? Should I dose?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Laura Martelle-Miller, Aug 3, 2020.

  1. Laura Martelle-Miller

    Laura Martelle-Miller New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Ember was at 119 this morning pre-meal and now she is at 155 pre-meal. Should I dose her a shaved .5 after she eats? I think I would feel more comfortable testing her maybe an hour after she eats before dosing.
     
  2. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
  3. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    If my spreadsheet looked like yours, with it's very limited data, I would skip. Since you're SLGS, protocol says skip if reading is under 150, which you're not at, but you're not missing by much. If you had more data maybe, but I don't think you've been doing this quite long enough to have a good idea on what your baby does yet.
     
    Laura Martelle-Miller likes this.
  4. Laura Martelle-Miller

    Laura Martelle-Miller New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Yes, I just started testing on July 24th. Also, she still has not eaten her food after I put it down 40 mins ago.
     
  5. Laura Martelle-Miller

    Laura Martelle-Miller New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    I'm not sure what bump means.
     
  6. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    While eating immediately before the shot isn't as critical, she just needs food prior to when the insulin starts taking effect, generally somewhere around 4-6 hours after the shot. However, again, with as slim of data as you have, no shot if it were me.

    Take this time to grab a few extra tests though if you can, because data on what happens when she doesn't get a shot at that level is just as important as if you gave her a shot. Try for what would be a typical +4/5/before bed and closer to +9/10. If you can grab a test about 1 hour after she eats, that would be good info just to see how far up eating drives her numbers.
     
    Laura Martelle-Miller likes this.
  7. Laura Martelle-Miller

    Laura Martelle-Miller New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Another question. If I take an AMPS reading at 6:30 and then take another at 8, do I round up and post it on the +2?
     
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    AMPS is the test before you shoot. If you take another test 1.5 hours later, you can call it the +1.5. I rounded up or done most of the in between times. You can post it on the +1 as a xx@+1.5. Sometimes, when kitty is low, we'll be testing 20-30 minute apart, so you'll need that distinction.

    A little housekeeping note for you, we prefer that people have just one post per day there. There are lots of kitties, so we ask that you follow a few guidelines to help keep track of cats and how they are doing today. When we are busy, emergencies from a couple days ago aren't so interesting. :) If you take a look at the info post at the top of this forum called PSA - Please Read, you'll see those guidelines.
     
    Laura Martelle-Miller likes this.

Share This Page