Possible switch tomorrow evening

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Spacey & Ella, Jan 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spacey & Ella

Spacey & Ella Member

Aloha everyone,

As you might know I'm trying to get Spacey on Lantus. I finally got my vet to order me some Lantus.
    Tomorrow Spacey get's her dental and it is possible that the Lantus has arrived and I can take it with me.
    If so, I would like to start her tomorrow evening on it.
    What starting dose should I use?
    1 IE??

2. Tina & Sammy

Tina & Sammy Well-Known Member

I am not an expert, but from everything I have learned from this board, the key is to start low, and increase slowly allowing your cat to adjust to the dose. I have been giving Sami Lantus for over two months and before coming to this board Sami was all over the place with her numbers. I have since learned that I need to pick a starting point (1 unit in my case because I didn't know about .5 units) and stick with it for at least a few days. Keep asking questions and the veterans will chime in with their opinions. In the end you will have to make the final decision, but at least you will get a lot of helpful input before you have to make the decision.

3. Ronnie & Luna

Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

Hi Ella

Welcome to Lantus Land..your name is Ella right? lol
    While you wait for feedback, read up on the info stickies above. Sometimes it takes reading them a few times.

Are u able to give a bit more info on Spacey? What food is Spacey eating? Any health issues? Weight?
    Some of this you may of already answered, to make it easier, this is info you add to your profile.

Also, take a look thru other condo's here, a condo is a thread. Each cat has their own thread each day. All this is explained in the New to Group stickie above.

Hope to see u posting often and looking forward to meeting Spacey. Good luck with the dental!
    :D cat_pet_icon

4. Barbara and tuffy