Kerri & Tigger
Member
Hi Friends,
I'm brand new here and so grateful for all the resources. Here is my story and question:
Tigger and I are one week into her diagnosis. BG was 450 at vet; he prescribed 4 units of Vetsulin twice a day. Tigger was horribly hypo by the second night (four hours after her PM dose). Vet advised to drop to 3 units and to only give a half dose if she doesn't eat. She has always been a grazer and never eats much at once. And I read here and elsewhere that Vetsulin dosage is typically 1 - 2 units. . . . So I tried giving 1.5--no way I was trying 3 units after the horrible crash.
1.5 seemed okay. . . . But then after 3 nights. . . . Again at four hours after PM dose, Tigger threw up some liquid and then was STARVING. Not the huge 4-unit crash, but definitely not right. (I didn't have a meter yet.)
The day after that lighter crash, I skipped both doses. AND (thank goodness) my meter arrived in the mail. Her BG late in the afternoon with no AM shot was 152.
Her AMPS today was 251; I tried 1 unit. Got a 3+ reading of 124, then had to leave for work. . . . This evening is 161, so I have skipped the shot again.
I feel like I'm making this up as I go along. . . . I will continue to home test. . . . Will see vet again Friday. Should I ask for a different insulin? Or is it better to stick with what I've started with? I'm also working on transitioning to Low Carb canned. (Prev. was a mix of dry and canned plus--I realize now--far too many high-carb junky treats.)
Thanks for reading / listening! Tigger and I welcome any advice.
Kerri
I'm brand new here and so grateful for all the resources. Here is my story and question:
Tigger and I are one week into her diagnosis. BG was 450 at vet; he prescribed 4 units of Vetsulin twice a day. Tigger was horribly hypo by the second night (four hours after her PM dose). Vet advised to drop to 3 units and to only give a half dose if she doesn't eat. She has always been a grazer and never eats much at once. And I read here and elsewhere that Vetsulin dosage is typically 1 - 2 units. . . . So I tried giving 1.5--no way I was trying 3 units after the horrible crash.
1.5 seemed okay. . . . But then after 3 nights. . . . Again at four hours after PM dose, Tigger threw up some liquid and then was STARVING. Not the huge 4-unit crash, but definitely not right. (I didn't have a meter yet.)
The day after that lighter crash, I skipped both doses. AND (thank goodness) my meter arrived in the mail. Her BG late in the afternoon with no AM shot was 152.
Her AMPS today was 251; I tried 1 unit. Got a 3+ reading of 124, then had to leave for work. . . . This evening is 161, so I have skipped the shot again.
I feel like I'm making this up as I go along. . . . I will continue to home test. . . . Will see vet again Friday. Should I ask for a different insulin? Or is it better to stick with what I've started with? I'm also working on transitioning to Low Carb canned. (Prev. was a mix of dry and canned plus--I realize now--far too many high-carb junky treats.)
Thanks for reading / listening! Tigger and I welcome any advice.
Kerri