? Zappa AMPS 138 & 170/+15 & 144/+30

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Zappa’s mom, Jan 19, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zappa’s mom

    Zappa’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2022
    Asking for help. I tested him at 138 and 15 minutes later 170. He did have a very small amount of cat food but I’m withholding his breakfast. He is currently on 2.5 Lantus. I also will be gone for 3 hours to a meeting. Should I give him a regular dose or reduced? Thank you.

    @Diane Tyler's Mom
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)
    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2023
  4. Zappa’s mom

    Zappa’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2022
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Zappa’s mom
    Can you update your title like you have here
    :cat:

    AMPS 138
    +15 minutes 170
    +30 minutes 144
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2023
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry, I'm only just seeing this. Looks like he has been pretty flat and it's almost an hour since his shot was due? When stalling you want to stall without feeding to see if his numbers are rising without food.

    When in the cycle do you have to be gone for 3 hours? Can you get a test 2 hours after the shot?
     
  8. Zappa’s mom

    Zappa’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2022
    @Bandit's Mom

    Thanks!

    it’s 90 now minutes after his time to get his shot. I’m guessing the window to shoot has passed. I tested him 3x this morning, and his third test was lower than the second. I have to leave in an hour and I will be gone 3 hours.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    If you could have tested at +2 (looks like you could have), you could have shot. If he was much lower at +2, you could feed higher carbs to keep him safe for the 3 hours you were gone.

    BTW, you might want to start posting on the Lantus forum.
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Zappa’s mom
    On your spreadsheet you need to enter it like this in your AMPS Block
    138/+15 min 170/+30 min 144 then color code it in manually blue
    If you didn't shoot put cell
    It's important so we know what happened and do the same with your title
     
    Zappa’s mom likes this.
  11. Zappa’s mom

    Zappa’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2022
    @Bandit's Mom Thank you! I just got home and tested him - 236. If I were to have given a shot and was going to be home, would I have given his regular dose or a modified dose? I will post on the Lantus side next time.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  12. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If that was a preshot BG I would have given the full dose. I agree you are ready to go over to the lantus forum. You will be able to get more help over there as everyone uses lantus (or bio similar) or Levemir.
     
  13. Zappa’s mom

    Zappa’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2022
    @Bron and Sheba (GA)

    No sorry for the confusion. 236/+5
    (236 was his number after five hours).

    His last AMPS was 144. According to the directions, either NS or maybe reduced. But reduced by how much? I feel like it’s better to give something than nothing.

    As per Go Slow Method:
    • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
    • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1
      mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
    • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
    • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
    • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/di (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
     
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Suzanne
    If you are going to start posting on the lantus board we post a certain way and do a new post each day
    You would do it like this
    Date Zappa AMPS# and then any additional tests after that, you can then put his PMPS # and any additional tests after
    We also link the previous days post to your new ones , in case we want to back to it and take a look
     
    Zappa’s mom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page