Newbie - 3 weeks in - advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Tomorrow morning I will probably give 2 because it's so high.
Please don't do this! Her higher number is because she's bouncing and giving the too high dose on a bounce number might send her very low. I know it's tempting when you see the higher numbers but try not to react to a bounce number. If you don't think you can measure the 1.25U on current syringes, do not give more than 1.5U :cat:. Remember, insulin is a hormone not a medication that giving more one time will help things :bighug:
 
Just tested her. 417. Will try to eyeball 1.25 to err on side of caution until I can talk vet into the half mark syringes.
 
Just tested her. 417. Will try to eyeball 1.25 to err on side of caution until I can talk vet into the half mark syringes.
You can buy U40 syringes with half unit marks online. I think many people in the US get them from www.adwdiabetes.com. I'm not sure if you need a vet script or not. Ultimately, she's your kitty and you're the one who has to deal with the consequences of improper dosing. If your vet absolutely refuses to help, take out a couple of U40s and fill them with coloured water to represent your best estimate of 0.25/0.50/0.75 u and keep these as a reference so that you're dosing as consistently as possible when giving the fractions.
 
Thank you for advising me correcting regarding dosage. She just tested 80 at nadir. She is plummeting sooo low. I can't imagine what it must feel like inside. She is eating a little now so hopefully it stays steady. I will have to probably go back to 1u!
I posted in the other forum and some members said to come up with a number I shouldn't inject below. Some members said 200. I think that's a good number for Abby for the time being? I can really see a change in thirst and peeing when her sugar is in the 400s like last night. It is immediate. Do any kitty owners give 0.5u each 12 hours? I wonder how she would do bc I can't imagine giving her another 1u in 6 hours when her history has proven she doesn't increase that much before PM12.
 
200 is a good NO DOSE number for newer members, such as yourself :). We can always lower it a little at a time when Abby show's us her patterns :cat:. There are a couple kitties on like <0.25U twice a day. Some go into remission but some are just going to be lifers. A lot can happen in 6 hours ;)
 
I don't hesitate she will be in remission any time soon if at all given the fact that a no dose causes her to fly up to the 400s. It's something I would love for her but give her lifestyle changes, I don't think it's possible. Waiting for the vet to call...
 
Her PM bg is 196. I really don't know what to do and the vet hasn't called. When she eats it will be above 200 but I want to be cautious. Maybe .5u tonight? I don't think I can measure .25u on my 1u mark syringe. I will wait as long as I can.
 
Vet said no dose tonight and to reduce to 1u tomorrow morning and retest at +6. That's what I'll do ...
 
She tested 272 after no dose last pm! I don't get this cat! She is all over the place. I only gave .5u. I wanted to be safe. I will retest at +6.
 
She tested 272 after no dose last pm! I don't get this cat! She is all over the place. I only gave .5u. I wanted to be safe. I will retest at +6.
They can be erratic at the beginning when you're trying to pin down the good dose range. Eventually you want to have a dose that gives you shootable BGs both AM and PM. Once you get there, it's good to give that same dose both AM and PM for a while to learn her response patterns. Varying the dose from AM to PM is a technique that can be used once you've learned more about your cat's patterns.
 
At nadir she just tested 123 with .5u. That's good to me. I will retest at +12. If it's over 200 I'll give another .5u. Under, I will no dose. I'm calling the vet again as she requested to confirm.
 
Hi Jena, are you home during the day? We're actually not sure if her nadir is at +6, so if you can get tests during the day, try to switch them up. One day grab a +3, next day a +5, next day +7 etc until you do a curve. Prozinc can have a nadir as early as +3 or after +7. The average is between +5 and +7 :). Just based on the 3 tests today, that is a lovely cycle :).
 
I am in and out now that the school year is approaching. It's also getting increasingly difficult for her to behave for me (purritos are necessary) so I am trying to do bg tests 2x a day if I can.

I am taking a slight chance today. I can't measure .25 bc it's too close to end of syringe, I'm giving .5 with a 203 reading this AM. I will be home to watch her this morning, and I'll make sure she eats a good amount. I want to see if .5 is the number for her.
 
Hi Jena, are you home during the day? We're actually not sure if her nadir is at +6, so if you can get tests during the day, try to switch them up. One day grab a +3, next day a +5, next day +7 etc until you do a curve. Prozinc can have a nadir as early as +3 or after +7. The average is between +5 and +7 :). Just based on the 3 tests today, that is a lovely cycle :).
I grabbed an +5 and the meter said LO. I did the usual syrup and dry. I didn't get the high carb wet underestimating my luck...I am not giving her insulin today but I will try to get a PM reading.
 
I would do another test. It is possible that the reading was off sinbce that number is a BIG drop from the preshot If not then you need to keep monitoring the numbers to get the numbers up
 
Omg i am so embarrassed. lo on my meter means "not enough blood". I am retesting now. It's going to be high what a nightmare


Usually a meter will read lo when the numbers are very low. Most meters will just give an error message when there is not enough blood. In any case when you get a very low number or one that doesn't seem to fit the rest of the cycle it is always prudent to do another reading right away to double check. :)
 
Usually a meter will read lo when the numbers are very low. Most meters will just give an error message when there is not enough blood. In any case when you get a very low number or one that doesn't seem to fit the rest of the cycle it is always prudent to do another reading right away to double check. :)
It's now 60. I am having so much trouble figuring her out. 200 was her no dose number and I screwed up badly because I wanted to figure out consistency for when I go back to work. I really am worried because I don't know what going back to work is going to be like with this issue. Many people say that FD brings their kitties closer to them- this is straining all the relationships in my life, my mental health, and my cat's. I cannot get a handle on this and it's almost going to be a month. I wish there were "rules"
 
Deep breaths ... :bighug::bighug::bighug: it'll get easier. You're very early in the game. Later on you might want to try U100 syringes as has been mentioned already.
 
60 is much better...and it fits in with the rest of the cycle much better than LO. I don't know what meter you are using but some meters display LO when it drops down to 10. :eek::eek:
60 was after I initiated interventions, so yes,it was that "lo". I used relion micro
 
Unfortunately kitties can be unpredictable and since insulin is a hormone and the body's responses to it can vary you can't always correctly predict what is going to happen. Although it seems like forever a month is still in the early times of the treatment. Vetsulin seems to be giving some major drops from time to time. It is too early to tell right now, but some kitties will have more level cycles with the long lasting insulins like Prozinc, levemir or Lantus. Something to keep in mind for down the line.

Please do keep checking the numbers to make sure that they don't drop again.
 
Well Ms. Abby don't give your Momma so much excitement :D. Jena, you may want to pick up some U-100 syringes with half unit markings so you can draw a smaller dose than 0.5U a little easier. If her PMPS is over 200, I would drop it down to 0.25U or 0.2U on a U-100 syringe. Were you able to get another test? Abby may be becoming a diet controlled kitty :cat:
 
Unfortunately kitties can be unpredictable and since insulin is a hormone and the body's responses to it can vary you can't always correctly predict what is going to happen. Although it seems like forever a month is still in the early times of the treatment. Vetsulin seems to be giving some major drops from time to time. It is too early to tell right now, but some kitties will have more level cycles with the long lasting insulins like Prozinc, levemir or Lantus. Something to keep in mind for down the line.

Please do keep checking the numbers to make sure that they don't drop again.
She dropped again to 38.
 
Well Ms. Abby don't give your Momma so much excitement :D. Jena, you may want to pick up some U-100 syringes with half unit markings so you can draw a smaller dose than 0.5U a little easier. If her PMPS is over 200, I would drop it down to 0.25U or 0.2U on a U-100 syringe. Were you able to get another test? Abby may be becoming a diet controlled kitty :cat:
She dropped again to 38.

I am almost in tears.
 
Oh no no, don't cry :bighug:. How is her behaviour? She's probably OK but we do want that BG to come up some more. Do you have any higher carb gravy foods at home? Give her a big tablespoon with a drop of honey/karo/or syrup and you'll want to retest in 20 minutes.
 
You can give some regular wet food then with syrup along with a little bit of DM dry. That will kick in later. You're not trying to hurt her but we need you to stay focused to keep her safe :bighug:
 
Oh no no, don't cry :bighug:. How is her behaviour? She's probably OK but we do want that BG to come up some more. Do you have any higher carb gravy foods at home? Give her a big tablespoon with a drop of honey/karo/or syrup and you'll want to retest in 20 minutes.
Her behavior is normal. Growling at me when I try to take her blood. She was grooming and Lying down before I got the 38 reading.
 
You should be at or past the nadir (lowest number) With Vetsulin it "usually" will peak around +4-+6 hours after the shot but that can vary. Just continue with testing every 15 minutes and keep posting the numbers. You want to see the numbers come up the way they did earlier when you gave her HC and syrup.


ETA That LO you got was obviously correct. You managed to get her up to 60 earlier with syrup and HC but that does wear off, which is why the numbers dropped back down. If she is at or passed the peak the numbers should start to stay up. The syrup will help get them there quicker and the HC will keep them up
 
Last edited:
Some kitties do get even more feistier when they're in the lower numbers, don't let it upset you. These are good signs that her insulin needs are going down so soon :bighug::bighug::bighug: Abby should be passing nadir so at least you don't have a couple hours to keep this up :smuggrin:.

@Tuxedo Mom Mary Ann, are you going to be able to stay with Jena? I have about 25 minutes before I have to go to work.
 
Some kitties do get even more feistier when they're in the lower numbers, don't let it upset you. These are good signs that her insulin needs are going down so soon :bighug::bighug::bighug: Abby should be passing nadir so at least you don't have a couple hours to keep this up :smuggrin:.

@Tuxedo Mom Mary Ann, are you going to be able to stay with Jena? I have about 25 minutes before I have to go to work.


I will be around and will check in every 15 minutes until things are settled.
 
My vet just called. Said to stop everything for a few days and let her body figure out what's going on. I will continue to blood test, but she said to stop insulin. I am getting a second opinion tomorrow.

Testing her again now.
 
Jena there is a good chance that Abby's low numbers are because you have recently removed the dry DM from her diet. It may even be possible that she may be able to be diet controlled which would make it much easier for you. Although this has been a trying experience for you everything you are doing is to keep Abby safe. I totally agree with your vet to stop the insulin for now and do some testing to see how she responds with no insulin AND no dry food.

In the meantime, let's make sure the numbers have come up and then you can relax. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

ETA If you see higher numbers later today just ignore them. The syrup and HC can keep levels higher for a period of time.
 
Jena there is a good chance that Abby's low numbers are because you have recently removed the dry DM from her diet. It may even be possible that she may be able to be diet controlled which would make it much easier for you. Although this has been a trying experience for you everything you are doing is to keep Abby safe. I totally agree with your vet to stop the insulin for now and do some testing to see how she responds with no insulin AND no dry food.

In the meantime, let's make sure the numbers have come up and then you can relax. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

ETA If you see higher numbers later today just ignore them. The syrup and HC can keep levels higher for a period of time.
173!!!!
 
Jena there is a good chance that Abby's low numbers are because you have recently removed the dry DM from her diet. It may even be possible that she may be able to be diet controlled which would make it much easier for you. Although this has been a trying experience for you everything you are doing is to keep Abby safe. I totally agree with your vet to stop the insulin for now and do some testing to see how she responds with no insulin AND no dry food.

In the meantime, let's make sure the numbers have come up and then you can relax. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

ETA If you see higher numbers later today just ignore them. The syrup and HC can keep levels higher for a period of time.
Thank you for everything.
 


WOW!!! Abby certainly reacted to the syrup and dry food!!! You should be safe, but try doing one more test in an hour just to be sure. Don't worry about the high number...as I said in my other post the syrup and dry food can really zoom the numbers up.

ETA And hide the dry DM food away somewhere to make sure Abby can't get into it. ;)
 
Also I do believe that you have earned a nice glass of wine or some decadent chocolate for your experiences today. You did great!! :bighug::bighug:
 
upload_2017-8-16_11-53-17.jpeg
upload_2017-8-16_11-53-42.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top