PMPS Level

Status
Not open for further replies.

H.M. Victor (GA)

Active Member
Victor's PMPS number is 327 and I was wondering if there's any chance anyone can tell me within the next 20 minutes whether or not that's okay to give his full 2 units of Humulin or should it be lowered?
 
I'm not a humulin expert, and there's not much data on your spreadsheet, but it doesn't look like it would be a bad idea to keep the usual dose. It's so hard to say without some mid-shot numbers.

What concerns you about it?
 
I'm not a humulin expert, and there's not much data on your spreadsheet, but it doesn't look like it would be a bad idea to keep the usual dose. It's so hard to say without some mid-shot numbers.

What concerns you about it?
I'm still new at this as well, and I just don't know what numbers would be considered at the range where it would be safer to give a lower dose than the full one. I'm probably just being over-cautious, but I just don't want to risk his numbers going too low, because if we were to have an emergency and needed to take him to the vet, we don't have a car, so I don't know what we would do.
 
I understand! It's only been a week for us! I would stay with the regular dose for now. It's always a good idea to test around 3-5 hours after the shot, especially at night when they tend to run just a skosh lower than during the day. It depends on how late you stay up, I suppose :)

Have you read and printed what to do in case of a hypo? I saw the corn syrup post, so I'm assuming you're just generally being cautious, which is great to be prepared!
 
Have you read and printed what to do in case of a hypo? I saw the corn syrup post, so I'm assuming you're just generally being cautious, which is great to be prepared!
Yes, just being cautious :) I've just seen that there's like a dark-colored Karo syrup and a clear one, and I just didn't know if it mattered which one you used.
 
Yeah, as long as it's corn syrup it shouldn't matter :)

You've read the sticky post about Humulin?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top