Oliver, was seizing now up to 232

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Shelley & Oliver, Jan 30, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Cat has gone into seizures on us. Shot was at 8 am
    Seizure started at 10:15
    Gave honey
    Settled down
    Won’t eat
    On low carb food only
    Continuing honey and sugar water
    has tested at
    23
    23
    Low
    No vet available at miles from any, heavy snow
    What else can I do
    Insulin is Lantus
     
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Shelley,

    I've just put out a request for help in the Lantus group. (ETA - I've asked them to reply to you here.)

    If seizing at the moment, wait till it passes then immediately give another teaspoon of honey. Rub on the gums. Test BG. Wait 15 minutes and test again.

    Once you've administered honey, please answer these questions as soon as possible:

    1. What is the current BG?

    2. How many test strips do you have?

    3. How many hours since last Lantus shot.

    4. What is the current dose of Lantus?

    5. How many cycles (12 hours) have you been giving the current dose (so we can gauge the size of the depot).

    6. Do you have ANY high carb food or treats in the house?

    *** I'll do what I can to help till someone more experienced responds (I've not dealt with a cat experiencing seizures.)


    Mogs
    .
     
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Do you have syrup/karo? Rub it on her/his gums as well as trying to get her to eat it. Worst case, syrup can be applied rectally if you have a syringe you can do that with.

    Can you break down the timing and amounts of honey/sugar water? Is the cat still seizing? How far apart were those tests?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  4. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  5. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    I saw your post on FB, Shelley. Everyone, she is using an Alpha Trak, so the numbers are VERY low.
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  6. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Thank you so much for helping. I just got acceptance to the group
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @Wendy&Neko -

    Thank you so much for responding, Wendy. Are you OK to lead on this? I can't see it through (plus I've never had to respond to a cat having seizures before).


    Mogs
    .
     
  8. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Thanks so much for letting us know. (I had been hoping it was a human meter.)


    Mogs
    .
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  9. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I put the latest answers in critter mom. He has not seized for over a half hour now. We are giving honey and sugar water about every 10 minutes. He seems more comfortable
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  11. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    With a cat in seizures, I would do as Wendy suggested and give karo, syrup, honey....anything like that rectally. Be careful and lube the syringe...don’t worry about how much you give.

    When seizures stop, you can give it orally until the BG rises above 68 but keep testing because as the syrup wears off, the BG can come back down. He needs a vet as soon as you can get him to one even if he’s doing better. Symptomatic hypos can have lasting effects. Lantus low numbers can last a long time depending on the dose and what the preshot BG was. Any info you can give us while he’s stable is helpful.

    Please do not give insulin tonight! Cats which have symptomatic hypos are often very sensitive to insulin.
     
  12. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Those tests were about a half hour apart. He is taking honey and sugar water well.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  13. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Do you have any "gravy lovers" type food or even kibble that he'll eat?

    Please keep testing every 15-20 until he's at least above 68
     
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Here are Shelley's answers:

    ***ALPHATRAK***

    * Last reading 10 20 mins ago: 27 - +4 hours after dose admin

    * Almost 1 week on current dose (size of dose not yet confirmed)

    * Cat won't eat.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If the cat won't eat, you need to rub the honey/syrup on his gums or cheeks if he will allow it. If not, you need a needless syringe with syrup/honey, lube it up with vaseline or something like that, and inject rectally.
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  16. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    How much insulin did you give?
     
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Shelley, please can you test again ASAP.

    If still below 68 give more honey then post the BG reading here as soon as possible after that so that members assisting you will be able to guide you better. :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  18. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Update on Oliver
    With blood tests every half hour and lots of honey and sugar water he is going to right way
    When had his first seizure we were giving honey and his Alpha trek reading was 23!
    Every half hour:
    23/LO/27/31 not out of the woods but he’s not seizing and his blood glucose is going the right direction.
     
  19. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
     
  20. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Those are all really the same basic number so he's still in a lot of danger.

    I understand he's not eating but have you got any "gravy lovers" or kibble food to try? We would usually be encouraging you to get him to an ER vet, especially since even with the Karo he's not coming up the way he should but understand you can't really get out due to the snow.

    What dose did you give him this morning?
     
  21. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If he won't eat, rub honey on his gums or cheeks, he is way too low and needs to come up a lot yet. If you can't get the honey in his mouth, it has to go in the other end.
     
    JanetNJ and THH & Snowcrash (GA) like this.
  22. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    We did give him a bite of the gravy food left over from his prior life. Will try again. It made his nose wiggle.
    3 units just like I have been all week. I’m so confused. He is never getting another shot without a test immediately
     
  23. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    He is taking honey well. We have been rubbing it on his gums and placing a little under his tongue. You all are the best!
     
    Critter Mom and JanetNJ like this.
  24. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    How long ago since the last test? How long since he last got honey/sugar syrup? Good to hear you can give that orally.
     
  25. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    And do not dilute the honey with water.
     
    Critter Mom and Shelley & Oliver like this.
  26. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    If he'll eat more, let him have several teaspoons full
     
  27. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    We aren’t, thank you!!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Maybe try to squeeze the gravy out of the food and see if Oliver will lick some of that - or if you have an oral syringe see if he'll take it that way. Syringe slowly from the side, across the tongue so it won't go down the wrong way.

    Do you have any Temptations or Dreamies treats in the house? If yes, see if he'll take some of those (they're high carb).


    Mogs
    .
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  29. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It's been half an hour since the last test result, could you test again? How is your kitty doing now?
     
  30. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    He is at 31 I will test again in 5 minutes. Still giving sugar and honey. He is more alert. If I miss any of your posts I am really sorry!!! This message board is new to me.
     
  31. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    OLIVER IS AT 69!! We will keep it up, what we’ve been doing. Thankful for you all.
     
  32. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Woot! Go Oliver! :cat:

    Give him some more honey and test again in 30 minutes.

    Shelley, please can you tell us what time you gave the Lantus shot and also what time zone you're in (so we can track how far along you are in the cycle).


    Mogs
    .
     
  33. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Mogs I see Shelley said this #1

    Cat has gone into seizures on us. Shot was at 8 am
    Seizure started at 10:15
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  34. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    And, I am on pacific time.
    3 units. Same dose as the whole last week.
    He’s twitching about every 10 seconds.
     
  35. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    T
    The random twitch is new. Much gentler than the seizures, but what do you think. Continuing honey ...
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  36. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    So it's almost 2 PM by you is that correct
    You gave lantus at 8AM
    It's now 2 PM is this correct
    @Shelley.Washington
     
  37. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  38. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yeah for 69! @Diane Tyler's Mom I am also on Pacific ST.

    To recap - Shelley please correct any mistakes.

    8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
    10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
    10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
    1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
     
  39. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    From facebook, you said you've been doing this a couple of weeks.... 3 units Lantus seems like a huge dose for him to be on after such a short period!
     
  40. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    From going back through your posts in the group, it looks like your vet started you at 2U and just recently increased to 3U and you were feeding Hills m/d Gluco Support.

    When did you start the 2U? When did you start the 3? Did you change his food (if so, when)
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  41. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    A favour to ask of all following - right now our focus is on getting the cat into good numbers (just done) and keeping him there (work in progress). With too many people posting other things, it's hard to focus. Dosing will come later, but as Marje said - no shot tonight.

    Shelley, we need to you to test again in 1/2 hour, to make sure he's staying above 68. We'll figure out a strategy going forward once we know your kitty will stay safe.
     
  42. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    This is correct
    2 U the two weeks before but he was still running in the 400s
    We switched off hills and started on Frisky pate a few days ago
    Gonna go test be right back
     
  43. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Oh no. It’s down to 38 again. 1/2 hour between test. Will keep try to get some gravy in him. He takes the honey well. And we made a title sugar syrup that we can get in him
    It’s 2:15 pacific right now
     
  44. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Back to rubbing honey in his mouth. Lantus hypos can go on for hours. Is there any way of getting to an emergency vet? This would really be better handled by a glucose drip at the vets.

    You might also want to consider the honey in the back end. Please test again in 20-30 minutes after the next honey.

    Updating the recap:
    8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
    10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
    10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
    1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
    2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
     
  45. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    2:35 now 37. Cat is more alert and acting a little cranky. He is twitching every so often. (Head and front paw twitches)
     
  46. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Shelley we're all REALLY worried that this may not be able to be dealt with at home. Is it absolutely impossible to get him to an ER vet to be put on a glucose drip? We don't want you to risk your life if it's really dangerous on the roads, but we're all terribly concerned that he's taking so much work and still not really responding.

    Do you have a needless syringe that you could use to put corn syrup/honey/pancake syrup directly into his rectum? We understand it sounds awful, but it could also save his life because you could get more into him at once and the glucose is picked up quickly from the intestinal tract to get into the bloodstream fast. And yes, it can be a mess....but again, it could save his life.
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  47. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Ditto what Chris said. Could you at least call a vet, even an ER vet for suggestions?

    Updating the recap:
    8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
    10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
    10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
    1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
    2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
    2:35 (+6.5) - 37
     
  48. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    3:05. Oliver is at 80 and starting to lick a little gravy when given.
     
  49. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good job! Now you've still got to keep testing every half hour for a while yet. The honey can wear off and numbers drop back down as you've seen. How is your test strip supply? Has his twitching stopped?

    Recap:
    8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
    10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
    10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
    1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
    2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
    2:35 (+6.5) - 37
    3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  50. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    3:05 Oliver at 80 and showing interest in food.
    Chris, sorry I just saw this one. We live on the equivalent of a one lane logging road way up high. We are are the beginning of a severe weather warning and we cannot. Take the risk. Even if we did get out I don’t know if we could get back. Our private road goes over 1000’ pretty straight up.
     
  51. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
     
  52. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Tes
    Test strip supply is just eyeballing it about 35 of them. Thankful
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  53. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Totally understand but that means you need to be extra careful to always have lots of extra supplies in case something like this happens again. Several cans of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers (the beef is the highest carb), a good supply of corn syrup/honey/pancake syrup, LOTS of extra strips (I usually got nervous if I dropped below 200 strips in the house) and get a few 5cc - 10cc syringes (no needle) just in case. Farm supply places usually carry a wide selection of different sized syringes without needles.
     
  54. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Thank goodness. Keep those numbers up, Oliver


    Now a warning, cats can be super sensitive to insulin following a low hypo. Obviously no insulin tonight, and going forward is drop that dose Waaaaay Back. I'll let the lantus people give the specific dosing advice. You are doing a great job of saving his life.
     
  55. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Shelley

    It would be helpful for you and the folks helping here if I got a spreadsheet up and running for Oliver. I need to send you a private message as I need just two things from you that we don’t post publicly. In just a few minutes, you’ll see a red “1” at the top right of this page by Inbox. Click on that and you’ll have a message from me.
     
    Wendy&Neko and Critter Mom like this.
  56. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    3:05 Oliver at 80 and showing interest in food.
     
    JanetNJ and THH & Snowcrash (GA) like this.
  57. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    3:40 Oliver at 128 and showing interest in gravy. Do I still keep feeding gravy and honey?
     
  58. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Given how long it has taken to get Oliver up into safe numbers and his having dropped back so far before, I think you could keep going with the gravy and test again in 30 minutes. Also, since you can't get to a vet it would be no harm to have him be that little bit higher (more of a safety buffer in case he might drop back again).


    Mogs
    .
     
  59. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Try some gravy with the meat chunks too. It's that regular food that'll sustain him.

    Recap:
    8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
    10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
    10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
    1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
    2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
    2:35 (+6.5) - 37
    3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
    3:40 (+7.5) - 128, showing interest in gravy
     
  60. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I've updated your subject line to include Oliver's name and the latest status. That allows people to see at a glance what it happening, and know that he's currently OK. It's only once we back off the gravy and honey and he sustains his numbers that we know he's out of the woods, so to speak.
     
  61. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Yes! He started accepting little chunks of meat. BG at 4:20 is 232.
     
  62. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Thanks so much for getting us through this you all!
     
  63. JL and Chip

    JL and Chip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The twitching can be seizure related so please continue to indicate on your updates whether that is still happening.
     
  64. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Awesome, great job today. You can put away the honey and gravy for now. And let's wait an hour to the next test. There still may be some of the honey goodness wearing off yet. It can take a couple hours for the carbs to wear off, in which case the numbers might drop a bit, but I doubt to a dangerous level. What you are seeing now is a bounce or reaction to those lows.

    You might want to think about ordering more test strips, you've gone through a lot today. In more ways than one. :bighug:

    Once Marje has helped you get a spreadsheet together, we can talk about strategies for dosing tomorrow.

    Recap:
    8:00 am - 3 units given (PST)
    10:15 (or +2.2.5) - cat starts seizing
    10:15 to now, tested at various times 20's and low 30's, honey given continuously
    1:30 (+5.5) - blood sugar at 69
    2:15 (+6.25) - back to 38
    2:35 (+6.5) - 37
    3:05 (+7) - 80 licking gravy
    3:40 (+7.5) - 128, showing interest in gravy
    4:20 (+8.25) - 232
     
  65. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Spreadsheet is up and linked. When Shelley can take a breath, I’ll get some additional info from her and fill in the empty spots but at least today is up.

    Great, great job, Shelley!!! And, of course, Wendy, Mogs, and others.

    As a reminder.....when we have a situation like this going on, it is absolutely best for the caregiver to have one or two, at most, experienced members helping. That avoids repetitive posts and also allows the caregiver to focus on the kitty and testing/feeding. We truly appreciate everyone’s help but it’s important to keep the thread short for the sake of the kitty and the CG. Once the crisis is past, then it’s fine to express your relief and support.

    Subject line updated. Thank you all very much.
     
  66. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Sir Oliver just scarfed a 1/4 of a big can of Paws Happy Life Turkey in gravy. He is curled in my lap he probably won’t like us taking his gravy, but that’s just means he’s getting better.
     
  67. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Wonderful job Shelley. I've been watching from the sidelines as you and Oliver were in very skilled hands.
     
  68. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    No insulin tonight right? What should I do at 8 am when it’s normal shot time. I KNOW I’m not giving him 3U!
     
  69. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Good job all. Shelley, breathe now.
     
    Critter Mom and Shelley & Oliver like this.
  70. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Right, none tonight.

    Several of us are discussing what to suggest for tomorrow morning so we'll let you know when we've come to a decision
     
  71. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    You're going to skip tonight and shoot at your usual AMPS tomorrow morning.

    After the low numbers that Oliver experienced today, if he's like many cats who experience an episode of symptomatic hypoglycemia, he may be VERY sensitive to the effect of insulin. I doubt your nerves could withstand another episode of Oliver in low numbers.

    In the meantime, do you think you can fill in some of Oliver's numbers from previous days on your spreadsheet?
     
  72. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I’m drained. I will for sure check it and fill in tomorrow, but at first glance I did not understand and I don’t have the brain power left to think any more...
     
    JanetNJ and Critter Mom like this.
  73. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Thank you so much.
     
  74. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    :bighug::bighug:Shelley and Oliver :bighug::bighug:

    I just wanted you to know how many of us were watching from the sidelines (as you got great support from the mods :bighug:) and thinking about you and Oliver today praying that he would be ok and have his BG come up. I’m so glad he did come up for you and is resting well.

    An extra round of hugs
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  75. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Forgot to add an important thing to your list!...a bottle of your favorite adult beverage for when it's all over!
     
  76. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    I left you instructions on the SS with the PM I sent. As Sienne said, it would be really helpful if you could add in any data but if you will PM me tomorrow, I’ll help you. Take tonight to rest.

    As Chris said, we’ve (we three moderators and Chris) been discussing tomorrow’s shot in the morning and, based on our experience with some other cats, the change in Oliver’s diet, the low number of strips you have, we believe you should skip the morning’s shot as well provided he’s never had any ketones.

    If you have urine or blood ketone test strips, we’d suggest you test him. We are assuming he’s been healthy....no infections?? Is he on any antibiotics and, if so, what are they for? Is there a chance you can get out tomorrow for supplies? It’s unlikely you could get more AT strips but perhaps it’s possible to get a human meter and strips? I don’t know where you are but the Nova Max Plus only requires a 0.3 ml drop like the AT and also tests blood ketones but you have to have different strips. Many members use ReliOn meters from Walmart like the Prime or Premier; they require a 0.5 ml drop.

    How is he doing? Have you tested him again? It’s a good idea to test him before you go to bed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2021
  77. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    thank you!
     
  78. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Good morning, Shelley.

    You did a sterling job working to get Oliver's numbers up last night. I've never been so pleased to see a cat's BG go over 200! I hope that Oliver is feeling OK today and that you had a good, restorative sleep for yourself because what you went through yesterday will have been incredibly draining. You must have been wiped out after the adrenaline surge passed. :bighug:

    Wishing you both a much better day today.

    (((Shelley and Oliver)))


    Mogs
    .
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
  79. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Now THAT’S a good idea. Heh
     
  80. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Thank you so much for helping us. All of you.
     
  81. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    I’m sorry, I just saw this. He has been healthy, yes, no infections. The last time I tested him was at 8:00 PM PT and he was still in the 200’s. Not sure if I reported that test or not. I was planning to test him at 8:00 am PT. It’s only 3:45 a.m. now, but I have a habit of waking when I’m supposed to be sleeping. . Will let you know in the morning what he reads, again, thanks for everything getting me through this emergency.
    Shelley
     
  82. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    I agree with "thebigfuzz". I think a lot of us were watching this post. Thank God Oliver is doing so much better. The "moderators" are life savers. They will help you with all of this. You did a great job, Shelley, in a very difficult situation! Prayers you never have to go through that again!
     
  83. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I have been watching from the sidelines as you got great support from the mods and Chris. I'm so happy Oliver is ok ♥:bighug::bighug:
    Great job Shelley
     
  84. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    So is chocolate. And good ice cream! :cat:

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  85. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Shelley

    How is Oliver doing today? Is he eating and acting normal? Is he still twitching and how much did he do so overnight, if any? Anything different about him today?

    When you are up, please test his BG. I entered the +20 for last night on the SS for you. You can enter it in the “AMPS” column or message me and I will enter it for you.

    Could we also ask, please, if you could start a new thread just as you did yesterday as this one has gotten quite long. Please entitle it something like “Oliver post hypo” as that will draw our attention. Once you have posted it, I’ll add a link in this thread to the new one.

    As history for others reading the new thread, we always post a link to the previous one so in the first text box of the new thread, we would appreciate it if you could cut and paste all of this below:

    Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/oliver-was-seizing-now-up-to-232.242335/#post-2730585
     
  86. Our Dolly Girl (GA)

    Our Dolly Girl (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    So grateful for now that Oliver and Shelley are okay. I was watching and sending my prayers and continue to do so. Mogs so good to see your name, you did so much for me. So many scary moments but watching the way all of you moderators stayed calm and cool and continued to update each moment / action and reaction. Thank you all from me for being there for Shelley and Oliver. Shelley you did an amazing job :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  87. Shelley & Oliver

    Shelley & Oliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Thank you for your prayers and good wishes!! Oliver and his parents were lucky to learn about this group!
     
  88. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  89. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Nice to see a picture of your beautiful boy!
     
    Shelley & Oliver likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page