? Skip dose

Given the history of DKA I wouldn't skip unless very low. But this is great! Might be nearing remission.

I'd consider drop doses or 0.1U for a week or so to see how he does.

@Deb & Wink @Critter Mom thoughts?
 
Wow! Big, big improvement, Felix! :cat:

You've had readings below 90 so you definitely need to reduce the dose, Rachael. The normal recommendation per the FDMB Vetsulin guide would be to reduce to 0.25IU but with those numbers on an Alphatrak meter I think Melissa's suggestion to reduce to 0.1IU or a drop dose are on point.

WRT to the history of DKA, because you've had to drop the dose so much it would be very much advisable to test daily for ketones as a safety precaution (if you're not already doing so). Monitoring for ketones would give you more peace of mind if you need to skip doses - and for safety it looks like you're going to need to. If it was my cat on Vetsulin and running in this range I'd be very wary of giving insulin if I couldn't monitor the cycle. I recommend giving your vet a ring to discuss dosing strategy and ketone safety during this important stage in Felix' treatment.

How is Felix in general? Feeling well and acting OK? Eating well?


Mogs
.
 
You might consider getting some U100 syringes, 3/10 cc with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel.
They can help you to measure those smaller doses.
Multiple the U40 insulin amount by 2.5 to know how much to draw up in the U100 syringe.
 
Pmps is 59. I fed & skipping dose. Will check bg @ +3, +6, +9. I have studied the marks for 0.1 on a U40 syringe and feel confident that I can do it. I don't want to shoot under 90. Any thoughts? Thank you for the support and info.
 
I wouldn't shoot under 90 either.

With Vetsulin, I wouldn't shoot under 150. Probably not under 200, until I had a lot more test data and knew what my cat would respond for the cycle.

Is Felix being fed at least 20-30 minutes before the insulin shot? That is important to do with Vetsulin (aka Caninsulin) because it onsets faster and harder than some other insulins.
 
Back
Top