Thanks for letting us know.
My suggestion then, is to decide what her “no shot” number is (120 is a little high but I understand where your DH is coming from) to keep her safe because your insulin can drop her like a rock. Shoot whatever BG you get above that with an appropriate dose. You should have a scale that sets the parameters for what dose you give based on her BG and keeping her safe. Until you are consistently seeing greens, I wouldn’t completely remove the insulin.
How does that sound?
Yes, this is where the discussion here is. After much back and forth between me and DH. Until we have more info on how she reacts to drops her shoot a drop schedule is as follows.
99 or below no shot
If we are home, anything 100 and above gets a drop.
If we are not home then nothing over 120 to 125 if no previous data acquired. When we get data we reevaluate how she reacts. I have a sneaking feeling a no shot will happen up to 130 when I've left and noone is home on weekdays to check weekday Nadir. Some lunch times our son can drop by and do a visual check but that's really it. He faints at the sight of blood poor thing. But he is 17 and can do a very basic check on how alert she is, is she purring and behaving like herself, like climb up on his shoulders And throw down food for her.
I leave may 1st until May 28th at which point DH is kind of solo although we are in constant contact about her. (This trip is going to be killer, only a cabin bag for 28 days, some of my transits are so tight there's bo way i can check luggage and complicated multiple airlines.)
We also tried to spread out the food more today within those tight confines. So she got 50 grams at AMPS, 40 at +3 and another 10 at +6. That's about as far as I can stretch the food out portion wise. I feel like the food bump wasn't as drastic as 22.04 when it was 74, vs a more moderate 40 today. I still would have liked to see lower numbers.
If she switches kidney meds we can Probably time her feedings more. She's never home alone for more than 8.5 hours, a few times a year maybe 9 to 10. We have a timed feeder so we could easily do AMPS, +3, +6, +9 and same for PMPS, but she won't switch to the optimal other kidney meds while on insulin.. This cat throws so many Catch 22s. 8 small feedings a day wouldn't be an issue. Vs 92% of her food now in 4 feedings in 3 hours.
Even before she was sick, when we went on a 3 week trip, we had people come 3 times a day, morning, midday and evening. Never more than 12 hours home alone was always the rule for her... After that she gets to mischievous ...
But yeah.. We will see where she goes.. The impatient and slightly controlling part of me just wants to finish off any drops experiments before I leave when I'm here AM cycle to monitor so we know what they do... But of course if she needs them that probably won't show until the day I leave!