Zelda & Walter
Member Since 2019
Yesterday http://01-25-walter-amps-622-pmps-440
Last edited:

Just gave him some LC—he’s at 67AMPS +5.5= 71
Do I feed or test in 15 minutes and hold?
About 15 minutes ago— Just tested again and he’s at 61. Gave him a mini blend of LC/HCGood call feeding some LC at +2! In the future, he might need more - either in quantity or carb content. Only experimenting and good documentation of how food affects his BG will let you know what works for Walter.
What time was the 67?
Ok—he’s meowing like crazy-LOVES the HC. I’m reluctant to reduce — prior numbers have been pretty high. I’m thinking this might be a fluke?Ok, I would test again in 30 minutes from the time of the 61 test. He's earned a reduction too.
Those high numbers are probably him bouncing from the lower numbers he may have experienced in previous cycles. I'm not familiar with Walter but I'm sure someone or you know to test more in between the cycles, especially since you're doing TR. Or something happened and you weren't able to.I’m reluctant to reduce — prior numbers have been pretty high.
I work during the week and it’s very difficult to test more than twice a day; in the evening, it’s a bit easier. I just bought some more alpha strips but once I’m finished with this batch, I can use a human meter. Which one do you recommend?Those high numbers are probably him bouncing from the lower numbers he may have experienced in previous cycles. I'm not familiar with Walter but I'm sure someone or you know to test more in between the cycles, especially since you're doing TR. Or something happened and you weren't able to.
He might give you an ugly bounce later but being safe is better. You can always increase back to 2.5 units. And I'm even more against holding the dose because of a couple of reasons:
1) You're doing TR but not testing enough. You need to test at least one other time other than PS. So at least 4 times a day. And try your best to find nadir.
2) TR is already an aggressive dosing protocol with a low reduction point.
Out of curiosity, have you considered switching to a human meter? Those big high numbers won't seem so high with a human meter. Besides, the protocols we follow were done using human meters.
Many US members use the ReliOn which can be purchased at WalMart. ADW Diabetes is also a good place to shop for meters and strips.
I'm Canadian but I've been using the OneDrop. I like it because it's got a subscription service for unlimited strips!
As for your work schedule, if you're not able to test enough, following TR might be tricky. Have you read this post yet? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
Let us know your work schedule and maybe we can help figure out how you can test more to follow TR better.
I don’t think so—planning to check tomorrow. I think he’d be more comfortable at home and less stressed. Plus, the vet isn’t open on Sundays— I’m assuming they bring somebody in to check but need to confirm.Sorry I got sidetracked with my own cat. I see that Walter came up so that’s great!
Ah, being away is always hard. I’ve personally always had someone at home to care for Ming so I’m not worried about being away. Will there be someone at the vet overnight to care go Walter?
Thank you! Agree on all fronts. Will decrease tonight (he’s at 479).Hi Zelda
Walter earned a reduction in dose as Crista mentioned. I would take it as Walter obviously drops lower during the cycles then bounces back up.
With you going away, you will need to reduce the dose further, close to the date you leave... we call it a vacation dose. most cats don’t eat as well as with their caregiver and mostly the person looking after the cat doesn’t test, so a vacation dose is a safer way of doing things.
So reduce now and get as many tests in as you can during this week to see how he goes with the new dose.
I would go with a vet tech coming to the house if I were you.
when you get close to going away post and ask for help with the vacation dose.
He's bouncing from the greens in the middle of the cycle.Thank you! Agree on all fronts. Will decrease tonight (he’s at 479).
That’s a good idea. I’m going to check with some people at work for some names.Hi Zelda, I agree with Bron about having a vet tech come to your home to test and shoot Walter while you’re away rather than board him at a clinic. I think it would be less stressful for him to be in his own surroundings. I wonder if you could also find a pet sitting company that would have someone visit and stay with him for an hour or so each day to make sure he has food and water and keep him company.
My son hired a pet sitting company (two very sweet cat ladies) to check in on his kitties (feed, water, litter change and playtime) when he came to stay with us at Christmas and it worked out really well. They texted him twice a day with updates and even sent pictures! Good luck!!!That’s a good idea. I’m going to check with some people at work for some names.