Yellow All Day - What Dose Should I Give?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Very Active Member
First Cycle of all yellows, no blues. How much vestulin should I give for his PM shot? 1U or go back to the .75?

As much as I hate all the ear pokes, now I am really wishing I had more data!

This cycle Ozzy only dropped down from his AMPS by 71 points to 241 at +5 and then he started going back up. I'm not sure if the 241 +5 was his nadir. It could have been sometime between the +3.5 and +5 readings, but I doubt with how subtle his BG changes were this cycle (compared to other cycles) that he got below 200 this cycle. I feel pretty confident I did not give a fur shot this am.

Going to get one more BG at +10.5 then feed and shoot (because we have to run out to do some errands)...what dose do you think we should give?

Thanks!
 
BTW- I am not super concerned about a hypo event- just trying to figure out what dose would be best. His AM cycle was wierd today.
 
OK- here is Ozzy's YELLOW curve from his AM Cycle today:
AMPS: 312
+1: 276
+3.5: 212
+5: 241
+7.5: 291
+9: 294
+10 (PMPS): 283 (ohh...unexpected small drop)

Feeding now..and he's hungry...been sharking the kitchen for the last 20 mins. Shoot in 30 mins. Do I give 1U or .75U?

Thanks!
 
OK, I'll go with the 1 U. Thanks Kris!

What do you think about his all yellow cycle with barely a drop in BG today? Kind of a stable day sugar wise, but no healing blues or greens. He has only had a few greens so far (probably from too much insulin actually), but he has had several blues. But...I notice that his levels were really stable across the board even though they were all in the yellows and he only went down 71 points from his AMPS. What should I make of this?
 
First Cycle of all yellows, no blues. How much vestulin should I give for his PM shot? 1U or go back to the .75?
Might be the dose increase, or he might have dipped low in the previous PM cycle and be bouncing a little. The only other suggestion I have is whether you might have had a bit of a fur shot this morning?

Great spreadsheet journalling, BTW. :)


Mogs
.
 
The only other suggestion I have is whether you might have had a bit of a fur shot this morning?
I really don't think I gave a fur shot. I know we are not perfect, but I really feel confident today that he didn't get a fur shot. I check for wet fur after and sniff him for the Band-Aid like smell (omg...we are freaks!) and didn't see evidence of either. Plus, I really feel like I have got the handle of the insulin shots and the ear pokes down pretty well.
 
I really don't think I gave a fur shot. I know we are not perfect, but I really feel confident today that he didn't get a fur shot. I check for wet fur after and sniff him for the Band-Aid like smell (omg...we are freaks!) and didn't see evidence of either. Plus, I really feel like I have got the handle of the insulin shots and the ear pokes down pretty well.
Cool. I was throwing out possibles. There's a fair bit of detective work involved in this 'ere Sugar Dance at times so it can help to brainstorm a little. :)

.
 
Cool. I was throwing out possibles. There's a fair bit of detective work involved in this 'ere Sugar Dance at times so it can help to brainstorm a little. :)
You know I appreciate it....you ladies have been so wonderful! I want to take back my earlier comment...I really don't think I gave a fur shot, but honestly, you never really know! Maybe I did.
 
Are you using Vetsulin or Lantus? I know Lantus smells like a Band-Aid factory but I don't know what Vetsulin smells like
The 'evil' vestulin. With his past history, he usually drops pretty fast so today was a weird turn of events. Didn't know that vestulin doesn't smell like bandaids....but I do know it hurts like hell when it squirts in your eye!!!:blackeye:
 
Like...a possible hypo event could be forthcoming with a 1U dose?

I'm not sure about Vetsulin, but I know with Lantus, one of the things that they burned into my brain was watch those flat yellow cycles....a lot of times the next cycle they drop a lot lower (and yes, possibly too low)

I'd make sure he has a good sized meal, shoot the 1U and get back home as soon as you can without mowing over a little old lady trying to buy one more roll of wrapping paper

Maybe leave him an extra snack....just in case
 
I don't think that's the preferred method of administration.....LOL
Hahah! I don't think so either...but that stuff squirts out of the bottle every time. I'm not sure if we are drawing it up correctly. This event happened the first time I tried to get Hubby to give Ozzy a shot...he drew the insulin into the syringe, withdrew it and the bottle stream squirted directly into my eye!!! Like seriously...what are the odds!!!o_O And that shiz hurt like hell...burned for hours. Then hubby was worried I was going to get hypo myself- we did all this research and saw that it could absorb through your eyes. I had psychosomatic symptoms and felt like my heart was hurting...he brought me sugar water!!!!! Like twice!!! HAHAHAHAH! It's so funny in retrospect. Damn...these cats drive us wild!! Hope this story makes you laugh!! Time for Ozzy's 1U.
 
Gave the 1U. Decided to do the last minute shopping tomorrow and will monitor Ozzy tonight. See....we are those last minute shoppers you hear about! Mall will probably be better in am than tonight anyways. Only 2 presents left to get..
 
Then hubby was worried I was going to get hypo myself- we did all this research and saw that it could absorb through your eyes. I had psychosomatic symptoms and felt like my heart was hurting...he brought me sugar water!!!!! Like twice!!!
This thread just keeps on giving!



.
 
Can you test at +3 tonight, Jo?

It helps a lot to get PM +3 tests to get an idea of safety and possible drop in BG. A lot of cats run lower at night. Without having an idea of what happened in the PM cycles it's trickier to interpret data.


Mogs
.
 
Can you test at +3 tonight, Jo?

It helps a lot to get PM +3 tests to get an idea of safety and possible drop in BG. A lot of cats run lower at night. Without having an idea of what happened in the PM cycles it's trickier to interpret data.


Mogs
Yes, Mogs. I was planning on it. That will be in approx. 1 hour. Will test and post back. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top