Yikes B/G 45

Status
Not open for further replies.

bbwyo

Member
at +2 after 6:00 am .5 cu vetsulin dose. Kitty is acting normal. After shot went outside came in and took morning nap. I woke her up to give the rest of morning food and tested. G/B 45. Did 2 tests back to back and both showed 45?? She seems normal. Fed a little more food and now she's grooming??
 
at +2 after 6:00 am .5 cu vetsulin dose. Kitty is acting normal. After shot went outside came in and took morning nap. I woke her up to give the rest of morning food and tested. G/B 45. Did 2 tests back to back and both showed 45?? She seems normal. Fed a little more food and now she's grooming??
need to mention she was at 315 at 0600 amps
 
Feed your cat some high carb food (a tsp or 2) with a little bit of honey or syrup in it and retest about 20 minutes after and post here. The BG is too low and you need to get it up ASAP. It is early in the cycle so you are going to have to monitor for awhile. Do you have lots of strips and lancets available. Have to go deal with my kitty. Will check back in about 10 minutes or so.
 
Sorry for the delay you've had getting a response. I'm back from dealing with my crew. Few people around this weekend due to the holiday. When did you last test Kitty (how many hours post shot) and what was that reading?
 
Sorry for the delay you've had getting a response. I'm back from dealing with my crew. Few people around this weekend due to the holiday. When did you last test Kitty (how many hours post shot) and what was that reading?
sorry it is the holiday. Have been monitoring but just now checked here. Have been in contact with Vet. Just tested +4 she's come back up to 99. Fed as soon as I got the 45. Vet has said to keep monitoring and lay off insulin for a couple of days. Thanks. Will have to give this some time I guess?? Not sure what's up with this?
 
Hi Bev, I just checked your SS and saw that BG is now up to 99 which is great. Now the trick is to keep Kitty surfing along in that range. Chances are however that you are going to see a bounce from that extreme drop from 315 to 45 so don't be surprised if the PMPS is way up again. Kitty has definitely earned a dose reduction at a minimum and I can see why the vet suggested holding off on insulin for a few days. While you withhold, continue to test AMPS/PMPS and perhaps another test mid cycle to see how she is holding her numbers. If her numbers don't stay in a normal range, (50 to 120) then more insulin may be needed but I wouldn't give more than 0.25u and make sure to only do so when able to monitor.
You did a great job looking after Kitty! Give yourself a pat on the back and a treat! You earned it! :bighug:
 
Hi Bev, I just checked your SS and saw that BG is now up to 99 which is great. Now the trick is to keep Kitty surfing along in that range. Chances are however that you are going to see a bounce from that extreme drop from 315 to 45 so don't be surprised if the PMPS is way up again. Kitty has definitely earned a dose reduction at a minimum and I can see why the vet suggested holding off on insulin for a few days. While you withhold, continue to test AMPS/PMPS and perhaps another test mid cycle to see how she is holding her numbers. If her numbers don't stay in a normal range, (50 to 120) then more insulin may be needed but I wouldn't give more than 0.25u and make sure to only do so when able to monitor.
You did a great job looking after Kitty! Give yourself a pat on the back and a treat! You earned it! :bighug:
A nice LC treat:-) Because of the big bounce the other night I tried not to over load her when I got the 45. So hopefully she won't be too bouncy. I wasn't as freaked out today as I was night before last. I did post some questions on the Vetsulin forum just trying to understand how the food works. Still trying to figure all this out. Thank you for taking time from your weekend to watch and respond.
 
while you are here I do have a question. It seems like exercise makes her bg drop. Right now she is sleeping but usually goes out with me when I go out. Given her #'s are low already should I let her sleep it off until later this afternoon?
 
I have been up to my ears in computer problems, family issues with my SIL and helping a friend whose husband is in rough shape and just haven't had the time or energy for the board lately and I've missed it immensely. Hopefully things will stay calmer now. I'm now trying to catch up and get back in the swing of things. I see Teasel is still up to his usual tricks and keeping you on your toes. Sorry for the mini hijack Bev!
 
while you are here I do have a question. It seems like exercise makes her bg drop. Right now she is sleeping but usually goes out with me when I go out. Given her #'s are low already should I let her sleep it off until later this afternoon?
Good job! Yes exercise helps lower numbers but she seems ok to go out. Not sure how I missed this thread.

This hypo also means she's earned a reduction. She's very reactive to insulin! Next time she's in the low 300's give a little less insulin. Did she eat normally after the pretest?
 
I have been up to my ears in computer problems, family issues with my SIL and helping a friend whose husband is in rough shape and just haven't had the time or energy for the board lately and I've missed it immensely. Hopefully things will stay calmer now. I'm now trying to catch up and get back in the swing of things. I see Teasel is still up to his usual tricks and keeping you on your toes. Sorry for the mini hijack Bev!
Hi stranger
 
Good job with Kitty, Bev :). Do you have a way to measure out 0.25U? Personally, I wouldn't stop insulin for a few days. She doesn't need much but I think she needs a tiny bit of help.
 
I just retested at +7 and you can see she's back at 311 already and all she has done is literally sleep for the last 3 hrs. She's up and I've fed her mid day L/C-N/C food. I have been feeding 1/6 of cup of W/D with her meals but had started letting up on this a little. (very little and she usually had the whole 1/3 cup thru the day with a few kibbles left here and there). Would this have been enough to cause her to bounce so violently? She was hungry but hasn't been overly ravenous. We will be going out for a while so it will get her mind off that!
 
Good job with Kitty, Bev :). Do you have a way to measure out 0.25U? Personally, I wouldn't stop insulin for a few days. She doesn't need much but I think she needs a tiny bit of help.
She drops so low but doesn't seem to stay there very long. Does the insulin make a difference? I know it does because she's looking and acting so much better than before but with the crazy swings isn't that harder on her body? I can give her a tap if her pretest is in 300s but how much help will it really be with such a short duration?
 
I'd gradually take the WD dry out of the mix altogether. Given how low she went today you may find that on a LC/NC wet diet that Kitty doesn't need insulin. She definitely metabolizes the insulin quickly. When/if you give insulin, you could try feeding her again about an hour to hour& half post shot to slow down the drop. It's not surprising that she is back up to 311 now. Some of that rise could be the WD but some is likely also bouncing from that low 45 earlier. The bouncing may take a couple of days to clear completely.
 
I'd gradually take the WD dry out of the mix altogether. Given how low she went today you may find that on a LC/NC wet diet that Kitty doesn't need insulin. She definitely metabolizes the insulin quickly. When/if you give insulin, you could try feeding her again about an hour to hour& half post shot to slow down the drop. It's not surprising that she is back up to 311 now. Some of that rise could be the WD but some is likely also bouncing from that low 45 earlier. The bouncing may take a couple of days to clear completely.
was guessing that might be the case. I don't think I put any W/d in the breakfast 2/3 but may have added some to the post test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top