Hello all,
My name is Ben and I have an 11 year old Bengal Tortie named Sage. My mom gifted her to me when she was 3 months old, she got her from a breeder looking for unique Bengal patterns. She has been free feeding her entire life with canned food here and there and treats everyday. She maxed out at 13 lbs at her heaviest; I saw that she was a bit overweight last year, 13lbs, in August, so I decided to cut back the amount of treats I was giving her from 5 or 6 twice a day to 1 broken in half twice a day. I noticed she had a little bit of weight so I assumed it had worked.
Fast forward to two weeks ago, she became inseparably clingy to me which is not her nature, she would not let me leave her for a second without screaming at me, which worried me. I got a vet appointment at the local community clinic, which gives vet care for less money. They ran blood work on her and everything came back great except her BG levels.
She was diagnosed on 9/10 with diabetes, her original BG test was 450. they prescribed Vetsulin however after lots of research on this wonderful forum I decided I wanted to switch her to Lantus, this was before I started Vetsulin. When I took her back to get a demonstration on how to give the insulin (her bg level was 330 I switched to lower carb foods fancy feast) , the community vet agreed that Lantus was a better option but refused to give me a prescription because she wanted me to I try out the Vetsulin first. So far sage has had 4 doses 1u each, but I want to switch her to Lantus because it feels like the right thing to do.
I live close to the US / Mexican border so I had a friend of mine who lives there go and pick up some Glargine for me there, 40 USD however, it's a generic brand called Bonglixan. The pharmacist said it was the same thing and the box confirms this. I was wondering if anyone has any information about this and if it will be okay to give to my baby girl.
Also, they have the Lantus solostar pens but I'm confused, are they reusable or are they one time use only? The pharmacist said it's a one time use. I was under the impression you could use it multiple times until it ran or they expired.
Also, I bought both the alphatrak3 and the relion meters, I tested her for the first time with both with the same drop of blood. The Alphatrak3 was 200 points higher than the relion was. I'm worried because I am unsure which meter is more accurate. I want to do a curve at home but I'm unsure which reader is accurate. The Alphatrak3 seems to fluctuate a lot, yesterday her bg was 320 before I gave her the Vetsulin and after her 1u, 2 hours later it was 550. I'm worried I may have a defective unit or not doing it properly. I calibrated the Alphatrak3 before I took the first reading yesterday.
Thanks for your time, this is definitely stressful! I just want my baby to feel better.
My name is Ben and I have an 11 year old Bengal Tortie named Sage. My mom gifted her to me when she was 3 months old, she got her from a breeder looking for unique Bengal patterns. She has been free feeding her entire life with canned food here and there and treats everyday. She maxed out at 13 lbs at her heaviest; I saw that she was a bit overweight last year, 13lbs, in August, so I decided to cut back the amount of treats I was giving her from 5 or 6 twice a day to 1 broken in half twice a day. I noticed she had a little bit of weight so I assumed it had worked.
Fast forward to two weeks ago, she became inseparably clingy to me which is not her nature, she would not let me leave her for a second without screaming at me, which worried me. I got a vet appointment at the local community clinic, which gives vet care for less money. They ran blood work on her and everything came back great except her BG levels.
She was diagnosed on 9/10 with diabetes, her original BG test was 450. they prescribed Vetsulin however after lots of research on this wonderful forum I decided I wanted to switch her to Lantus, this was before I started Vetsulin. When I took her back to get a demonstration on how to give the insulin (her bg level was 330 I switched to lower carb foods fancy feast) , the community vet agreed that Lantus was a better option but refused to give me a prescription because she wanted me to I try out the Vetsulin first. So far sage has had 4 doses 1u each, but I want to switch her to Lantus because it feels like the right thing to do.
I live close to the US / Mexican border so I had a friend of mine who lives there go and pick up some Glargine for me there, 40 USD however, it's a generic brand called Bonglixan. The pharmacist said it was the same thing and the box confirms this. I was wondering if anyone has any information about this and if it will be okay to give to my baby girl.
Also, they have the Lantus solostar pens but I'm confused, are they reusable or are they one time use only? The pharmacist said it's a one time use. I was under the impression you could use it multiple times until it ran or they expired.
Also, I bought both the alphatrak3 and the relion meters, I tested her for the first time with both with the same drop of blood. The Alphatrak3 was 200 points higher than the relion was. I'm worried because I am unsure which meter is more accurate. I want to do a curve at home but I'm unsure which reader is accurate. The Alphatrak3 seems to fluctuate a lot, yesterday her bg was 320 before I gave her the Vetsulin and after her 1u, 2 hours later it was 550. I'm worried I may have a defective unit or not doing it properly. I calibrated the Alphatrak3 before I took the first reading yesterday.
Thanks for your time, this is definitely stressful! I just want my baby to feel better.