? Should i increase dose for am, please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

mary hornbeck

Active Member
he everyone, I am sorry for this late post. I did a 10p BG reading tonight and it was 81 so I gave him 1/2/can of fancy at 6p it was 350, please refer to SS. I am wondering if he will go lower by his next BG read about 6a, please advise for am
 
Those numbers
81
97
151
are pretty much fine. He could have gone lower, so it was good to give him the food. I dose Leo a little less in the evening because he doesn't eat much after PMPS +4hrs.

I would probably give him 2U in the morning. Especially if he has a good appetite and is eating well during the day. You might consider the reduced dose at night, like I'm doing.
 
Why did you only do 1.5 at pm? That should have been 1.75
I was going by the numbers that u posted the other day, I misread, now what should I do since I screwed it up. That’s what happens when I post at 6 am and am not really awake. How do us think this will affect his AMPS the next morning? Hopefully I won’t have a bounce
 
Last edited:
I was going by the numbers that u posted the other day, I misread, now what should I do since I screwed it up. That’s what happens when I post at 6 am and am not really awake. How do us think this will affect his AMPS the next morning? Hopefully I won’t have a bounce
I think you are misunderstanding what a bounce is. A bounce is when a cat goes too low and releases stored glucose causing the next preshot to be high.

It's not screwed up, just may stay a little higher this cycle. No biggie. Next time its 280-320 try 1.75.
 
Why did you only do 1.5 at pm? That should have been 1.75
Imgave him the 1.5 units at 6, how can I correct this to accommodate for the 1.75/units? Or is it to late?
I think you are misunderstanding what a bounce is. A bounce is when a cat goes too low and releases stored glucose causing the next preshot to be high.

It's not screwed up, just may stay a little higher this cycle. No biggie. Next time its 280-320 try 1.75.
janet I’m so sorry, should I give him any additional insulin given number I just posted
 
If it’s okay, can u be on the look out for me in the am, I just want to make sure I am dosing correctly. I know that I am being repetitive but that’s one of my worst qualities
 
So if his bg requires a different dose age in the am I should still ge by the number guidelines that were previously posted, how does that work?
 
I guess what I am asking is that is it common to administer different units in the am and pm. For example an am may be 3 units and a pm maybe 2 units, does situations like that happen
 
Here is a summary of Janet's recommended dosing. Corrections welcome. I agree with the recommendations.
over 320 - 2 units
280-320 - 1.75
250-280 - 1.5
adding
under 200 - no dose

If BG = 197, that is close enough. A single kibble would probably take Marmalade up to 220.
 
Imgave him the 1.5 units at 6, how can I correct this to accommodate for the 1.75/units? Or is it to late?
If you've given a smaller than normal dose then you need to wait until the next regular dose time before giving any more insulin.

The same rule goes if you mess up the injection - a 'fur shot' as they're called here. You wait until the next regular dose time to give insulin again because there's no way of knowing how much insulin did/didn't get into the kitty.


Mogs
.
 
Yes, some people provide different AM and PM dosages. Leo eats almost nothing after 9pm. His daily doses are:
AM - 4.5 units, sometimes 5.0 units
PM - 2.5 to 3.0 units

And we sometimes get a BG = 102 for AMPS. But it cranks up high after his first breakfast.
 
Imgave him the 1.5 units at 6, how can I correct this to accommodate for the 1.75/units? Or is it to late?

janet I’m so sorry, should I give him any additional insulin given number I just posted
Don't shoot more. It's really not a huge difference.
 
Imgave him the 1.5 units at 6, how can I correct this to accommodate for the 1.75/units? Or is it to late?

janet I’m so sorry, should I give him any additional insulin given number I just posted
tha
Here is a summary of Janet's recommended dosing. Corrections welcome. I agree with the recommendations.
over 320 - 2 units
280-320 - 1.75
250-280 - 1.5
adding
under 200 - no dose

If BG = 197, that is close enough. A single kibble would probably take Marmalade up to 220.
nk u so much Jeff, this is easier for me to read as much as janet posted it for me.
 
Don't shoot more. It's really not a huge difference.

Yes, some people provide different AM and PM dosages. Leo eats almost nothing after 9pm. His daily doses are:
AM - 4.5 units, sometimes 5.0 units
PM - 2.5 to 3.0 units

And we sometimes get a BG = 102 for AMPS. But it cranks up high after his first breakfast.
Let's see what the numbers so tomorrow. I may revise that scale to increase on some of those numbers.
what is a good time to post given marmalade eats at 6a? I tend to,panick when stalling until I hear from someone
 
Did my mistake prompt a revision
Waiting to hear from someone is really hard for me as I am not the type of person who works well kind being in limbo, so I apologize if I sound impatient. I am not as nervous when I have a “game plan” in advance, if that’s possible with nature of diabetes
 
Last edited:
Imgave him the 1.5 units at 6, how can I correct this to accommodate for the 1.75/units? Or is it to late?

janet I’m so sorry, should I give him any additional insulin given number I just posted
i never knew that doseage could be different, my vet only made any insulin changes at .5 for atnleast a week, now I see where I made my mistake,
 
"Waiting to hear from someone is really hard"
Ha ha. Don't panic. Really we are trying to get Marmalade regulated. It will be a week or so. Even with accidental low doses, you are doing good. The dose wasn't that low.

There are 2 dangers in diabetes:
- hypo, under 50, which can kill. I assume you read about it by now. If not, there is hypo info in the lantus subforum
- hyper (high), not as dangerous daily

With insulin dosing we are trying to bring the BG out of the high numbers. Over time, high BG causes glucose toxicity and other bad stuff. But a few high BG numbers in a one month period, doesn't have much effect on the cat (or human). Well, in humans it actually seems to make them friggin cranky. At least with the dude I used to know.

One thing you can do in your spare time is read some of the FAQs. I read them multiple times when I was getting started. Maybe there are some super smart people that just memorize them the first time thru.
.
 
Here is a summary of Janet's recommended dosing. Corrections welcome. I agree with the recommendations.
over 320 - 2 units
280-320 - 1.75
250-280 - 1.5
adding
under 200 - no dose

If BG = 197, that is close enough. A single kibble would probably take Marmalade up to 220.
just to be on the same page as everyone the “rule of thumb”would be to give insulin per these numbers no matter what
 
For me, the AM posting is irrelevant. I'm on CST and not fully cognitive until 9:30am. :D
Janet will be up and at 'em by then.
 
"Waiting to hear from someone is really hard"
Ha ha. Don't panic. Really we are trying to get Marmalade regulated. It will be a week or so. Even with accidental low doses, you are doing good. The dose wasn't that low.

There are 2 dangers in diabetes:
- hypo, under 50, which can kill. I assume you read about it by now. If not, there is hypo info in the lantus subforum
- hyper (high), not as dangerous daily

With insulin dosing we are trying to bring the BG out of the high numbers. Over time, high BG causes glucose toxicity and other bad stuff. But a few high BG numbers in a one month period, doesn't have much effect on the cat (or human). Well, in humans it actually seems to make them friggin cranky. At least with the dude I used to know.

One thing you can do in your spare time is read some of the FAQs. I read them multiple times when I was getting started. Maybe there are some super smart people that just memorize them the first time thru.
.
I am definately not a number person which bites me in the butt, all the time
 
Those numbers are for your cat only. Each cat has their own insulin needs. Janet has customized the dose for the current period.

Example: Leo gets 3.0 to 5.0 Units to keep him regulated. His insulin demand is different.
 
Those numbers are for your cat only. Each cat has their own insulin needs. Janet has customized the dose for the current period.

Example: Leo gets 3.0 to 5.0 Units to keep him regulated. His insulin demand is different.
I will post by 6 am so would my window still be half an hour after AMPS or PM
PS stand to give insulin while waiting to hear from someone? How long does it take to hear back from someone? Should I start a new thread when I post tomorrow am?
 
You can just dose based on the recommended sliding scale that Janet provided. Typical protocol for daily routines is:
- test BG
- dose
- food immediately

I usually dose Leo after he starts chowing into his breakfast or dinner.
 
You can just dose based on the recommended sliding scale that Janet provided. Typical protocol for daily routines is:
- test BG
- dose
- food immediately

I usually dose Leo after he starts chowing into his breakfast or dinner.
That’s pretty much what I do too
 
If marmalade is really Hungary in the am he won’t let me dose after testing his BG, I have to shoot while he is eating​
 
Waiting to hear from someone is really hard for me as I am not the type of person who works well kind being in limbo, so I apologize if I sound impatient. I am not as nervous when I have a “game plan” in advance, if that’s possible with nature of diabetes
I am the same. Don’t worry. Someone will respond.
 
Should I continue to test as much as I have been or is it okay to test at the AMPS and PMPS intervals
The amount of testing can vary depending on where you are in trying figure out a dose. When you try a new dose it's a good idea to do PS of course but also a mid cycle in the day and a bedtime test at night. If you're seeing some nicer numbers with these you might want to do a curve at that dose on a day off to get a fuller picture.
 
Typical protocol for daily routines is:
- test BG
- dose
- food immediately

Just adding my 2 cents.....we usually Test/Feed/Shoot

You don't want to shoot and then find out that kitty won't eat!!

With Vetsulin, we usually test (to make sure they're high enough for insulin), Feed (to make sure they eat a normal amount), wait 15-20 minutes and Shoot.

Since Vetsulin can hit "hard and fast", it's important that there's food on board.

With the longer acting, gentler insulins, it's not as important that they eat a certain amount....the "onset of action" isn't for 2-3 hours so you have time to get the cat to eat more, but with Vetsulin, they really need to eat a pretty normal sized meal first.
 
Just adding my 2 cents.....we usually Test/Feed/Shoot

You don't want to shoot and then find out that kitty won't eat!!

With Vetsulin, we usually test (to make sure they're high enough for insulin), Feed (to make sure they eat a normal amount), wait 15-20 minutes and Shoot.

Since Vetsulin can hit "hard and fast", it's important that there's food on board.

With the longer acting, gentler insulins, it's not as important that they eat a certain amount....the "onset of action" isn't for 2-3 hours so you have time to get the cat to eat more, but with Vetsulin, they really need to eat a pretty normal sized meal first.
Hi , do I still have window to give insulin at 7 instead of 6, I had to run out and get test strips, do I still have my window, please help panicking
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top