TYLER'S JOURNEY #2

Yes stick with 0.5u for today. Then if numbers are staying static you can take him up tomorrow. I'd like to see him in a bit lower blues or some high dark greens but we don't want to set off bouncing either.
 
Yes stick with 0.5u for today. Then if numbers are staying static you can take him up tomorrow. I'd like to see him in a bit lower blues or some high dark greens but we don't want to set off bouncing either.
Ok will do, Linda I just read on here that some people feed their cat 4 times per day, I thought you were only supposed to feed them once in the morning and once at night, and in between a snack. That's what I do with Tyler
 
Feeding schedules can be whatever you want them to be. I fed 6 times a day when on insulin. Sometimes it's the only way to keep a hungry cat from taking a chunk of you or driving you nuts begging for food. Other times it helps to keep GI upsets limited or smooth out cycles. The only thing not recommended is feeding only twice a day. Not good for our diabetics.
 
Feeding schedules can be whatever you want them to be. I fed 6 times a day when on insulin. Sometimes it's the only way to keep a hungry cat from taking a chunk of you or driving you nuts begging for food. Other times it helps to keep GI upsets limited or smooth out cycles. The only thing not recommended is feeding only twice a day. Not good for our diabetics.
Boy oh boy my vet was the one that told me to feed three times a day, but when Tyler starts in I give him a little more wet or the Dr Elseys Clean protein. I always thought the more often you feed them then when you are ready to test PMPS that their BG would be higher than if you didn't feed 4 times a day for example. I know you shouldn't feed them 2 hrs prior to testing them in the am and on is that correct @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Yup. No food for at least 2 hours before preshot test. Multiple meals/snacks tends to keep BG more constant & is easier on pancreas. That said, I'd try to keep food to minimum after nadir to avoid possibly shotening cycle especially with an insulin like Vetsulin.
 
Yup. No food for at least 2 hours before preshot test. Multiple meals/snacks tends to keep BG more constant & is easier on pancreas. That said, I'd try to keep food to minimum after nadir to avoid possibly shotening cycle especially with an insulin like Vetsulin.
Ok so since we think Tyler's nadir occurs between +3 and +5 and I usually test at +4 then I shouldn't feed him any food after +4 is that correct @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Tyler's BG is getting up there PMPS 284. WED 6-12-19 Going to shoot at 8:45 or 9:00 pm Don't know if I should try the 0.75 u tonight or wait until tomorrow morning. I can stay up tonight if I give the 0.75 u to monitor him @MrWorfMen's Mom What do you think
 
There are times when all yellow cycles foretell an active cycle on the horizon so would stick with 0.5u tonight. I think those yellows today might be a bounce.

And yes I would keep food after +4 or +5 to a minimum if possible. If Tyler is really hungry after +5 though, a little snack is OK if needed.
 
There are times when all yellow cycles foretell an active cycle on the horizon so would stick with 0.5u tonight. I think those yellows today might be a bounce.

And yes I would keep food after +4 or +5 to a minimum if possible. If Tyler is really hungry after +5 though, a little snack is OK if needed.
ok thanks for seeing this asap , just about to shoot, will stick with the 0.5 u tonight, is the reason he may be bouncing is because we gave 0.25 u yesterday
 
Yes I think I'd stick with it for today. You reduced the other day at 173 and he was no worse for wear so let's see how the 0.5u works today.
 
Rained overnight and is expected to be wet pretty much all day here. Temp has dropped a fair bit and I have some errands to run....YUCK! Oh well I guess I'll just have to grin and bear it.
 
Looks like he's being a bit stubborn today...was hoping for more of a drop by this time. Check him again around +6 and see what he's done.
 
Looks like he may be starting a bounce but that is OK. He had a good cycle. I think it might be time to try 0.75u tomorrow morning as long as BG is high enough.
 
Definitely try the 0.75u tomorrow but I'm also concerned about the Vetsulin not lasting long enough through the cycle for Tyler. See what he does.
 
Definitely try the 0.75u tomorrow but I'm also concerned about the Vetsulin not lasting long enough through the cycle for Tyler. See what he does.
Hey Linda , will do and I see what you mean about the Vetsulin. So what you are to say is for example let's say his AMPS is 250 and I give the insulin, then I check it at +4 and it's 230, then at +6 it's 240 , so what you are saying is I should be seeing his BG dropping more and then start to go up around +9 , +10 ,or +11, is that right @MrWorfMen's Mom God forbid I ever had to change insulin, I would never be able to afford Lantus, I don't know what other insulins cost
 
Good morning Linda, just re posting what Tyler's BG was last night
Thursday 6-13-19
PMPS - 264
I tested him through the night
+3- 142
+4- 134
+5- 131
+6- 151
+7- 181
+9- 160
How could he have gone down from 181 at +7 to 160 at +9
Is that somewhat normal
Now I will test him this morning at 8:30 which I usually do
I wonder what that's going to be
I know we were ready to try 0.75 this morning if it turned out to be around
234 or higher, I'll check him at his usual AMPS which is 8:30 am and post it asap
So we can see what we going to do @MrWorfMen's Mom and yes
I'm tired lol been watching The Sopranos all night lol
 
As long as you can monitor Tyler, have lots of strips and some high carb food & karo, you could try 0.75u to see if we can get his BG down just a little more. That was a nice run of blue but a little green in there would be good. How about drawing up just a little bigger 0.5 (just under/touching the line instead of on it). Not sure if 0.75u might be too much.
 
As long as you can monitor Tyler, have lots of strips and some high carb food & karo, you could try 0.75u to see if we can get his BG down just a little more. That was a nice run of blue but a little green in there would be good. How about drawing up just a little bigger 0.5 (just under/touching the line instead of on it). Not sure if 0.75u might be too much.
Hi Linda , ok I'm just going to go a little bit under the 0.5 mark, I won't make it 0.75 for now
Did you read what I wrote about understanding Vetsulin on #79 am I understanding it right
I only have the FF Chicken Pate , should I go buy FF with some gravy in it, would that be High carb, I do have karo here @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
It was certainly lasting longer than I thought it might be and the rise to AMPS was not sharp or fast which is also encouraging. Let's see what he does through the day today.
Vetsulin doesn't last long enough for many cats. Many will reach nadir early (around +3/4) leaving the end of the cycle in higher than desirable numbers. Tyler doesn't drop off like most which is good and now we know he is getting not bad duration.

I did a cost comparison between Lantus and Vetsulin and on the dose you are using I believe Lantus might be cheaper if purchased from Canada. The initial payout is larger but the insulin can all be used before it goes bad which often is not the case with 10ml vials of Vetsulin.
 
It was certainly lasting longer than I thought it might be and the rise to AMPS was not sharp or fast which is also encouraging. Let's see what he does through the day today.
Vetsulin doesn't last long enough for many cats. Many will reach nadir early (around +3/4) leaving the end of the cycle in higher than desirable numbers. Tyler doesn't drop off like most which is good and now we know he is getting not bad duration.

I did a cost comparison between Lantus and Vetsulin and on the dose you are using I believe Lantus might be cheaper if purchased from Canada. The initial payout is larger but the insulin can all be used before it goes bad which often is not the case with 10ml vials of Vetsulin.
Ok I also saw people use Prozinc? What do you think about that insulin, I think it's cheaper than Lantus? I am so tired I can't see straight lol Slept about an hour. Now Tyler is snoring away, I think I'll bother him lol only kidding
 
ProZinc is a good insulin for kitties but I think it's a little more expensive than Vetsulin ..... roughly $68 vs. $50 for 10ml vial in US I believe. In the end, the best insulin for kitty is the one that works. ProZinc tends to last 10 to 12 hours and sometimes a little longer while Vetsulin often only lasts about 8 to 10 hours. ProZinc drops don't tend to be as sudden and extend over a little wider time frame (gentler). Lantus on the hand is a little different beast that gives more carry over from cycle to cycle. Lantus isn't as forgiving as far as shot schedules are concerned and you don't see the results of any given dose as quickly because there is a depot of insulin that has to be built up/brought down at each dose change. That said, Lantus is so gentle you can often shoot much lower BG numbers because the curve is so gentle which is harder/impossible to do with the In/Out insulins.
 
ProZinc is a good insulin for kitties but I think it's a little more expensive than Vetsulin ..... roughly $68 vs. $50 for 10ml vial in US I believe. In the end, the best insulin for kitty is the one that works. ProZinc tends to last 10 to 12 hours and sometimes a little longer while Vetsulin often only lasts about 8 to 10 hours. ProZinc drops don't tend to be as sudden and extend over a little wider time frame (gentler). Lantus on the hand is a little different beast that gives more carry over from cycle to cycle. Lantus isn't as forgiving as far as shot schedules are concerned and you don't see the results of any given dose as quickly because there is a depot of insulin that has to be built up/brought down at each dose change. That said, Lantus is so gentle you can often shoot much lower BG numbers because the curve is so gentle which is harder/impossible to do with the In/Out insulins.
Thanks for the information, I pay 65.00 for the Vetsulin at my vets office, so if I ever had to switch, which I hope I don't have to I would ask her about the Prozinc. I buy the vetsulin from my vet rather than on line because with the shipping on line it works out sbabo the same price. We have a compound pharmacy right by me that makes up Perry's Phenobarbital and Keppra for his seizures, I am going to ask them if they can get Prozinc
 
Chewy's has ProZinc for about $68 if memory serves and I'm sure your vet would charge more, Someone here said they were getting Vetsulin for $50 but I have no idea where they were purchasing it.
 
Chewy's has ProZinc for about $68 if memory serves and I'm sure your vet would charge more, Someone here said they were getting Vetsulin for $50 but I have no idea where they were purchasing it.
Ok thanks, the only insulin my vet carries is Vetsulin. Linda you had told me way back
but I would have to search for it, What would be the lowest BG that I wouldn't have to worry about for Tyler @MrWorfMen's Mom Is it 68 with insulin?
 
Yes 68 is the absolute lowest you want him to go HOWEVER, don't aim for anything less than 80 to 90 because Vetsulin can cause swift drops in BG. While 68 still leaves a little cushion to bring BG back up a bit before you are potentially facing a true hypo situation with longer lasting insulins, a little more caution is needed with a fast acting insulin. So what this means is that if you get Tyler's BG and he is at 90 or lower, you should intervene with a little food to keep/get his BG up and stop him from dropping any further. If he is below 80 then I'd suggest using food in the medium carb range. If he is around 68, then high carb. If he's between 80 and 90 low carb to keep him surfing rather than trying to pump him up at all.
 
Yes 68 is the absolute lowest you want him to go HOWEVER, don't aim for anything less than 80 to 90 because Vetsulin can cause swift drops in BG. While 68 still leaves a little cushion to bring BG back up a bit before you are potentially facing a true hypo situation with longer lasting insulins, a little more caution is needed with a fast acting insulin. So what this means is that if you get Tyler's BG and he is at 90 or lower, you should intervene with a little food to keep/get his BG up and stop him from dropping any further. If he is below 80 then I'd suggest using food in the medium carb range. If he is around 68, then high carb. If he's between 80 and 90 low carb to keep him surfing rather than trying to pump him up at all.
Ok I'm writing this down right , I gave him a little bit under the 0.5 mark on the syringe this morning like you suggested, so far it's looking good . I've been testing him every hour so far , stsrtst at +3 and the next test coming up will be +6 and that will be at 3:30 pm @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Yes you feed but I'd test again in about 20 minutes. If BG is steady wait and test again in 15/20 minutes. If BG is still low or lower, a little more food...1tsp or so at a time because you don't want to fill him up in case you have to keep feeding for a bit. Food with gravy is great for high carb because you can give them the gravy with all the carbs. Wash repeat until BG is holding/rising without food influence. There is a sticky about handling hypos HERE.
 
Yes you feed but I'd test again in about 20 minutes. If BG is steady wait and test again in 15/20 minutes. If BG is still low or lower, a little more food...1tsp or so at a time because you don't want to fill him up in case you have to keep feeding for a bit. Food with gravy is great for high carb because you can give them the gravy with all the carbs. Wash repeat until BG is holding/rising without food influence. There is a sticky about handling hypos HERE.
Ok got it
 
barging in to say Vetsulin from my vet was $68.95, and that supposedly with senior discount .. Chewy shows $55.82 right now

I'd be tempted to watch to see if ProZinc goes on special there, then use that $15 discount that they keep mailing out, if you buy $49 or more
 
FRIDAY. 6-14-19
AMPS - 214
Gave a little bit more than 0.5 u
+3 - 122
+4 - 106
+5 -. 108
+6 - 131
+7 - 136
+9 -193
Will test him at 8:30 pm
Linda should we still stay with No Shoot 175 or under? @MrWorfMen's Mom
I will post his PMPS tonight and see where we go from there @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Back
Top