Newly Diagnosed BG's HI HI HI HI

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jacque, my point was that people change the dose for their cats all the time. By doing so, they get their cats regulated and even in to lower healing numbers.

You want someone that is getting insane high numbers? Do you read and write French? You'd have to be approved to join the group, but there is a French language facebook group. Know a couple of cats over there getting insanely high numbers, and 1 that just got released from the vet hospital after a DKA episode.

There is M-Kuqi. He's in Italy, using Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin). HI readings like Tiger. Not sure how much good it would do you to look at that SS but here it is. Kuqi's SS. His owner basically does no testing at night.

You shouldn't be afraid of Lantus. That is the most used insulin on the message board and has more experienced people to guide you.

Personally, I think Prozinc is a very good option for cats. Better than Vetsulin, with it's short duration. IMHO.
 
Last edited:
"If nadirs are more than 200, increase the dose by 0.5u. Dose increases should be made every 3-6 cycles and should continue to increase until nadir numbers begin to come down". Tiger's lowest nadirs was on the 23rd. I did what the sticky said..to increase it by .50. Haven't had a reading below "HI" since. What should I do now??? Stay at 4u's or what? Hold for 6 cycles instead of 4?
 
I'd hold at 4U for now. Re-evaluate after 3 cycles at this dose. You may need to hold the 4U dose for the full 6 cycles, but I don't think so.
You skipped from 3.5 to 4 after only 2 cycles.

On the other hand, those high HI readings are concerning. How aggressive do you want to be with the dosing? Syringe is in your hands.

I'm still not convinced that Tiger is diabetic. His body may be kicking in to protect itself against too much insulin. Hard to tell.

You've been giving him amoxicillin on your own initiative. Liquid amoxicillin contains sugar. Are you still giving him the amoxicillin?

You need to talk to your vet about Tiger and what you are doing.

ECID Every Cat is Different. Even in the same household. Even getting the same insulin, the same food, the same attention and care.

We would consider Jazz Man treated but not regulated.
 
I'd hold at 4U for now. Re-evaluate after 3 cycles at this dose. You may need to hold the 4U dose for the full 6 cycles, but I don't think so.
You skipped from 3.5 to 4 after only 2 cycles.

On the other hand, those high HI readings are concerning. How aggressive do you want to be with the dosing? Syringe is in your hands.

I'm still not convinced that Tiger is diabetic. His body may be kicking in to protect itself against too much insulin. Hard to tell.

You've been giving him amoxicillin on your own initiative. Liquid amoxicillin contains sugar. Are you still giving him the amoxicillin?

You need to talk to your vet about Tiger and what you are doing.

ECID Every Cat is Different. Even in the same household. Even getting the same insulin, the same food, the same attention and care.

We would consider Jazz Man treated but not regulated.
I need to redo my signature. No he isn't on Amoxi anymore, he was taking it in powder form for the 10 days. Doc said if he had one that should clear it up. Stay with the 4u for now then? Not lower it..just in case he had an infection and He is like you said "kickin in" Doc said most cats that have an infection their bg doesn't shoot through the roof like his but kept him on the amoxi for the 10 days
 
Low potassium (hypokalemia) can also be the cause of hind limb weakness, lack of appetite and the poor quality coat. CKD is the most common cause of low potassium.

You did say your vet thought Tigers' kidneys were "shot".
Decreased hunger is a common symptom of chronic kidney disease, especially in the later stages of CKD. Symptoms of increased water intake, increased peeing, weight loss, decreased appetite all occur with late stage CKD.

Hyperthyroidism can also include increased drinking, increased appetite, weight loss, abnormal hair coat.
 
Low potassium (hypokalemia) can also be the cause of hind limb weakness, lack of appetite and the poor quality coat. CKD is the most common cause of low potassium.

You did say your vet thought Tigers' kidneys were "shot".
Decreased hunger is a common symptom of chronic kidney disease, especially in the later stages of CKD. Symptoms of increased water intake, increased peeing, weight loss, decreased appetite all occur with late stage CKD.

Hyperthyroidism can also include increased drinking, increased appetite, weight loss, abnormal hair coat.
yes thats what she said too...can't check his kidneys he drinks too much water...as you know they drink more because they pee more..as far as increased appetite thats hard to say..he's never been a big eater..she said his age likely kidney's aren't working as well as they should, which I kinda figured that..I have several cats with ckd..just love to syringe feed NOT, 2 with chronic crystals, several with the "cat cold" yes I got a bunch of sick kids. I think I added my experience on my profile page on this site. Gonna try to get him in thurs or friday
 
Low potassium (hypokalemia) can also be the cause of hind limb weakness, lack of appetite and the poor quality coat. CKD is the most common cause of low potassium.

You did say your vet thought Tigers' kidneys were "shot".
Decreased hunger is a common symptom of chronic kidney disease, especially in the later stages of CKD. Symptoms of increased water intake, increased peeing, weight loss, decreased appetite all occur with late stage CKD.

Hyperthyroidism can also include increased drinking, increased appetite, weight loss, abnormal hair coat.
hope it's not his thyroid because with current meds for that it can take up to a year to work..a friend of mine lost he cat to it before the meds had a chance to work
 
Low potassium (hypokalemia) can also be the cause of hind limb weakness, lack of appetite and the poor quality coat. CKD is the most common cause of low potassium.

You did say your vet thought Tigers' kidneys were "shot".
Decreased hunger is a common symptom of chronic kidney disease, especially in the later stages of CKD. Symptoms of increased water intake, increased peeing, weight loss, decreased appetite all occur with late stage CKD.

Hyperthyroidism can also include increased drinking, increased appetite, weight loss, abnormal hair coat.
I'm hoping he has diabetes and none of the other diseases..diabetes isn't a death sentence
 
How does drinking too much water effect a blood test? For a cat's kidney's to be "shot", BUN, creatinine, and phosphorus levels would need to be high. SDMA would also be high. These are all blood tests. If your cat is drinking so much water that it's having an effect on blood tests, there are other problems going on. Humans can die from water intoxication.
 
How does drinking too much water effect a blood test? For a cat's kidney's to be "shot", BUN, creatinine, and phosphorus levels would need to be high. SDMA would also be high. These are all blood tests. If your cat is drinking so much water that it's having an effect on blood tests, there are other problems going on. Humans can die from water intoxication.
She said won't be accurate
 
How does drinking too much water effect a blood test? For a cat's kidney's to be "shot", BUN, creatinine, and phosphorus levels would need to be high. SDMA would also be high. These are all blood tests. If your cat is drinking so much water that it's having an effect on blood tests, there are other problems going on. Humans can die from water intoxication.
If it is his kidneys disease or failure there isn't a cure and you can barely manage it..I know have several with it. Good days and bad days...all of them vomit or have diarrhea that is my experience with that nasty disease. Failure and they die quickly. He would have been gone by now..failure takes about a week. He doesn't have other signs of having kidney problems.
 
If it is his kidneys disease or failure there isn't a cure and you can barely manage it..I know have several with it. Good days and bad days...all of them vomit or have diarrhea that is my experience with that nasty disease. Failure and they die quickly. He would have been gone by now..failure takes about a week. He doesn't have other signs of having kidney problems.
Molly 16yr old girl just passed away 2mos ago from kidney failure:(. Had to assist her, the signs are very fresh in my mind unfortunately.
 
The severity of kidney disease depends on what stage it is. If it's early in the process, your cat can be asymptomatic. One of my cats was in Stage 2, with a change in diet and calcitriol, his kidney values are now and have been completely normal for 2 years. If you don't treat the problem it will get worse. It's entirely up to you what you do.
 
Hi Jacque,

Would you please start a new thread and link this older one at the top?
This one is getting long and the moderators like threads to be under 50 posts when possible.

Thanks very much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top