Urgent amps dosage advise

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by 8catsplus2, Aug 24, 2020.

  1. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  2. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I'm copying Deb's post from last night. Emphasis mine.

     
  3. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks I really need to learn how to do that and to stop panicking
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Red & Rover (GA) do you think it's ok to feed
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  5. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Yes, feed and shoot the 0.5 units. Lucy is high enough.
     
    Deb & Wink, Panic and 8catsplus2 like this.
  6. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I feed and she got .5 U
     
  7. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Breathe Amber, breathe! Nice slow, steady breaths. It's one way of dealing with stress and panic attacks. Worst panic attack I ever had, was in the dentist's chair in the middle of having a filling done.

    Mindfulness breathing really helps me. Try this article: https://theconversation.com/why-we-are-hard-wired-to-worry-and-what-we-can-do-to-calm-down-127674
    and see if it helps you.

    I do expect that Lucy will run a bit high for a few cycles. But let's give it at least 3-6 cycles before you change the dose from the 0.5U dose I recommended. Prefer to see how she does for at least 6 cycles. I know how nerve wracking those high numbers can be, but you have to have patience and wait it out. Most of the high numbers are because of the skipped shot last night. But you needed to skip to catch up on your sleep. Hope you are well rested today.

    What is your favorite color Amber?
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  8. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Ok and thanks for everything
    Royal Purple is my favorite color.But I like almost every share of purple as long as it doesn't look to pink
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Here are some purple "patience pants" for you to wear, from the lending closet. Bring them out when you want to change the dose, but it's too early! Pass them along to someone else that needs them.

    purple patience pants.jpg

    They are meant to be a reminder that it takes time to get a handle on this disease, this feline diabetes.
    A reminder that this is a "marathon, not a sprint" and it will take time for you to learn and for your cat to get better BG numbers.
     
  10. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    What @Deb & Wink said.
    Stick with this dose for now.
    She was racing down the dosing scale. You were seeing better numbers with a lower dose. Think of it as gearing down on a hill. You will still get there eventually and (bonus) you can get some sleep and regroup.

    If you re handing out purple pants, I'll take a pair if the leg is long enough.
     
    Panic and 8catsplus2 like this.
  11. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Is a print ok? These look nice and comfy, for lounging around.
    Purple print patience pants palazzo.jpg
     
    8catsplus2 and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  12. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    This is more my style. Never outgrew the hippie stage.

    images.jpg
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  13. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Thanks
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  14. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    LOL
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  15. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I'm a plan Jan kind of person
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  16. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    When you say cycle is that 6 hours or 6 days
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  17. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    A cycle is 12 hours. Each shot is one cycle.

    Patience, grasshopper.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  18. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    Ok thanks still have a lot to learn
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  19. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Keep asking questions. It's how you learn.
    You know the saying, "The only dumb question, is the one you don't ask?".
    Well, we feel that way too. No questions are dumb.

    So a question from me to you.
    How in the world do you manage to take care of 10 indoor kitties?
     
    8catsplus2 likes this.
  20. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Deb & Wink
    It's a lot easier than taking care of to elderly parents in two different cities..lol
    It's not hard Im out on disability.. Most of them get along i have 3 that are my troublemakers Boo (sprays when he is stressed)and Buddy don't like each other
    ( it's getting better) Ricky doesn't like Boo... The hardest part is cleaning All the litter boxes. I have a bad back and bad knees so sometimes it makes it difficult... But I wouldn't have it any other way
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  21. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    @Deb & Wink , @Red & Rover (GA) @Panic
    @Bandit's Mom , @Critter Mom @tiffmaxee

    we waited the 6 cycle as of PMPS ON 8/26
    What are your thoughts on her dosage tomorrow morning if she is testing like she has been should I keep her at 0.5 U ..
    Thanks everyone for your help over the last couple of days
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  22. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I'll leave that question for the Prozinc experts.
    I never used Prozinc and don't give dosing advice unless it is a decrease for safety reasons. You should see me shouting "do not shoot" at the computer screen. :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2020
  23. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I'm kind of the same, I hesitate to give increasing advice. I think she might be ready to go up to 0.75u but I'd rather hear from someone else to confirm.

    Are you still not feeding until +6? She really needs to be eating earlier in the cycle to help steer the drop.
     
  24. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    She eats at 7 am 1 pm 7 am and either midnight or 1 am
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  25. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Can you feed at 9 am/pm? 1 am/pm snack is fine but you need something before that too.
    Think of it as tapping the breaks while going downhill. Do it early to slow the drop. Tapping the breaks at the bottom of the hill doesn't do much.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  26. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    I'm usually home 24/7 unless one of my parents has a Drs appointment.. I don't work so I can feed her at any time
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  27. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Okay, that's helpful. If you can fit a 9 am/pm (+2) snack in there in addition to 7 am/pm and 1 am/pm that will be helpful to her.
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  28. 8catsplus2

    8catsplus2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2020
    What about between 1pm and 7 pm or just something after her shot
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  29. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Feeding after nadir will "use up" the insulin quicker and won't last until shot-time. Nothing wrong with a 0 carb treat like chicken, but keep the meals before nadir (which looks to be around +6, or 1 am/pm for Amber)

    +1 to +6: mini meals
    +7 to +10: stick to treats if you feed
    +11 to +12: no food
     
    Deb & Wink and 8catsplus2 like this.
  30. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    And me along with you. ;)


    Mogs
    .
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.

Share This Page