Suzanne & Darcy
Very Active Member
It should be+3 now if you shot at 7:15
BG 88....thank goodness it's headed back up. Hopefully not too much?It should be+3 now if you shot at 7:15
Okay. It’s come up a little bit but not a lot. That’s the food. Please retest in another 30 minutes to make sure it’s not going down again. It’s still very early in the cycle and the insulin will be very active.BG 88....thank goodness it's headed back up. Hopefully not too much?
Okay. It’s come up a little bit but not a low. That’s the food. Please retest in another 30 minutes to make sure it’s not going down again. It’s still very early in the cycle and the insulin will be very active.
I added to remarks and coded it the light green used for BG at the time of food. Hope that's correct.Please also make notes in your spreadsheet about the food that you fed (you can just put 24% carb if you want to) and at what hour the food was given at what BG. You can put this in the remarks cell or in the actual cell where it was fed - but then you have to manually color code the cell and I am not sure if you know how to do that.
Let’s see what the number is.I will test in 30 minutes. If it's headed down should I give tsp science diet or something else? I have a can of fancy feast white meat chicken florentine with garden greens in a delicate sauce- the chart says 15 carbs on that one.
It looks fine except that you fed the food at about +2I added to remarks and coded it the light green used for BG at the time of food. Hope that's correct.
My wifi keeps dropping...I have to wait a couple minutes for it to reconnect. 11:05 BG 97. I hope it'snot going to get too high.I assume you are testing in 5 minutes for a +4?
Okay just test in one hour for a plus 5. Don’t worry about it going too high. He doesn’t seem prone to high numbers lately. If you give a teaspoon of low carb Fancy Feast flaked food that would be good right now.My wifi keeps dropping...I have to wait a couple minutes for it to reconnect. 11:05 BG 97. I hope it'snot going to get too high.
Okay just test in one hour for a plus 5. Don’t worry about it going too high. He doesn’t seem prone to high numbers lately. If you give a teaspoon of low carb Fancy Feast flaked food that would be good right now.
Excellent number and not going up too fast. So glad about the food with the magic chicken dust. Like I said, my cats like it too.11:30 I fed tsp of chicken and tuna flaked low carb BUT had to sprinkle tiny amounts crushed freeze dried chicken breast-he ate it all
12:15 BG 103
I never thought to crush it. It makes all the difference! Thank you!!Excellent number and not going up too fast. So glad about the food with the magic chicken dust. Like I said, my cats like it too.
Hi, I've update the signature block. Please let me know if it doesn't display properly.When you get a chance it would be helpful to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
- Add info we need to help you:
- Caregiver & kitty's name
- DX: Date
- Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
- Name of your meter
- Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
- Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
- DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
- Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
- Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
- Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Take a look at mine
He really doesn't like being in the 90'sDid you get a +7?
Okay, you’re doing well.I did...BG 93.
I've been trying to get him to eat some more fancy feast with chicken. he ate maybe 1/2 tsp. He's licking his lips again. I also took him outside. He likes to walk around in the yard and I think it may help with the glucose.
It’s not uncommon for cats who are used to being in high numbers not to feel well in the low numbers. Their bodies are not used to it. Some will even hide or get lethargic. It’s like me when you take my caffeine away. Poor boy.He really doesn't like being in the 90's![]()
All those labs look good for a cat of his age. The low lymphocytes are caused by the steroid of course. What I don’t understand is that you said he was diagnosed in December, but is BG was only 141.
He was diagnosed June 27. The labs I sent a couple hours ago are from December. Just for comparison with the labs I sent from June visit. Sorry for the confusionAll those labs look good for a cat of his age. The low lymphocytes are caused by the steroid of course. What I don’t understand is that you said he was diagnosed in December, but is BG was only 141.
BG 123. He looks good tooTest at +9?
Can you monitor tonight for a while?7:10 pm BG 113. I'm going to give him dinner but 113 is the lowest i've seen evening pre shot.
I can...what's the protocol?Can you monitor tonight for a while?
Did you shoot yet?I can...what's the protocol?
no shot...too worried about the low number.Did you shoot yet?
Okay. Try to get a few tests before you go to bed so you can see where he goes with no shot.no shot...too worried about the low number.
8:15 BG 142Okay. Try to get a few tests before you go to bed so you can see where he goes with no shot.
Put it in the +1 cell and be sure to put “ns” or “no shot” in the units cell for this evening.8:15 BG 142
I don't know how to add this on spreadsheet.
Thank you and I added to spreadsheet. Also BG 9:15 144Put it in the +1 cell and be sure to put “ns” or “no shot” in the units cell for this evening.
Good job. So we can see that he was on his way up at preshot time. But for now, he is still pretty stable in the 140s. Interesting.Thank you and I added to spreadsheet. Also BG 9:15 144
Okay. I got it now. I was driving in a car most of the afternoon and my daughter was reading it to me. I thought she said “in December when he was diagnosed.” Then I told her what to type for me.He was diagnosed June 27. The labs I sent a couple hours ago are from December. Just for comparison with the labs I sent from June visit. Sorry for the confusion
I hope I am not inundating you, but at this point you probably don’t need to pay for the fructosamine test. It will give a number that is an average of blood glucose over about the last two weeks or so. Now that you are testing, you can figure this out for yourself- you will have a good idea anyway. My meter even has a function where it will tell me a 7, 14, and I think even a 30 day average of my BG readings.He did eat the freeze dried chicken and some more of the fancy feastNext week I can get a mobile vet to come do a fructosamine test.
I'm going to do the BG right now and will post shortly.
He has been on and off prednisolone for many years. This particular round was started back in December. By June, date of diabetes diagnosis, he had been on 5 mg twice daily for five months. Also during those five months he ate everything he could get ahold of-people food included.When was the steroid started? Do you recall what month/ year? A BG of only 141 at the vet would not really be cause for concern as any cat might have that due to stress of being at the vet. Some of my non-diabetic cats have gone higher.
Isn’t that amazing!10:15 BG unchanged-144
That’s quite a high dose of pred (I mean twice a day). Steroids do increase thirst and hunger, but it does look like it sent him into diabetes. He doesn’t seem to need much insulin at this point. Maybe we can find a dose that will just give him the support he needs while (hopefully) his pancreas heals.He has been on and off prednisolone for many years. This particular round was started back in December. By June, date of diabetes diagnosis, he had been on 5 mg twice daily for five months. Also during those five months he ate everything he could get ahold of-people food included.