@Terry Neumann
You inky withhold food 2 hours before you test first thing in the morning and first thing at night AMPS and PMPS
Important you need to wait 30 minutes after feeding them give the insulin
Vetsulin n hits hard and fast so you need to have food on board
We don't increase the insulin by whole units, we increase by 0.25 units at a time
Do your U-40 syringes have the half unit markings?
When your cat eats through the day you don't have to withhold food
We do not adjust the dose going by the pre shots we adjust the dose by how low your cat is dropping (nadir) lowest point during each 12 hour cycle
Here is a link
helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.
This link will tell you what information we need you to put in your signature
It will also explain how to set up your spreadsheet, if you have trouble setting it up just ask we have a member who will do it for you
Tap on this link I have explained how the spreadsheet works. Look at post #5 , all the post numbers are to the right of each post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-salem-newly-diagnosed.271043/#post-3018593
In order for members to give advice on the dose we need to see the spreadsheet
I assume you are home testing?
Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
- Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
- Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
- Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose