Ok, so then If I am understanding correctly, basically I need to just stick with the 1u dose for several days and see how he does? Only change his dose if he goes below 200 where I would want to skip a dose? Is that why his +5 we just did so high? He is still bouncing? He does get 1/2 a can of food at about +4 since he doesn't eat all he needs in just 2 meals.
Exactly! That higher number now may be partially food influenced but is likely also a bit of bouncing. We don't know how low he went last night even though he wasn't that high this morning. I think the bounce mechanism can become more over reactive so stick with 1u for now barring any low pre-shot. If you get a pre-shot lower than 200, you can do a few different things.
1. you can stall for a half hour without feeding and get another reading to see if he is heading up and high enough for a shot
2 skip the shot
3. give a token dose AKA a big chicken shot (BCS). The amount would depend on how close he is to the 200.
As for your question about what to do on the 10th of June......by then you should have a better idea of how Zeke is reacting and what his ideal dose is. Vetsulin is flexible enough that you could shoot early that morning as long as the pre-shot is not too low or you could start backing up his shots gradually by 30 minutes to an hour a day to get to a 6am shot time for that day, give his night shot when you get home and then back him up the next couple of days to get back to your normal shot times. For example:
7th June - shoot 7:30am/pm
8th June - shoot 7am/pm
9th June - shoot 6:30am/pm
10th June - shoot 6am and 10pm
11th June - shoot 9am and 9pm
12th June - go back to your regular schedule
I am suggesting 30 minute differences before your day away to try to keep things as close to normal as possible and then a faster return to your normal times when you will be home to monitor.
The other option would be to skip the morning shot on the 10th and shoot when you get home and then adjust back to your normal times.
We all have times when our activities don't jive with kitty's schedule and we are firm believers here that caregivers need to make sure they look after themselves as well if not better than they look after the furkids. Zeke will be fine no matter what you decide to do.
