TYLER'S JOURNEY #15

All is fine except that I caught a cold so trying to get lots of rest to beat it off ASAP. Terrible when even feeding the cats is tiring me out! :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
All is fine except that I caught a cold so trying to get lots of rest to beat it off ASAP. Terrible when even feeding the cats is tiring me out! :banghead::banghead::banghead:
Colds are the worst, I was worried because I haven't seen you on that much.
Get lots of rest , it can knock the crap out of you, I hope you feel better soon Linda.
and will check in with you tomorrow.Thanks for checking in on Tyler even though you don't feel that great, I appreciate it my friend
 
Last edited:
@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda if you're are on, this is where I'm not sure to feed Tyler
or just let him be and re test in 30 minutes
His AMPS was 152
Just tested him @+2.25 and he is 90
OK did not feed him any food
Re tested @+3 which was 45 minutes later was at 97 not going to feed and re test in an hour .
Tested @+4 which was an hour later he was 100 really didn't want to feed him anything
but he wouldn't shut up, gave him only 1 tbsp of FF Pate
@+6 gave him some Dr Elsey's Clean Protein Dry so I will test him later
@+10.75 he was 161
Next test will be PMPS @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Hi Diane .....just checking in on you . Isn’t Linda a huge blessing ??? She along with two other wonderful ,experienced ladies got me thru this adventure ab 3 years ago when I used vetsulin . Could not have done it without her ❤️ Hope all is well with you and Tyler ❤️
 
Hi Diane .....just checking in on you . Isn’t Linda a huge blessing ??? She along with two other wonderful ,experienced ladies got me thru this adventure ab 3 years ago when I used vetsulin . Could not have done it without her ❤️ Hope all is well with you and Tyler ❤️
Hey Beth yes I totally agree with you , Linda is a blessing and I don't know what I
would have done without her . Tyler is doing pretty good. Linda said she has never ever seen a kitty do so well on Vetsulin. Thank god lol. How is Elmo doing, is he behaving lol. Today Tyler did really well.
 
Elmo is on antibiotics for his mouth. He cannot have a dental due to age related stuff( he's 19).....Linda and several other angels have been helping me with him . Lantus is a whole different experience from vetsulin, almost like I never went thru this rodeo before :woot: And Elmo has been bouncing , something I never experienced with vetsulin. Feel free to check out Elmo's ss from 2016 . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Elmo is on antibiotics for his mouth. He cannot have a dental due to age related stuff( he's 19).....Linda and several other angels have been helping me with him . Lantus is a whole different experience from vetsulin, almost like I never went thru this rodeo before :woot: And Elmo has been bouncing , something I never experienced with vetsulin. Feel free to check out Elmo's ss from 2016 . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Poor Elmo, I pray the antibiotics solve the problem. I have been following Elmo's adventures . You do an awesome job keeping him safe, but he sure does keep you on your toes lol. I will take a look at the SS from 2016.Tyler is due for a check up next month, I'm hoping his teeth look OK. I was thinking about ordering the toothpaste
someone is using on here . Its the pet smile toothpaste. You can just rub it on their gums, but probably better if you brush them. Yeah good luck with me trying to do that @Beth 73
 
Last edited:
Tyler is beautiful :cat: In all these years I’ve never had a yellow or orange kitty. I am, however, helping feed a semi feral colony near here.....all yellow or orange and one is white with yellow tail , ears and blue eyes. Sounds like some Siamese in there :)
 
Tyler is beautiful :cat: In all these years I’ve never had a yellow or orange kitty. I am, however, helping feed a semi feral colony near here.....all yellow or orange and one is white with yellow tail , ears and blue eyes. Sounds like some Siamese in there :)
Tyler says thank you lol. I just love Elmo's face! He is adorable. I just want to kiss that nose . Awe so happy you are feeding themthem @Beth 73
 
Last edited:
Tyler had a lovely cycle today. Now you know he may surf without feeding. If he goes below 90 I'd give him a tsp. of food and retest but leaving him be today suggests he will surf so next time try that again. Haven't been online all day. Fighting off a stupid cold. :arghh::arghh:
I'm guessing you are dealing with that weather bomb. Hope all is OK.
 
I tried to rest but of course today everyone who would normally call, called and quite frankly I was ready to pitch the phone out on the back deck. SPec Olympic curling is starting this weekend and all sorts of last minute crap to deal with on that and a close friend is having bypass surgery tomorrow so I was speaking with his partner whose Mom is also in hospital. When it rains it pours. Hitting the sack early tonight.
 
Tyler had a lovely cycle today. Now you know he may surf without feeding. If he goes below 90 I'd give him a tsp. of food and retest but leaving him be today suggests he will surf so next time try that again. Haven't been online all day. Fighting off a stupid cold. :arghh::arghh:
I'm guessing you are dealing with that weather bomb. Hope all is OK.
Yes now I understand what you have been saying, I thought if I saw a 90 then I should feed, but I looked at what you told me last time and went by that. Even though Tyler thought he was going to get something @+2 I said no way Tyler and he gave up haunting me to eat and did the same thing @+3.
Here is what I printed out and went by

I said.
  1. @@MrWorfMen's Mom hey Linda just tested Tyler @+2 he was 95. A drop of 99 points
    I just fed him some Dr Elsey Dry and he finished eating it at 11:25 am
    I will re test in 30 minutes right? Which will be at 11:55 am
    My question is which is probably stupid , how do we keep him in the greens for awhile
    I know I have to feed him to keep him safe, also I know I have to get 2 readings that are safe without any food right @@MrWorfMen's Mom
    Tested half hour later (11:55 am) he was 119 I will not feed anything and will re test in 1 hour
    which will be 1:00 pm

    Last edited: Sep 29, 2019
    ..https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...fuYRd2GEbaSAQYgIZdP1MStkxlkWJt_8GYHlm/pubhtml
    Sep 29, 2019EditDeleteReport
    #8Reply


  2. MrWorfMen's Mom
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Diane, Tyler is in no danger right now and I personally wouldn't suggest feeding unless he drops below 90. It's OK that you gave him food at 99 but it wasn't an urgent need. In fact I think with Tyler it probably is Ok to let him drop to 80 and see what he does because he doesn't usually drop that much and his numbers have been so very stable. Yes today's drop was a little more pronounced but he had further to go to get back to his current "normal".

    The whole idea of keeping the "take action" BG higher with Vetsulin is because of the potential for large swift drops in BG. Tyler doesn't generally react that way so I think maybe you should try not taking action until he hits 80 and see what he does with that. It obviously isn't too hard to get his BG up when needed
Now I understand that just because he might drop into the 90's or the 80's doesn't mean I have to feed him. I always wondered how others kept their kitty's in the green for awhile, now I know. I really didn't want to give him anything @+4 but he just wouldn't shut up
I would have liked to have seen what the next test would have been without food.You have taught me well, let's see what happens tonight, I hope you feel a little bit better @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Yep, we did decide for Tyler it would 80. My brain is not functioning full tilt boogie right now. Obviously what you did today worked beautifully so that's good info for the future.
 
I tried to rest but of course today everyone who would normally call, called and quite frankly I was ready to pitch the phone out on the back deck. SPec Olympic curling is starting this weekend and all sorts of last minute crap to deal with on that and a close friend is having bypass surgery tomorrow so I was speaking with his partner whose Mom is also in hospital. When it rains it pours. Hitting the sack early tonight.
I can just picture you throwing the phone out on the deck lol. I hope you friend will be OK. Yes go to bed early and rub some Vicks on your chest @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Popping by to say hi, Diane :bighug: Hope all is well with you and sweet Tyler ❤️ We had a water leak early and now I'm prepping to give Elmo and Ben a bath ...washing away yuck fleas :mad: Happy Thursday :bighug:
 
Popping by to say hi, Diane :bighug: Hope all is well with you and sweet Tyler ❤️ We had a water leak early and now I'm prepping to give Elmo and Ben a bath ...washing away yuck fleas :mad: Happy Thursday :bighug:
Hey Beth, a water leak, if its not one thing it's another. Your kitty's let you bathe them, or is it only because they have fleas. Do they both go outside? Today I was on the phone with my TV/internet service.I wanted to rip my hair out. I couldn't understand
him because he was from India. He was getting annoyed , well forgive me.
Now I have a headache lol. I have no patience anymore, between both cats, my sick daughter, and my father who is 85. Sometimes I want to blow my brains out lol
It's just me and my daughter who is 33. Husband died 11 yes ago. Other than that everything is peachy lol. My temper is short and I try to keep it in check.
Must be the Sicilian in me lol. How is everything with you .Do you have a pic of Ben
 
Hey Diane :bighug: It’s been a crazy day for sure . And as far as cat baths they both have some fleas so in the tub they went . They are all inside kitties but the fleas were brought in on other people’s belongings :( Not cool ! Bless your heart, a sick adult daughter and elderly dad. That’s a lot to deal with :bighug: We took care of my mom who passed away at 97 earlier this year. She refused to leave her home which is 3 hours from here so we did a lot of driving . You just want them to be content :bighug:And far as kitty Ben, he looks just like Elmo , brown tabby. So thankful that at 16 he is very healthy and not a moments trouble . Hope your evening is peaceful ( no water leaks :woot:). And that our sweet Linda is on the mend and taking care of herself ❤️
 
Hey Diane :bighug: It’s been a crazy day for sure . And as far as cat baths they both have some fleas so in the tub they went . They are all inside kitties but the fleas were brought in on other people’s belongings :( Not cool ! Bless your heart, a sick adult daughter and elderly dad. That’s a lot to deal with :bighug: We took care of my mom who passed away at 97 earlier this year. She refused to leave her home which is 3 hours from here so we did a lot of driving . You just want them to be content :bighug:And far as kitty Ben, he looks just like Elmo , brown tabby. So thankful that at 16 he is very healthy and not a moments trouble . Hope your evening is peaceful ( no water leaks :woot:). And that our sweet Linda is on the mend and taking care of herself ❤️
That's awful abou the fleas, you had a busy day today. Sorry about your mom, wow 97. Hope your evening is quiet. I hope Linda feels better soon also. She's a sweetheart
 
Stop it! You're making me blush! :) Sorry I missed your post this AM but I didn't see any notification before I went back to bed. You've got this!;)
 
Stop it! You're making me blush! :) Sorry I missed your post this AM but I didn't see any notification before I went back to bed. You've got this!;)
I don't care if I am making you blush lol, it's true, in my book you are one in a million.
Don't worry about this morning, everything was fine with Tubby lol.
Just want you to rest up and feel better. I just hate getting a cold. I will check in with
you tomorrow. Get a good sleep @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Slowly but surely but still having ups and downs. Have to go to Special OLympic Curling tomorrow night and not looking forward to it. Which reminds me I won't be home until between 9:30 and 10pm so don't hold up Tyler's shot on my account. Any big question add question mark to your post title and someone should be able to assist.
 
Slowly but surely but still having ups and downs. Have to go to Special OLympic Curling tomorrow night and not looking forward to it. Which reminds me I won't be home until between 9:30 and 10pm so don't hold up Tyler's shot on my account. Any big question add question mark to your post title and someone should be able to assist.
Sorry you are not up to par yet, that stubborn cold. What is the Special Olympic Curling about and why do you go to it. OK no problem about tomorrow night
 
I coach curling for a Special Olympics group. Special Olympics is for people with intellectual disabilities and I got involved because of my SIL who has Down Syndrome. Been coaching for years now. Curling is a game played on ice with 40lb granite rocks and brooms. Ever seen the movie Men with Brooms? If you get a chance, it's good for a laugh although curlers actually can take the game pretty seriously. Will be curling most Sunday nights from tomorrow till April.
 
I coach curling for a Special Olympics group. Special Olympics is for people with intellectual disabilities and I got involved because of my SIL who has Down Syndrome. Been coaching for years now. Curling is a game played on ice with 40lb granite rocks and brooms. Ever seen the movie Men with Brooms? If you get a chance, it's good for a laugh although curlers actually can take the game pretty seriously. Will be curling most Sunday nights from tomorrow till April.
I just looked it up and watched it in you tube. So the have to try and get the rocks in the center of the rings? Wow coaching until April, I figured because of your SIL.
Does she ever participate in anything. Never saw the movie, just read about it and sounds
funny, I will have to watch it. @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Yes, Curling is bit like chess on ice. SIL participates.... but she doesn't compete. I have a team that competes so I take to the team to other competitive events periodically too. The movie is making fun of the sport but it's hysterical. But then when isn't Lesley Neilsen a riot! LOL!
 
Yes, Curling is bit like chess on ice. SIL participates.... but she doesn't compete. I have a team that competes so I take to the team to other competitive events periodically too. The movie is making fun of the sport but it's hysterical. But then when isn't Lesley Neilsen a riot! LOL!
Sorry just saw this you will never believe those but I just woke up, its 7 pm
I woke up a few times during the day and then laid down again and just
woke upon and looked at the time and almost died to see the time.
Tyler actually woke me up, I can't believe I slept that long @MrWorfMen's MomLeslie Nielsen is a riot
 
Last edited:
Sorry just saw this you will never believe those but I just woke up, its 7 pm
I woke up a few times during the day and then laid down again and just
woke upon and looked at the time and almost died to see the time.
Tyler actually woke me up, I can't believe I slept that long @MrWorfMen's MomLeslie Nielsen is a riot
If you slept that long then you needed it, Diane ❤️
 
I hope you aren't coming down with something because I noticed being extremely tired before this cold set in. Then again that might have been my sleep habits of late.
 
I hope you aren't coming down with something because I noticed being extremely tired before this cold set in. Then again that might have been my sleep habits of late.
Hey Linda, no not coming down with something, I have always liked to sleep lol
Also have been going to bed really late lately, like 3 am. I also have low thyroid and take meds for it, do for blood work again in about a month or so. How was your night.
You could probably enter me in the guiness book for sleeping the longest and I would break the record lol @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Back
Top