Smiffy Autumn progress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Looby & Smiffy

Active Member
- Link removed by Moderator - Please see the "recap" Lucille has posted below.

Lucille, the thread you linked was closed for a reason. You were warned not to drag anything from that thread into a new thread or the new thread would be closed. However, I've opted to leave this thread open (for Smiffy's sake) for the time being... barring any further problems. Please be advised this and other problems surrounding your threads have not gone unnoticed. All these types of incidents have been taken straight to our Board Administrator.
Action pending.


Edited to add - Here's the correct link to your last thread: Smiffy Caninsulin beg Autumn progress
----------------------------------------------

@MrWorfMen's Mom @JanetNJ @Alexi @manxcat419 @Woodsywife @donnalea @Louise1989 @Squalliesmom @HWright @purpleallie @scoobydoox @Kako & Tux


This is Smiffy's Autumn thread, so to recap:

Smiffy and I are in the UK. She is on Caninsulin and was diagnosed in April 2016.

As you will see from her spreadsheet she has very recently enjoyed some very nice blue numbers and for four or five days required no insulin:

This is what her Vet Roberta had to say about her spreadsheet and dosing at that point:

"Hi Mrs Smith,
That's all really positive isn't it! Fantastic work, you've both done brilliantly. I would agree with you that I would be nervous of giving insulin below 8, especially in the morning. My view would be that Smiffy is in remission if she manages to keep her BG below 12 (so below the renal threshold) without insulin. I would also prefer her blood glucose to remain above 4 ideally, I have seen cats hypo on 2.5-3. I think also that we have to take into account a little degree of sampling related hyperglycaemia (stress related) and differences between glucometers. I think the 'tight regulation' numbers are a little too tight for practical use if that makes sense? I would only give her insulin if her numbers are above 12, and keep a very close eye on her.
Absolutely brilliant news"

However for the last few days Smiffy's numbers have risen again (coinciding with a thunderstorm breaking the hot weather to damp weather and DH - her Daddy - going abroad for a couple of weeks).

The sliding scale that I have devised for her from experience and looking back at her spreadsheet is still in place but for the past couple of days her numbers have still stayed high which is out of character.

So it feels a bit as if I am starting all over again.

However in the last 24 hours her numbers have gone down again :)

Smiffy's AMPS was 10.6 so as I am not around to test her at her Nadir I didn't give her her shot - this is until I know a bit more about what is going on with her numbers now that they are falling lower again .....

I am really pleased for her but I am not going to risk her going into dangerous numbers during the day ......
She was 9.7 (175) at +4 so she is still holding that number from her PMPS last night which was 10.6 (190).

More data later.

Thank you to Smiffy's regular friends for popping in to see her and for your continued support and friendship :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Smiffy was 9.5 PMPS after being around 10 (180) since last night's PMPS (when I gave her half a unit but no shot this morning after her AMBG).

She is eating so I am going to give her a half unit to keep things going and test her at +2 and +3 to make sure she doesn't drop too low.

She is completely on the lower carb dry food now (no Hill's m/d) but wouldn't eat the wet tonight just now ....

Well the end of the story tonight is that at +2 she is 11.2 (202) so not sure what to make of that ... could be a bounce or the 0.5 units has no effect on her?

OK so I have now done a +3 and she is 10.6 (190) so she may have gone up after eating and now her shot is kicking in and she has gone down.

Thinking aloud here ... now leave her alone until tomorrow.

Well she was 13.4 (241) AMPS this morning so I think she has bounced from last night so I gave her one unit and at +4 today she was 8.2 (148) so it will be interesting to see if she can hold that number today.

Having trouble with my computer and today the FDMB is really slow for me and not functioning as it should so hope this new thread works.
 
Nice to see Smiffy's numbers are slowly transitioning from most yellow to most blue :) Let's hope she keeps going that way or even better :cat:

We know that normal range is even lower, but definitely there's progress here, and that's what's important.

Giving my short experience with feline diabetes, I can't say much more than that, but one more thing: Don't give up on the wet food, it's amazing how the diet change can improve everything, it was hard for me to believe it until I saw it in my own kitty.

Of course I really understand you when you say Smiffy won't eat it, Owen didn't wanted it that much either but since there was the only thing I offered him (which was a very risky decision given he was already on insulin), he had no other choice in the end if he was hungry.

But Owen was on Lantus, you can't do that to Smiffy because she's on Caninsulin and if she doesn't eat you can't give her a shot. That's a big impediment it seems :(

Anyway, I think you're doing a good job, like I said, there's progress and that's valuable :)
 
Smokey is Smokey, going back up in doses again. Otherwise he is fine. He needs a good poop but being on homemade they do go less often so I'm told.
Oh I sorry to hear that Smokey's numbers are going up again. Do you think it is because he is uncomfortable being constipated?!

He is doing really well for his age though (:
 
Nice to see Smiffy's numbers are slowly transitioning from most yellow to most blue :) Let's hope she keeps going that way or even better :cat:

We know that normal range is even lower, but definitely there's progress here, and that's what's important.

Giving my short experience with feline diabetes, I can't say much more than that, but one more thing: Don't give up on the wet food, it's amazing how the diet change can improve everything, it was hard for me to believe it until I saw it in my own kitty.

Of course I really understand you when you say Smiffy won't eat it, Owen didn't wanted it that much either but since there was the only thing I offered him (which was a very risky decision given he was already on insulin), he had no other choice in the end if he was hungry.

But Owen was on Lantus, you can't do that to Smiffy because she's on Caninsulin and if she doesn't eat you can't give her a shot. That's a big impediment it seems :(

Anyway, I think you're doing a good job, like I said, there's progress and that's valuable :)
Hi!

Yes it is looking at the moment as if I could give her a higher dose on her numbers but I am just waiting to see if she comes down a bit further on her own like she did before.

I am still persisting with the wet food but I am not going to go down the route of only leaving out wet food for her if she is not going to eat it partly because I would have to hold of giving her shots for maybe too many times. I have offered her wet food in the morning and the evening but she is not interested at all so far. But she DOES still have a little bit as a snack during the day. It helps if Pasha is about as she always has to have what Pasha has which also makes it difficult for me to work out how much she has eaten as they switch bowls etc,

As long as I can keep her under the renal threshold for the moment I am happy. I think that the 'healing' range is not the same for all cats and Smiffy has definitely shown signs of some activity by her pancreas but not for the past few days.

Lovely to hear from you and good luck with your studies (:
 
Smiffy was only 9.2 (166) tonight but she ate reasonably well so I have given her one unit tonight and will test her again at +2 and/or +3 to see how she goes.

Want to get her AMPS down a bit if I can.
 
Looby, that 1u may be a bit much for Smiffy so I would definitely get a +3 reading and probably at least a +4 and maybe even a +5 to be on the safe side. I'd also make sure she has some food available through the night. I understand you want to get Smiffy's AMPS down but you can't force it and if she drops lower on that 1u tonight you may find she has a higher AMPS because of bouncing from dropping into numbers she is not accustomed to or even too low. I don't want to sound like a broken record but again, the key here would be to get used to the syringes so you can try a dose of 0.75u instead of trying to force her down. The goal is to get a gentle curve and that can be difficult with Caninsulin because of the sharp drops it can cause in BG.
 
Looby, that 1u may be a bit much for Smiffy so I would definitely get a +3 reading and probably at least a +4 and maybe even a +5 to be on the safe side. I'd also make sure she has some food available through the night. I understand you want to get Smiffy's AMPS down but you can't force it and if she drops lower on that 1u tonight you may find she has a higher AMPS because of bouncing from dropping into numbers she is not accustomed to or even too low. I don't want to sound like a broken record but again, the key here would be to get used to the syringes so you can try a dose of 0.75u instead of trying to force her down. The goal is to get a gentle curve and that can be difficult with Caninsulin because of the sharp drops it can cause in BG.
I will take the syringes to the Vet when we go in October.

I did give her a one unit and she is 10.3 (186) at +3.

I know what you mean about her bouncing .... I wonder if she is already.

I am getting mixed messages - on the one hand I am being advised that I am not dosing enough and on the other to be cautious.

I appreciate everybody's input - tonight I went with my instinct because she has been getting higher readings in the evening and 0.5 has not been enough.

So difficult to tell if she has already bounced? I will check again in another hour.

Thanks Linda (:
 
Looby, I don't want to be a panic monger by any means but with any insulin, you need to take small steps to make sure you don't miss that "sweet" dose that does the trick. To my knowledge you've never given Smiffy 1u at a reading under 10 before so I just wanted to be sure she stayed safe. These furballs don't always do what we expect them to do as you well know. If only we could get them to read the manual and follow it, this would be so much easier!:)
 
Looby, I don't want to be a panic monger by any means but with any insulin, you need to take small steps to make sure you don't miss that "sweet" dose that does the trick. To my knowledge you've never given Smiffy 1u at a reading under 10 before so I just wanted to be sure she stayed safe. These furballs don't always do what we expect them to do as you well know. If only we could get them to read the manual and follow it, this would be so much easier!:)
I appreciate what you are saying ... I will test her again at +4.

I recently gave her a whole unit at 10.4 (187) and she was 11.6 (209) by +6

I will keep testing tonight.

I have been told recently that my Accuchek meter is about 20-30% reading lower than a pet meter and that I am dosing too conservatively? But I would not take a big risk with her of course ..... I would be too scared to dose as aggressively as some of the members here would have me do!
 
Looby, you cannot rely on a 20%-30% difference in readings between a human and pet meter and whoever said that is wrong. And pet meter readings have nothing to do with how you determine your dosing. You dose according to the meter you are using. I have been and continue to dual test with both types of meters and can unequivocally tell you that there is NOT a firm 20-30% difference. It depends on the reading. Generally the higher the reading the greater the difference between the meters but there is no "set" percentage. I've had readings 50% apart and some almost identical. Under 10, the readings are much closer to one another than at a reading of 20.

You may well be dosing too conservatively generally but 0.5u changes for our little ones is a lot of insulin which is why all of us, no matter what insulin we use, suggest making dose changes of 0.25u when the dose just needs a little adjustment.

Just saw your latest note. The readings of 10.3 and 9.4 are not that far apart but it does demonstrate that the cycle won't necessarily be the same when you give her 1u at PMPS of 9.2 and the nadir isn't always at exactly the same point in time every cycle. Another reason to adjust doses in small amounts.

I have a cat who can be sitting in the mid teens for days and then suddenly without any dose change, like tonight, is now down to 5.9 on a pet meter which I would guess to be in the neighbourhood of high 3's or low 4's on a human meter (she's antsy for food and I couldn't get the human meter reading), two hours before her shot is due. I need to watch her tonight because she is not playing by the expected rules of this game. Cautious and conservative dose changes are the safest.
 
Looby, you cannot rely on a 20%-30% difference in readings between a human and pet meter and whoever said that is wrong. And pet meter readings have nothing to do with how you determine your dosing. You dose according to the meter you are using. I have been and continue to dual test with both types of meters and can unequivocally tell you that there is NOT a firm 20-30% difference. It depends on the reading. Generally the higher the reading the greater the difference between the meters but there is no "set" percentage. I've had readings 50% apart and some almost identical. Under 10, the readings are much closer to one another than at a reading of 20.

You may well be dosing too conservatively generally but 0.5u changes for our little ones is a lot of insulin which is why all of us, no matter what insulin we use, suggest making dose changes of 0.25u when the dose just needs a little adjustment.

Just saw your latest note. The readings of 10.3 and 9.4 are not that far apart but it does demonstrate that the cycle won't necessarily be the same when you give her 1u at PMPS of 9.2 and the nadir isn't always at exactly the same point in time every cycle. Another reason to adjust doses in small amounts.

I have a cat who can be sitting in the mid teens for days and then suddenly without any dose change, like tonight, is now down to 5.9 on a pet meter which I would guess to be in the neighbourhood of high 3's or low 4's on a human meter (she's antsy for food and I couldn't get the human meter reading), two hours before her shot is due. I need to watch her tonight because she is not playing by the expected rules of this game. Cautious and conservative dose changes are the safest.

Oh OK that's really interesting and I am glad you have clarified that for me.

I have always dosed based on Smiffy's Accuchek meter readings alone and I did know that the lower the reading (around 4(70) or lower the closer the human and pet meters are?).

I am glad you have told me that the two people that have mentioned the difference recently are wrong because it might have made persuaded me slightly to be a bit braver with dosing!

Oh under 10 (180) the readings are closer! Sorry reading and commenting as I go along .... OK thanks.

Forgive me but I don't understand exactly what you mean in your next sentence apart from the fact that Nadirs occur at different times (I have noticed that of course) "The readings of 10.3 and 9.4 are not that far apart but it does demonstrate that the cycle won't necessarily be the same when you give her 1u at PMPS of 9.2"?

Sorry it is 3.30 am so maybe I am tired!

Goodness down to 5.9!

Smiffy is still about the same 9.7 (175) at +5 so I think safe for tonight.

Good luck with your puss.

Will let you know what happens to Smiffy tomorrow am ..... of course she might bounce up again but not on numbers like 9.7 (175) I wouldn't imagine?
 
Looby, you cannot rely on a 20%-30% difference in readings between a human and pet meter and whoever said that is wrong. And pet meter readings have nothing to do with how you determine your dosing. You dose according to the meter you are using. I have been and continue to dual test with both types of meters and can unequivocally tell you that there is NOT a firm 20-30% difference. It depends on the reading. Generally the higher the reading the greater the difference between the meters but there is no "set" percentage. I've had readings 50% apart and some almost identical. Under 10, the readings are much closer to one another than at a reading of 20.

You may well be dosing too conservatively generally but 0.5u changes for our little ones is a lot of insulin which is why all of us, no matter what insulin we use, suggest making dose changes of 0.25u when the dose just needs a little adjustment.

Just saw your latest note. The readings of 10.3 and 9.4 are not that far apart but it does demonstrate that the cycle won't necessarily be the same when you give her 1u at PMPS of 9.2 and the nadir isn't always at exactly the same point in time every cycle. Another reason to adjust doses in small amounts.

I have a cat who can be sitting in the mid teens for days and then suddenly without any dose change, like tonight, is now down to 5.9 on a pet meter which I would guess to be in the neighbourhood of high 3's or low 4's on a human meter (she's antsy for food and I couldn't get the human meter reading), two hours before her shot is due. I need to watch her tonight because she is not playing by the expected rules of this game. Cautious and conservative dose changes are the safest.
I've read what you said again and I DO understand what you are saying and yes I agree that x number of units does not mean y amount of points drop in BG

It seems there are sometimes some conflicting points of view on a number of things even here on the Board at times!

Smiffy is around the same number at +5 so I think she is OK but I take all your points

Thanks again Linda
 
"The readings of 10.3 and 9.4 are not that far apart
All meters are allowed some variance in their readings. I do not know what that allowance is in the UK but here in Canada it's 15% and in the US it's 20%. I think it's a pretty safe bet, your variance is in the same range. That means that the reading of 10.3 could really be anywhere from 8.8 to 11.8 using the 15% variance allowed in my location. Likewise the reading of 9.4 could really be 8 to 10.8. If you use the 20% US variance allowance, the spread of acceptable readings widens further. We never know if a reading is a bit low, pretty accurate or a little tad high so unless the readings are farther apart than allowed by the variance, they can basically be considered the same.

I wholeheartedly suggest you forget about pet meters altogether. They are NOT relevant to your situation. There are a lot of erroneous notions on the board and elsewhere about the differences between human and pet meters. When you factor in the allowed meter variance which also applies to the pet meters, it further complicates any attempt to determine a percentage difference between the readings on the two meters when the difference already widens as readings get higher. The reference numbers on this site are for use with a human meter and that's what you are using so pet meter numbers have no bearing on what you should do for Smiffy. There are always going to be differing opinions so you have to filter the opinions you get based on what your experience is with Smiffy and what you can and cannot do from your own comfort perspective.

My only goal is to ensure that Smiffy stays safe so I'm glad to hear you checked her till +5 and she is still sitting at 9.7.

I will be scarce for a few days as I have a house guest arriving tomorrow so I may not get the opportunity to check in much until the weekend.
 
All meters are allowed some variance in their readings. I do not know what that allowance is in the UK but here in Canada it's 15% and in the US it's 20%. I think it's a pretty safe bet, your variance is in the same range. That means that the reading of 10.3 could really be anywhere from 8.8 to 11.8 using the 15% variance allowed in my location. Likewise the reading of 9.4 could really be 8 to 10.8. If you use the 20% US variance allowance, the spread of acceptable readings widens further. We never know if a reading is a bit low, pretty accurate or a little tad high so unless the readings are farther apart than allowed by the variance, they can basically be considered the same.

I wholeheartedly suggest you forget about pet meters altogether. They are NOT relevant to your situation. There are a lot of erroneous notions on the board and elsewhere about the differences between human and pet meters. When you factor in the allowed meter variance which also applies to the pet meters, it further complicates any attempt to determine a percentage difference between the readings on the two meters when the difference already widens as readings get higher. The reference numbers on this site are for use with a human meter and that's what you are using so pet meter numbers have no bearing on what you should do for Smiffy. There are always going to be differing opinions so you have to filter the opinions you get based on what your experience is with Smiffy and what you can and cannot do from your own comfort perspective.

My only goal is to ensure that Smiffy stays safe so I'm glad to hear you checked her till +5 and she is still sitting at 9.7.

I will be scarce for a few days as I have a house guest arriving tomorrow so I may not get the opportunity to check in much until the weekend.
Thank you Linda,

Yes I wasn't thinking about human meters at all until somebody mentioned it recently with such conviction so you've got me back on track to where I was - thank you (:

Smiffy is 11.3 (203) this morning so I am going to dose her conservatively with just 0.5 units as she falls quite a lot during the day and then tends to hold her number more or less until her PMPS.

Thank you for being the voice of reason (:

Have a lovely time with your houseguests and speak to you soon (:
 
8.4 (151) at +4 during the day so I might have given her a whole shot instead of just half but see if she holds this number. I have a feeling we are on the cusp of those lower numbers again :)

So Smiffy was 10.5 (189) at +8 but now she is PMBG 8.1 (146) so no shot for her tonight :)

Once again I think she is showing those little signs that maybe just maybe her pancreas is having a little splutter :)

However she is now 13.6 (245) at +5 so can't win them all. I think that might be a bounce!
 
Last edited:
Looby, was Smiffy not eating today? The other night you gave her 1u at a reading of 9.2 but you are not giving her anything at 8.8 which again, given meter variance, would be considered the same reading so I don't understand why you decided to skip rather than give Smiffy some insulin even 0.5u?? You need to keep Smiffy's numbers as low as possible to get her used to lower numbers if you want her numbers to come down and stay down.
 
Looby, was Smiffy not eating today? The other night you gave her 1u at a reading of 9.2 but you are not giving her anything at 8.8 which again, given meter variance, would be considered the same reading so I don't understand why you decided to skip rather than give Smiffy some insulin even 0.5u?? You need to keep Smiffy's numbers as low as possible to get her used to lower numbers if you want her numbers to come down and stay down.
She didn't eat at all tonight for some reason so I felt I couldn't risk it and also since she had held that number since +3 this morning. She has not come to eat since her PMBG either. I know I was really hoping she would eat tonight.

I also had major dental work today and have taken painkillers and my mouth is hurting and all I really want to do is sleep tonight and I doubt I will be up to do her +3 and +4 tests ....ouch!
 
Last edited:
Fortunately after no shot last night, Smiffy is only 11.3 this morning so not too bad ..... Mummy's tooth is still hurting though!

I think she is happy that her Daddy is home again (:
 
Wishing I was a bit more with it this morning and given Smiffy a whole unit as she has gone up to 14 (252) at +7 today and she won't eat any of the wet food I have put down three times now ... better day tomorrow I hope!

Well there's a surprise! I was thinking that Smiffy's PMPS was going to be really high but it has gone down to 9.7 (175) (:

Giving her half a unit .... pleasant surprise (:
 
Last edited:
Smiffy is only 10 (180) this morning after being +3 after her PMPS last night 11.9 so she keeps coming down in her cycle when not expected now so that is good sign (:
 
Smiffy is only 10 (180) this morning after being +3 after her PMPS last night 11.9 so she keeps coming down in her cycle when not expected now so that is good sign :)
good, but why no shot this morning? should have done at least half a unit. You've been doing good with dosing lately... don't stop now.
 
I hope your tooth stops hurting very soon! Hopefully Smiffy will keep giving you those blue pre-shots numbers. It's really important to try to keep her in those better numbers as much as possible. I agree with Janet.....half a unit this morning would have been ideal. Was Smiffy being a fussy eater again? If you skip shots instead of trying to keep/push her numbers down you could lose ground you have gained. :(
 
good, but why no shot this morning? should have done at least half a unit. You've been doing good with dosing lately... don't stop now.
Yes in retrospect now I could have given her a half a unit but I am not around for her morning Nadir so I am extra cautious for her morning shot as she tends to drop a lot in the day.

Hind sight is a wonderful thing!

I am hoping she will drop again on her own as she did yesterday.
 
I hope your tooth stops hurting very soon! Hopefully Smiffy will keep giving you those blue pre-shots numbers. It's really important to try to keep her in those better numbers as much as possible. I agree with Janet.....half a unit this morning would have been ideal. Was Smiffy being a fussy eater again? If you skip shots instead of trying to keep/push her numbers down you could lose ground you have gained. :(
As I said to Janet in hindsight I would have liked to have given her half a shot but I am extra cautious with her morning shot as I am not around for her morning Nadir and she usually drops quite a lot during the day.

She didn't eat a lot this morning which is always a bit of a worry.

As I said to Janet, I am hoping she is going to drop gain by herself by this evenings PMPS as she did yesterday .

I will certainly give her a shot tonight even if she is around 10 and as long as she eats.

Tooth is still playing up but better than the other night thank you (:
 
@JanetNJ @MrWorfMen's Mom looking at Smiffy's spreadsheet, I have never given Smiffy a shot on 10 (180) in the morning ... and in the past she has come down again before her PMPS .....not sure if I would give her a half unit on that number unless she had a good breakfast.

Just did a urine test and she is negative for keytones and glucose :)
 
@JanetNJ @MrWorfMen's Mom

Smiffy went up to 11.6 (209) at +4 after I didn't give her a shot this morning but she has come down by herself as I suspected to a PMBG of 8.5 (153) so I am reluctant to give her a half unit on that number.

I have never given her a shot in the evening on that number.

She seems to be bringing her numbers down by herself yesterday and today.
 
Looby, from the data you have for Smiffy, I think you could have given her the 0.5u provided she ate and you could get your post shot tests at +3 and +4. It might have got her down to a good green number but I don't think she would have gone too low and if you are testing, you'd be able to steer her with food to keep her from going too low. Each of us learns to shoot at lower and lower numbers over time and Smiffy is definitely getting more used to being in nice blue numbers so it would be in her best interests to try to keep her there and to get those numbers down a bit more. Being able to adjust doses by 0.25u instead halves would also be very helpful. When is your appt. with Roberta?
 
Looby, from the data you have for Smiffy, I think you could have given her the 0.5u provided she ate and you could get your post shot tests at +3 and +4. It might have got her down to a good green number but I don't think she would have gone too low and if you are testing, you'd be able to steer her with food to keep her from going too low. Each of us learns to shoot at lower and lower numbers over time and Smiffy is definitely getting more used to being in nice blue numbers so it would be in her best interests to try to keep her there and to get those numbers down a bit more. Being able to adjust doses by 0.25u instead halves would also be very helpful. When is your appt. with Roberta?
The appointment is around October 13th (:
 
I don't know that I would have given a shot - not with Caninsulin at that number. 153 is about on the no-shot limit for Caninsulin even with experience on what usually happens...even with experience I've never seen a recommendation to shoot a number under 150 with one of the harsher insulins apart from on the Hodgkins protocol which personally I don't believe is safe. Maybe a 0.25u would be an option numbers-wise, but until your vet appointment there's really not a lot you can do about that. Maybe you can get a before bed test to see what happens with her numbers tonight.
 
I don't know that I would have given a shot - not with Caninsulin at that number. 153 is about on the no-shot limit for Caninsulin even with experience on what usually happens...even with experience I've never seen a recommendation to shoot a number under 150 with one of the harsher insulins apart from on the Hodgkins protocol which personally I don't believe is safe. Maybe a 0.25u would be an option numbers-wise, but until your vet appointment there's really not a lot you can do about that. Maybe you can get a before bed test to see what happens with her numbers tonight.
OK I will try to test her later (:
 
Looby, that 5.8 is indeed a great number but is that a +3 or a +5 reading? It's on your spreadsheet at +3 but your note suggests it's the +5.
 
Looby, that 5.8 is indeed a great number but is that a +3 or a +5 reading? It's on your spreadsheet at +3 but your note suggests it's the +5.
It was a +3 ..... have edited my post ...... was a bit stressed and anxious at the time I posted :)

She is +5 11.8 (212) but I am hoping that she will bring herself down by her evening preshot reading.

{By the way I have been told at all times to put both UK and in brackets the US equivalent BG readings in all my posts.)
 
Looby, I'm in Canada so I use the same measurement as you. I see Smiffy is climbing again now.
Yes she is rising but recently she has had a tendancy to come down again so that's what I am hoping will happen today.

I didnt realise you were in Canada - how lovely (:

However, I still have to post both measurements for the benefit of anybody from the US looking in - I have been told quite specifically that I must quote both measurements at all times.
 
Smiffy has, as I thought, brought her numbers down again by herself for her PMPS - she is 8.8 (158).

Now I need to see if I can get her to eat enough to take half a unit.

She has eaten enough I think so gave her half a unit but only because she seems to have higher numbers at night.

I will test her at +3 to make sure she is OK.

+3 11.7 so I think that is a bit of a bounce as I know I didn't give her a fur shot.

There seems to be a bit of pancreas activity bringing her numbers down again before the PMPS and then some bouncing ...... or it could be because she has eaten quite a lot after all tonight whilst I feel asleep on the sofa!
 
Last edited:
Very rarly. I usually don't have time. I was on last night for a while. My name is Donna Olson Laymon.
I have sent you a short PM as a friend request but if you don't go there much then no worries - I can see you here :)

PS there is nothing else in the PM other than requesting to be a friend on Facebook main page.
 
Last edited:
Smiffy giving me some nice blue numbers recently again but I am still giving her half unit shots to keep her numbers in the blue if I can.
 
Hi Looby. All is good here other an pile of road construction which is driving me and my fur kids nuts!

Yes it looks like Smiffy has been holding her numbers fairly well. Hopefully once you've had a chance to talk to Roberta you'll be able to finesse her doses a little more using the syringes and get her down a little more. She may be below renal threshold some of the time but ideally you want her down there all the time. And I don't think anyone really knows exactly where that renal threshold is for all cats especially using a human meter as every cat is different. Anything I have seen quoted has been based on animal lab values of 250-275 (13.9 - 15.3 mmol on our measure scale). Because these are animal lab values and you use a human meter, your goal should be to keep Smiffy well below those numbers. Have you ever checked her urine for sugar?

BTW 13 in our readings would be 234 in US measure which means she may or may not be below renal threshold.
 
Hi Looby. All is good here other an pile of road construction which is driving me and my fur kids nuts!

Yes it looks like Smiffy has been holding her numbers fairly well. Hopefully once you've had a chance to talk to Roberta you'll be able to finesse her doses a little more using the syringes and get her down a little more. She may be below renal threshold some of the time but ideally you want her down there all the time. And I don't think anyone really knows exactly where that renal threshold is for all cats especially using a human meter as every cat is different. Anything I have seen quoted has been based on animal lab values of 250-275 (13.9 - 15.3 mmol on our measure scale). Because these are animal lab values and you use a human meter, your goal should be to keep Smiffy well below those numbers. Have you ever checked her urine for sugar?


BTW 13 in our readings would be 234 in US measure which means she may or may not be below renal threshold.
Yes there seems to be a lot of difference of opinion as to what is the renal threshold for cats! Roberta told me 13 (234).

Hello (: Oh road construction is terribly annoying but there is never a good time for it to happen. I hope you weren't caught in the storm at all?

I am not seeing Roberta now until December when both Smiffy and Pasha are due for their annual check up and possible booster shots.

I test Smiffy's urine fairly regularly and the last time was on the 2nd October when the result was negative for both ketones and glucose.

I am being a bit more brave with her evening shot now to try to get her AMPS down ... she seems to run high at night after her shot for some reason .... don't know if it is a bounce or a food spike.

xxx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top