No idea what to do now at AMPS time, but obviously no insulin right now as 52 is below our no shoot number of 80. I cannot figure out the right dose for this cat - happy to stall til she gets up to 80 (as far as our schedule will allow us to stall), but do I stick with the 1.5u? I know she hasn't *earned* a reduction, and I don't want to mess with the protocol, but I'm really not comfortable with how far she's dropped in one cycle.
Oh crap, I just realised I can't stall, because I fed her The bad part about doing stuff at 6am when you're half asleep is that you go into robot-mode - doh! So I guess we're skipping this shot.
Actually, would 2 x 18hr cycles work? It's 6am and she would normally have her shot now. If I can give her one at 12pm today, then skip tonight's shot and do 6am tomorrow, that would work, yes??
That was an option offered to me when I was faced with a similar problem, and will get you back on schedule, I ended up stalling for three hours, and then it was much harder than I had anticipated getting back on schedule..
Poor Ivana, so much going on for her at the moment.
I hope Ivana comes up for you. I've seen the 18 hr. shots recommended and it would probably work or you could just count this as a fur shot and shoot tonight to get back on track. Don't be too hard on yourself. Ivana will get back on track.
Actually, would 2 x 18hr cycles work? It's 6am and she would normally have her shot now. If I can give her one at 12pm today, then skip tonight's shot and do 6am tomorrow, that would work, yes??
We've planned to try the 18hr cycles a couple of times, but this is the first time we're actually going to be doing it. I'm interested to see what she will do.
Dose question: She got down to 50 at +13. I really think I'd like to take a slight reduction, not a full one as I know she hasn't officially gone *under* 50, but I'd like to go down to 1.5u skinny if for nothing else that it would hopefully at least make her shootable at PS time. I'm happy with this cycle's numbers, lots of greens, but those low greens were at the wrong time as there's no way I'm shooting that low. Thoughts on the 1.5u skinny?
To answer your question from yesterday's post, I do like Suki and add warm water and mush it in with the raw to make it soupy. Most of Neko's raw is either ground, or had some ground in it.
As for reduction - it's up to you. I broke the "rules" yesterday with Neko, and was really glad I did so. But, and here's the issue, she was spending a lot of time in green otherwise. Ivana is barely dipping into green and then bouncing back up. The way to flatten them out is to get them to spend more time in green. But you can always try an experiment. You'll never know until you try it. If she doesn't see green again soon, I'd put her back up.
Another question for you, why is your no shoot level at 80? Most experienced people here will shoot above 50. Would you be OK trying above 70? Just wondering if there's a way to gradually lower your no shoot number which I think has been at 80 for a while. This morning's data should be really helpful for the future when Ivana does green preshots.
Right so I need to mince up her meat then. At the moment it's in pieces or strips, hence why I was wondering how to add water!
We just shot 1.5u skinny. Will see how she goes, and adjust accordingly.
Re no shoot number, we've been gradually reducing it, and yes I'm happy to reduce again to 70 as we've been at 80 for a little while. Not sure I consider myself "experienced" enough to shoot at above 50 just yet!
Her bounces have been awful in the last week or so, she doesn't normally bounce all the way to red. I'm putting it down to everything that's happened with her lately, but who knows... Hopefully she settles soon.
To answer your question from yesterday re fluids in the food. I also add it to the meal.....I don't have mine minced though just cut up in various sizes. I find the meat will soak up a lot of the fluid into itself if you leave it a while
Thanks Bron. I will try it a couple of different ways and see what she will eat. Have got some roo out of the freezer for tonight, so will try that one keeping it with the strips and adding some water.
Thanks Bron. I will try it a couple of different ways and see what she will eat. Have got some roo out of the freezer for tonight, so will try that one keeping it with the strips and adding some water.
I only put in 20mls per meal....ie that is 20mls at AMPS and 20mls at +3. And same in the evening.
I add extra little bits of warm water to the food later if I like but not to the actual meal bowl.
Hope you can get Ivana sorted soon with the bounces and the poops.....always a worry when things are not right.
It sure is a worry. I'm hoping she just needs a bit of time to re-settle her body after the last eventful 2 weeks. Hopefully she will be back on track sooner rather than later. In the meantime I'm just happy she's eating normally again.
It sure is a worry. I'm hoping she just needs a bit of time to re-settle her body after the last eventful 2 weeks. Hopefully she will be back on track sooner rather than later. In the meantime I'm just happy she's eating normally again.
Ketones question: The vet has asked us to test for ketones daily for a few days. We do the blood ketone test, and Ivana was 0.2 yesterday. How long do ketones take to form? Ie. if she was 0.2 yesterday, is there any point testing again today or will it just be the same? Asking because Ivana has already had lots of pokes today so if there's no point testing two days in a row then I won't.
I did this for her afternoon meal today. Got her roo strips, and added 20mL water. I added warm water as I thought it might absorb into the roo better. I let it sit for 1.5hrs, then checked how much water had been absorbed into the roo. None! It was just the roo sitting in 20mL of water. BUT the blood from the roo had seeped out into the water. I just served it to Little Miss, and she drank all the extra water, so that is a WIN! I know she doesn't like soupy things so I really didn't think she'd drink the extra water, but I guess she likes it bloody She hasn't eaten any of the actual roo meat yet, but I'm sure she will revisit her bowl later.
My understanding is that ketones can go from trace to moderate (need vet attention) quite quickly. But she's not even throwing trace ketones yet. If she's in high numbers or seems off her food or lethargic, I would definitely test more often.
I don't think I could do 5am. I roll out at 7am and I'm barely awake. But then I don't go to bed until 1 or 2 am. I go back to bed after AMPS for 1.5 hrs. Except the 2 days I have to work. Which I still am. Will see how long it lasts.