Vetsulin

Preview
My cat was just switched from Novolin to Vetsulin. He was on 2 units on the old insulin and the vet had me start out on 2 units with the Vetsulin (yes, I have the U40 syringes) . Just checked him about 4 hours after his morning meal and he was still 525. Wondering how much I should increase it to get him down. I have been giving him the new insulin for 5 days now
 
Hello there. Since you are testing, can you get a spreadsheet started? That would be so helpful. We really will need it to see what's happening with your sweet kitty. Are you testing at every preshot (before the insulin?) Are you withholding food for two hours before the preshot test? What is he eating? What is your feeding schedule like. We need to get your signature set up as well. I would love to help once I see what's going on with your cat's blood glucose. I'm going to tag a member who can provide a lot of helpful information about the spreadsheet and the signature. @Diane Tyler's Mom can you help me out here? You're the whiz at all those links. Thank you!
 
Hi Suzanne & Darcy
Testing has been an issue as he now runs away when he sees the lancer coming. Much as I tried, all the methods are less than successful as getting the lance to produce enough blood to test takes multiple times of sticking him. I did not know about witholding food for 2 hours before testing as he is a grazer and I never know what or when he is eating. My schedule doesn't permit me watching what he is doing all the time. His main feeding is twice a day when he gets half a 5.5 oz can of pro plan beef & carrot which is the only wet food he will eat. He much prefers dry food. I have sci diet M/D for dry food which he doesn't care for. He likes plain old purina over the counter dry food but I have yet to find a low carb dry food (if there is any) which he most likely won't eat. He was a barn cat for the first 6 months of his life and probably was fed cheap food and thats what he prefers. He has always been a lazy cat, watching all forms of wildlife run past his nose and just ignoring them hence his weight issue before he got diabetes. He was up to 18 lbs but now is 12.5 lbs and holding. Based on the tests I have been able to do, he is now on 3 units of vetsulin which was determined on successive readings of his bg being 155 prior to feeding once he was put on 3 units.
 
@Terry Neumann
You inky withhold food 2 hours before you test first thing in the morning and first thing at night AMPS and PMPS

Important you need to wait 30 minutes after feeding them give the insulin
Vetsulin n hits hard and fast so you need to have food on board
We don't increase the insulin by whole units, we increase by 0.25 units at a time
Do your U-40 syringes have the half unit markings?
When your cat eats through the day you don't have to withhold food
We do not adjust the dose going by the pre shots we adjust the dose by how low your cat is dropping (nadir) lowest point during each 12 hour cycle


Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
This link will tell you what information we need you to put in your signature
It will also explain how to set up your spreadsheet, if you have trouble setting it up just ask we have a member who will do it for you

Tap on this link I have explained how the spreadsheet works. Look at post #5 , all the post numbers are to the right of each post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-salem-newly-diagnosed.271043/#post-3018593

In order for members to give advice on the dose we need to see the spreadsheet
I assume you are home testing?

Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
 
Last edited:
If you live in the US
Here are some low carb dry foods ,they are about 5 or 6% carbs
None of them are cheap
You need to order them online they are not cheap
Dr Elseys you can buy on chewey site
https://www.chewy.com/dr-elseys-cleanprotein-chicken/dp/146269?utm_source=google-product&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=12791446238&utm_content=Dr. Elsey's&utm_term=&show-search=1&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI0PvU2Zj79wIVRIdbCh3JawEkEAQYASABEgIInfD_BwE

Young again on their web site
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com
Take a look at the young again zero or the zero mature

Dr Elsey's also at Walmart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey...ViI3ICh0suwO_EAQYAiABEgJrOPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Dr Elsey's Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FCJHDPR/ref=twister_B09GHFJY65?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

the Dr Elsey's comes in different size bags
None of these can be bought in stores

Also
Wysong Epigen 90

If you call they will send you samples
Phone: 877-311-2287… Dr Elsey's

PHONE:
800.311.6646. Young Again

1-800-748-0188 •Wysong Epigen 90
 
Last edited:
sci diet M/D for dry f
This has 15% carbs which is too high for diabetic cats
The pro plan beef & carrot which you said is the only wet food he will eat, I looked it up and it says it's 10.45 % carbs still a little to high
Take a look at this chart , maybe you can try some of these
Low carb is anything under 10%. We try to feed 6% and under
Most feed Fancy Feast Classic Pate or Friskies

If you are going to try and switch to a lower wet food and lower dry food you need to definitely be testing because switching to a lower carb can drop the BG by 100 points
You need to also transition slowly

Food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Last edited:
Thanks for all the food advice. I used to feed him fancy feast. Never tried friskies but will certainly try that too. Im going to look up the dry food to see whats available. I think both are available at Sams and Costco. I will work on getting him tested more regularly. Appreciate the advice on how to test and will work on getting the spread sheet up and running. We've been in the middle of a construction project which has consumed all our time but now are finished and my time will be more available.
 
Also wanted to say that the syringes I purchased from Chewey were the Advocate Pet Test syringes. They have only half unit markings and am not happy with the quality as many are so dull, I cant insert them in him. Im going to find a suitable replacement if you have any suggestions.
 
Also wanted to say that the syringes I purchased from Chewey were the Advocate Pet Test syringes. They have only half unit markings and am not happy with the quality as many are so dull, I cant insert them in him. Im going to find a suitable replacement if you have any suggestions.
I used to use these in the beginning when Tyler was on Vetsulin, I had no trouble with them,
You might need a script for them, ADW is very nice to talk this you can call them and tell them what you want and they will contact your vet to fax over a script, ask your vet for refills then you can just go ahead and order them . Give your vet a heads up
Plus always pump the plunger up and down a few times to loosen it up before drawing out the insulin
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product...MItPvhhIPG_wIV2QKzAB0HWwzcEAQYBSABEgJ50_D_BwE
adw-coupon-dia10.jpg

10% off your next order!


I see Chewey has them too but for more money, I see you need a script from Chewey also
https://www.chewy.com/ulticare-vetrx-insulin-syringes-u-40/dp/206319?utm_source=google-product&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=13246986432&utm_content=UltiCare VetRx&utm_term=&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-rLC6ITG_wIVWSOzAB0c-QoPEAQYAiABEgLhvfD_BwE
 
Last edited:
I just picked up some friskies pate. Gave him half a can and he licked the dish clean. He never does this and its less than half the cost of the pro plan. Also tested him after witholding food before feeding him and his bg was 338. Will test again in 2 hours since he ate
 
Im sloooly figuring this out however creating a spreadsheet is a challenge as I am very "office" challenged. I finally got the blood testing down. Turns out that the lances were too small. I currently have Cato on 4.25 units as this seems to have a low around 150 but the high still is averaging over 400 most days. I tried him once on 4.5 units and his BG hit a low of 65 so I went back up 4.25 units. I find his peak low is between 4.5 to 6 hours after injection and then it climbs back up. I will post more data as I have the ability to get this spreadsheet figured out.
His test 2 hours after eating was 329
 
I just had his first pm blood test before eating was 115. Thats down almost 200 points from where it has been averaging pre meal. Should I shoot the usual 4.25 units?
 
Back
Top