SS Review: 1 Week Post Antibiotic Injection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda and a Loudogg

Very Active Member
Previous Condo: Convenia Injection and Other Thoughts From the Vet

Morning all!
Lou was given his Convenia injection on 10/11 for a probable lung infection. He thankfully has not had any obvious adverse reactions so far other than getting some extra ZZs here and there. I am starting to wonder if I need to adjust his insulin dose (too high?). It seems there has been some lower BGs (Hooray!!), but then he's had some bounces. Obviously if this lung infection was actually the cause of his serially high BGs, I would expect to start seeing some changes in his BGs. Do any of you see anything or am I just getting too excited by a couple of good days?

Thanks in advance!
 
I would raise your dose. The only time you had good greens was when you had the low preshot.
 
Hiya Janet. I feel like 2.0 is a good dose when he's in the high 200s or 300s. The problem is, his nadir has changed from +4 or +5 to +7 or +8. This means his next preshot looks beautifully low, but he continues to climb until +3 or so before starting to decrease again. When I previously gave him 2.o units, the same thing happened and I got chastised by others for lowering his dose when he had preshots in the 100s. I'm not sure what to do since I cannot find a dose that lowers him enough and keeps him steady. I've finally started giving higher doses at those lower numbers to compensate for the inevitable increase before the insulin starts acting. It seems to work (last night and today both had beautifully blue numbers), but then it's either not enough or he goes too low and bounces into the 300s. Then I start all over again.

I feel like I'm going in circles.... I miss the days when I gave insulin and it acted how I expected. This round and round BS is just exhausting. I'm really not sure how to handle these all-over-the-place numbers. It seems a sliding scale might be the best approach, but it seems frowned upon around here. I'm not comfortable dosing 2 units when he's under 200, because he's seemed to bounce when giving 2 units at a low 200 preshot.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I feel I've tried everything, and nothing is really seeming to take hold and be successful in the long run.
 
Hiya Janet. I feel like 2.0 is a good dose when he's in the high 200s or 300s. The problem is, his nadir has changed from +4 or +5 to +7 or +8. This means his next preshot looks beautifully low, but he continues to climb until +3 or so before starting to decrease again. When I previously gave him 2.o units, the same thing happened and I got chastised by others for lowering his dose when he had preshots in the 100s. I'm not sure what to do since I cannot find a dose that lowers him enough and keeps him steady. I've finally started giving higher doses at those lower numbers to compensate for the inevitable increase before the insulin starts acting. It seems to work (last night and today both had beautifully blue numbers), but then it's either not enough or he goes too low and bounces into the 300s. Then I start all over again.

I feel like I'm going in circles.... I miss the days when I gave insulin and it acted how I expected. This round and round BS is just exhausting. I'm really not sure how to handle these all-over-the-place numbers. It seems a sliding scale might be the best approach, but it seems frowned upon around here. I'm not comfortable dosing 2 units when he's under 200, because he's seemed to bounce when giving 2 units at a low 200 preshot.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I feel I've tried everything, and nothing is really seeming to take hold and be successful in the long run.
You can sliding scale dose with vetsulin. I do. And like you indeed to shoot low numbers. I shoot anything over 120 ... And I'm using an Alphatrak so it would be an even lower number on a human meter. If I don't she climbs up. Good that you started shooting those lower numbers more. Those higher preshots (250+) if try 2 units.
 
You can sliding scale dose with vetsulin. I do. And like you indeed to shoot low numbers. I shoot anything over 120 ... And I'm using an Alphatrak so it would be an even lower number on a human meter. If I don't she climbs up. Good that you started shooting those lower numbers more. Those higher preshots (250+) if try 2 units.
Wonderful. I think I'll try that and see if it works. In the short bit I've attempted, it seems to work wonders if I dose correctly. It's just finding the right doses for the right numbers. :facepalm::p
 
Wonderful. I think I'll try that and see if it works. In the short bit I've attempted, it seems to work wonders if I dose correctly. It's just finding the right doses for the right numbers. :facepalm::p
right. well obviously be very conservative with a dose when you aren't sure and can't be home to test, ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top