Zena-Jaxtobias
Member Since 2020
Hi All,
My original newbie post with background is here on main health forum:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hello-from-newbies-holly-and-zena.236779/#post-2657801
Still trying to find the right/best Lantus dosage (and learning what it all means, and when) for my Zena. On 10/12 with a 1.5 adjustment, she was 110 at +4, then 111 at +10, which I think is good, but I skipped the PM shot out of fear of going too low (shouldn't there have been more of a 'wave' in numbers instead of steady?). On 10/13 she was in the 200's all day and I adjusted down to 1.25, then in 100's on 10/14, finally at AMPS 92 this morning so I skipped the AM shot. I have not been BG testing more often because she is becoming increasingly agitated/mad (ear sensitive) when poked and not getting adequate blood (I will be switching to 28g lancet based on recommendations here, from 30g).
My second concern is that I will be out of town starting next Monday-Saturday; hubby will give shots (but working 10-12 hrs/day, so only AM/PM shots) but will not be doing any BG testing... I'm trying not to panic as to what dosage to use that week.... should we go with a steady 1.0 or reduce more (.5, .75?) to avoid any risk of hypo? She will be alone all day so cannot be monitored at all. She seems to do the best with 1.25, but after the low pre-shot of 92 this morning, now I'm very confused and fearful.
Thanks for any help!
My original newbie post with background is here on main health forum:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hello-from-newbies-holly-and-zena.236779/#post-2657801
Still trying to find the right/best Lantus dosage (and learning what it all means, and when) for my Zena. On 10/12 with a 1.5 adjustment, she was 110 at +4, then 111 at +10, which I think is good, but I skipped the PM shot out of fear of going too low (shouldn't there have been more of a 'wave' in numbers instead of steady?). On 10/13 she was in the 200's all day and I adjusted down to 1.25, then in 100's on 10/14, finally at AMPS 92 this morning so I skipped the AM shot. I have not been BG testing more often because she is becoming increasingly agitated/mad (ear sensitive) when poked and not getting adequate blood (I will be switching to 28g lancet based on recommendations here, from 30g).
My second concern is that I will be out of town starting next Monday-Saturday; hubby will give shots (but working 10-12 hrs/day, so only AM/PM shots) but will not be doing any BG testing... I'm trying not to panic as to what dosage to use that week.... should we go with a steady 1.0 or reduce more (.5, .75?) to avoid any risk of hypo? She will be alone all day so cannot be monitored at all. She seems to do the best with 1.25, but after the low pre-shot of 92 this morning, now I'm very confused and fearful.
Thanks for any help!
