

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
Welcome to FDF, we are here to help you, in order for un to help you, we need a bit more information about your cat, I see you are using Lantus, I will tag a member that can help you with dosing, insulin is not administered according to the BG( Nadir) it takes several cycles for the insulin to show a pattern and reaction, I cannot advice you on dosing, but in the meantime, you can create your signature and spreadsheet, below there are a couple of links to do so, you can insert all these BGs you posted, also we need to know what are you feeding, diabetic cats need to have a diet preferably of wet can food between 0-10% carbs, if you are feeding kibble, they are of a very high carb content anywhere between 20-30% also let us know what Country you are from, we can send you a Drs Food list, any concern is never a small one, so ask questions post post post, we will be here for you, also oif you need assistance with the spreadsheet we can help

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA


Sorry I didn’t make it clear, I use tresiba, my ss is in my signature, I feed cat with German can food Betty’s
 
Sorry I didn’t make it clear, I use tresiba, my ss is in my signature, I feed cat with German can food Betty’s
His SS looks amazing, just like my Corky’s but in the almost 3 years being in this forum I have not heard about the insulin you are using, but don’t worry, I tagged very knowledgeable member that can help you I am sure you will hear from them before the day is over:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
@5 million
I see on your spreadsheet up top you have stated
History of DKA/Ketones: y
Can you please add that to your signature and the meter you are using please
Tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this and what you are feeding, are you from Germany? If so can you add that to your signature also please

To draw attention to your post I would definitely put Insulin Tresiba in your title after you have New Member

To do this tap on the word Thread Tools that's to the right then tap on Edit Title and add what I said then tap save
 
Last edited:
@5 million
I see on your spreadsheet up top you have stated
History of DKA/Ketones: y
Can you please add that to your signature and the meter you are using please
Tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add this and what you are feeding, are you from Germany? If so can you add that to your signature also please

To draw attention to your post I would definitely put Insulin Tresiba in your title after you have New Member

To do this tap on the word Thread Tools that's to the right then tap on Edit Title and add what I said then tap save

Thank you so much! I’ve updated my signature.

I’ve checked the Tresiba forum, but there are very little discussion there, and most of the posts are quite outdated. I’ve read about Sammi, who achieved remission with Tresiba by following the Tilly protocol, but it seems she has not been active for a long time.:(
 
Thank you so much! I’ve updated my signature.

I’ve checked the Tresiba forum, but there are very little discussion there, and most of the posts are quite outdated. I’ve read about Sammi, who achieved remission with Tresiba by following the Tilly protocol, but it seems she has not been active for a long time.:(
I know all of us pretty much use either Lantus or Prozinc insulin. Can you please add to your signature ketones . Hopefully a member will come along that might know something about Tresiba
@5 million
 
Last edited:
Hi, I'm a new member, On 2025/1/21 I changed the method from sliding scales to consistent dosing.
I've read Protocol: Tight Regulation with Lantus®or Levemir®for Diabetic Cats & Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) several times, I decided to reduce the dose "When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). "

well on the first 4 days(1/22-1/25) it looks so good! PS became lower and lower! But while I was waiting for the 7th-day nadir in the normal range of a healthy cat and PS stays under 100 mg/dl, PS became higher than 100(1/26& 1.27), noticed that those 2 days nadirs are lower than nadirs on 1/22-1/25, maybe I should reduce the dose on 1/25? I have a feeling, a sense that when the curve becomes flat, the PS will look good. I don't know if that's right.
I know that I should not be concerned about the rebound, but it's so weird that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher. should I keep shooting 0.75 till the PS (which is almost the highest BG) under 100? will that happen? I am afraid that I keep shooting 0.75 units and the PS becomes higher and higher. or should I reduce the dose now?

I feed my cat 10g@+0, 20g@+2, 30g@+3, 20g@+5 & 20g@+6.5, so I usually monitor BGs@+3 & +5,sometimes +8/9.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@SmallestSparrow
 
I would suggest that you use our approach to dosing vs. the method on the German Lantus forum page. It's the approach we're most familiar with. We have stuck with a previous version of TR. With the version we use, you evaluate the effectiveness of the dose every three days unless your cat's blood glucose drops below 50. With a drop below 50, you reduce the dose, typically by 0.25u. If your cat is mostly in normal numbers (50 - 120) for a week, you reduce the dose.

To be honest, 5 Million's curve is pretty flat! There's about a 20% variance on any test number. None of your tests are outside of normal range.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top