Peeka vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peter (Peeka&Boo)

Active Member
Good afternoon everyone! Not sure how to feel about her BG tests done today. Firstly, Dr was very kind, answered the questions and even printed a copy of her BG test results today.
8:30 BG 297
11:30 BG 390
2:30 542

obviously these numbers are discouraging. He did recommend 3 units 2x daily and encouraged the in home testing, so I suppose we will try that tonight. I’m feeling pretty lousy, like I’m the one inadvertently causing this. Her hind legs aren’t looking any better either, it sucks watching her struggle like this.
 
Here it means Gone ahead or Guardian Angel lol
Didn’t even realize I had selected that, I’m sorry! She yelled at me to put her on her favorite counter since she couldn’t jump up there.
 

Attachments

  • DC636083-A573-48E9-82D8-F19D3F45280F.jpeg
    DC636083-A573-48E9-82D8-F19D3F45280F.jpeg
    50 KB · Views: 164
Did you discuss another insulin? What time did she get the insulin this am? So this it how Vetsulin works it peaks early and then it starts to go down. You can see she went for the lowest to the highest number and that’s because it’s not a long acting insulin o_O

Remember the legs won’t improve until the diabetes is regulated. It could get worse even you have to prepare for that and know it’s part of the process. I strongly recommend you switch insulin. 3 units is too high a dose to go up to without home testing. I’d stay where you are until you get the home testing going. For future reference, here we advise increase and decrease in dose by .25 units not a full 1 unit because when you speed up the process like that, you risk passing right through the ideal dose
 
Didn’t even realize I had selected that, I’m sorry! She yelled at me to put her on her favorite counter since she couldn’t jump up there.
Minnie used to do that too! One night she woke me up screaming because she had peed on her bed and didn’t stop until I changed up the cover and pee pad and then climbed right back into the bed and fell asleep lol!
 
Did you discuss another insulin? What time did she get the insulin this am? So this it how Vetsulin works it peaks early and then it starts to go down. You can see she went for the lowest to the highest number and that’s because it’s not a long acting insulin o_O

Remember the legs won’t improve until the diabetes is regulated. It could get worse even you have to prepare for that and know it’s part of the process. I strongly recommend you switch insulin. 3 units is too high a dose to go up to without home testing. I’d stay where you are until you get the home testing going. For future reference, here we advise increase and decrease in dose by .25 units not a full 1 unit because when you speed up the process like that, you risk passing right through the ideal dose
We did discuss a new insulin, he even mentioned one that is discussed on this forum, I just can’t remember the name right away. He did acknowledge that this was a faster acting one, but didn’t last quite as long. I’m going to start testing in the AM before her first shot of insulin, and look to order one of the recommended insulin’s tomorrow.
 
We did discuss a new insulin, he even mentioned one that is discussed on this forum, I just can’t remember the name right away. He did acknowledge that this was a faster acting one, but didn’t last quite as long. I’m going to start testing in the AM before her first shot of insulin, and look to order one of the recommended insulin’s tomorrow.
Please let us know which before you order so we can give you advice
 
And it’s cheap too. I looked it up when my friend mentioned the price to me and tons of articles popped up about how it’s not the best insulin for cats. So I stuck with Lantus and happy I did!
I think it may have been Lantus that he mentioned. Is that one that is easy to purchase in the states? I live in TX if that helps.
 
That could be the case, truthfully if it weren’t for this group, I wouldn’t have known there was a difference in insulin’s.
My tip for you is google everything. Seriously. That’s even how I found this forum ha! You have to become an expert so you can advocate for your cats. Good practice for you with a baby on the way. Soon you’ll be advocating for her or him too! :)
 
This is all good Peter. I just want to say again, do not get discouraged. You’ve changed course and are on the right path now. It took me 6 months before I did that, so I know what you’re going through but cats are resilient and she’ll be her old self soon. Hey if Minnie recovered from diabetes, neuropathy, IBD, pneumonia and cardiomyopathy, Peeka will be just fine :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My tip for you is google everything. Seriously. That’s even how I found this forum ha! You have to become an expert so you can advocate for your cats. Good practice for you with a baby on the way. Soon you’ll be advocating for her or him too! :)
Very true! I’m learning a lot more than I thought possible about feline diabetes. I had seen a lot of people post about the ups and downs and I suppose this is just part of it.
 
This is all good Peter. I just want to say again, do not get discouraged. You’ve changed course and are on the right path now. It took me 6 months before I did that, so I know what you’re going through but cats are resilient and she’ll be her old self soon. Hey if Minnie recovered from diabetes, neuropathy, IBD, pneumonia and cardiomyopathy, Peeka will be just fine :bighug::bighug::bighug:

thank you for your encouragement. I know i can do a better job of riding the waves and maintaining the positive attitude, I just wear my heart on my sleeves sometimes and truly want the best for my sweet cats.
 
Thanks, Peter.


Peeka - Weight 8lb - Vetsulin - Starting Dose 2IU - Current Dose 2IU - Currently eating Royal Canin Glycobalance high carb dry food. (c. 28% carbs on dry matter basis).

Converted into 'spreadsheet-speak', Peeka's results today are as follows:

AMPS - 06:30 [BG not known] Dose 2 IU Vetsulin.
AM+2 - 08:30 - 297
AM+5 - 11:30 - 390
AM+8 - 14:30 - 542

It's not clear what's happening without Peeka's preshot BG level.

If we assume for now that it was higher than the +2 BG then it looks like she may be having a relatively early nadir (although she may have been lower at +3 or +4 with this insulin) and by +8 the dose has pretty much pooped out (again, expected with this insulin).

If Peeka was my cat, before increasing the dose I would like to do a couple of days home testing to get a better picture of what's happening at preshot and in the early hours after dosing for both AM and PM cycles (tests at +3 on each cycle would be very helpful).

You will also need to start testing Boo for a few days to see how he is doing before even considering the start of any food transition.

I would also want to have a very in-depth discussion with my vet about transitioning both cats to a lower carb food. The carb load is very high in the Royal Canin dry food and is probably what has Peeka at such high BG levels at the moment. Both her dose and Boo's are very likely to need to be reduced.

If Peeka were my cat, I would prefer to stick at the current dose (assuming she stays safe on it for the time being) and go for a controlled and monitored food transition and then review your kitties' status again with your vet.

If you switch to low carb wet food, you will need to be extremely careful because the difference in carb loads should have a BIG impact on BG levels.

All food transitions need to be done slowly - for all cats - because introduction of the new food can often cause digestive upsets. Tummy troubles can lead to the cat not wanting to eat at all, and that is a place you doubly don't want to go to when the cats need insuiln.

Typically a food transition goes as follows (non-diabetic cats):

75% : 25%, Old Diet : New Diet - hold for at least 2-3 days, or longer if any GI disturbances.
50% : 50%, Old Diet : New Diet - hold for at least 2-3 days, or longer if any GI disturbances.
25% : 75%, Old Diet : New Diet - hold for at least 2-3 days, or longer if any GI disturbances.
100% New Diet. (Give self pat on back and, if one had a mind, a good stiff gin to calm much-shredded nerves.)

On top of all that lot, throughout the transition you will need to closely monitor blood glucose levels and insulin doses for both cats - highly likely needing to reduce those doses - to keep Peeka and Boo safe and well.

That's a fair bit of juggling, and I think the best approach is to have a window clear and a good plan of attack before going on food manoeuvres.

It shines out of your posts how much you and your wife love your little furry charges, and we can sense the urgency of your desire to help them; we all feel that way. But we have put the safety of our little ones before our desire to see them all better - by yesterday!!!

For a safe and successful transition, getting all your ducks in a row first is a good place to start:

* clear schedule to accommodate days to closely monitor insulin levels as each step of the food transition is made (1 step each weekend over a period of weeks?)
* work on testing technique and build up a good foundation of BG data to see where your starting point is.
* establish a line of communication with the vet should you need to seek his help during the switch.
* make sure you have a well-stocked hypo toolbox that can cater for all eventualities.
* get in a bumper supply of test strips for your meter!

When all that is in place you should be good to go.

Hope this makes sense. I'm so tired I'm struggling to read the screen. This is just my two penn'orth. Other members may suggest alternative approaches.

Oíche mhaith, a chairde.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Well, unfortunately this morning was unable to get an AMPS reading. Peeks is still annoyed with me and was having none of sitting still for me and even less so to get a sample. Thankfully I get home earlier today so I’ll be able to get some practice in before our PMPS.
 
Cats. :banghead:

Morning, Peter.

I suggest just putting Peeka at her testing station, giving her fusses and praise, and - most important of all - a nummy treat. Then move her somewhere else and let her go about her business. If you keep repeating that she should hopefully start associating her testing spot with nice things happening. Fingers and paws crossed... :nailbiting:


Mogs
.
 
* clear schedule to accommodate days to closely monitor insulin levels as each step of the food transition is made (1 step each weekend over a period of weeks?)

Mogs
.

this is all incredible information, and i thank you so much for the time and effort spent into working that out for us. Going to start spreadsheets today for The cats. I think right now with Boo, I’m going to maintain his program as it’s working, before trying to switch up anything until either my wife or I can be home to monitor their health. She is back at work and I’d rather start making these changes when i can assess what’s happening. It sounds like the changes may be slow coming, but hopefully getting the pre shot reads can help determine a little more about what the next steps are.
 
Well it’s probably for the best that Peeks wasn’t cooperating with me this morning, I just got home and went to try and give the +1 test, only to realize that my test kit doesn’t include the lancets. Not sure how i didn’t realize that this morning. Going to blame that one on my brain still trying to wake up.
 
No other real updates as of yet. Peeka's walk seemed to look a little bit better, but still struggling at times. She is still hopping up onto her favorite couch and lounging around the house like normal, just taking a little longer to get there. I will update with a test result later today, should be +8 unfortunately, I know the Vetsulin will probably be worn off, but that should mean that I get a good PMPS tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top